We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights whilst visiting friends in Tunis, i cannot recommend it enough the room was excellent and spacious with comfy beds, & information about meal serving times & brochures of the spa treatment area, although we never went to the spa the prices were very good compared to ones in London, we had breakfast & dinner & the food was excellent with lots of variety,the pool area was lovely with a big selection of beds,pods & swings every staff member was polite & helpful we were treated with excellent customer service the moment we entered the gate to the moment we left, we cant wait to go back in 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relation M, Responsable relations publiques at The Russelior Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Google Translation
Bonjour;
nous vous remercions infiniment de vos commentaires et nous esperons vous revoir très bientot a the russelior hammamet.
cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    90
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
112
157
14
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Beautiful and clean resort. Good service but with minor technical problem. Our room's door wouldn't open with the key because the battery on the piece attached to our door was dead. So for a day or so, I had to ask someone from the front desk to walk us to our room every time we left to open it for us. It was eventually fixed and the staff was very kind and patient.

Great pool and nearby beach. They had great breakfasts and pool-side service. No what they call animation there and by that they mean entertainment for children but for us three gals traveling, it was great that they didn't have any animation. The location is far from old Hammamet but it was a cheap taxi ride there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goddesstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I had high hopes for this hotel, for my holiday on 26th May to 3rd June.

I will set out some general points before listing the good and bad points in turn.

GENERAL POINTS:

1. This is a quiet hotel with no entertainment provided so is ideal for a quiet, relaxing break.

2. No alcohol is served (it is a Muslim country after all) and the sausages/ ham you see at breakfast will be turkey or beef. It doesn't matter to me but I have noted some criticisms of both of these points in earlier reviews and thought it unfair.

3. There are only 2 restaurants - the main Cristal restaurant and the Japanese-themed Bonsai restaurant.

4. On arrival, the hotel was (at maximum) 30% capacity and a complete ghost town. Despite this, and the fact that I am 22 weeks pregnant, we were not offered an upgrade. By no means did I expect this as a given but it would have been a nice touch, given the quietness of the hotel.

5. The hotel is located in Yasmine Hammamet, which is a bespoke tourist-orientated area.

GOOD POINTS:

1. Hotel interior- The hotel is very plush and well presented, with aesthetically pleasing décor throughout. The rooms are very nice.

2. Good small touches - such as comfy robes and slippers provided in the rooms.

3. Restaurant food - superb quality, beautifully presented in haute cuisine style.

4. The pool area and grounds - very pretty and well maintained. Great sun loungers and "pods" in the gardens for a touch of shade.

5. Room service - is 24 hours, with a good menu and good quality

6. Spa - extremely luxurious and well appointed

7. Bonsai Restaurant - great food and friendly service.


BAD POINTS:

1. Check in- This was extremely brief and perfunctory. We were provided with no information about: meal times; meal allowances (we were on half board); the beach; things to do in the area etc. We had to make a separate trip to reception to ask what times meals were serves, what was included in our deal, how to get to the beach, where breakfast was served. I would expect this sort of information at check-in as standard.

2. Reception staff: oddly, spoke insufficient English to converse with us. We had to default to French, which I didn't mind at all, save that I could not translate certain phrases into French. It struck me as strange that the restaurant and pool staff spoke better English than the front desk.

3. Restaurant menu variety: the same menu operated for the duration of our 8-day stay and it did become very boring despite the high quality. A daily special would have been a nice touch and if, like me, you don't eat meat, the options were even more limited. Fortunately, I eat seafood so was fine with the options but vegetarians beware - not a single main meal option on the restaurant menu was meat-free.

4. The beach - where do I begin? The Russelior has a private stretch of beach which I had imagined to be idyllic. When we made our first trip on Sunday 27th May, I was shocked at the digusting state of the beach. There were bottle tops, cigarette butts, bits of plastic, food wrappers and even rusty metal littered all over the sand. That could have been just about tolerable but the view of the sea was largely blocked by piles of seaweed nearly 8ft high. It was filty and looked as though it had not been attended to for months. To the hotel's credit, the place was cleared up towards the end of our stay so that when we visited on the last day it was a lot cleaner but still nothing like the earlier reviews had suggested.

5. The mythical golf cart that was supposed to take us to the beach (I am 22 weeks pregnant): we were told that there was no golf cart and simply given directions to walk to the beach, across a main road.

6. The spa treatments: These are not cheap so my husband and I expected a decent experience, particularly as the spa is award-winning. My pregnancy massage was pretty good so I was fairly pleased. My husband booked a "4-hand" massage with 2 therapists and had to walk out half way through his treatment in a fit of rage. His two female therapists kept whispering throughout the treatment and giggling, and the mobile phone of one of them went off and he could hear her tapping on her phone buttons. After several glares (whilst he was supposed to be relaxing) and many apologies, the therapists were still bursting into fits of giggles and so my husband walked out and made it clear at the front desk that he was refusign to pay for his massage (although they tried to make me pay for both of our treatments when I finished my massage and had no knowledge of what had happened with my husband).

7. Bottled water - in every 5* hotel I have stayed in abroad, the room has had a daily supply and replenishment of bottled water. There were 2 small bottles of water in our room each day which we discovered, on checking out, were charged to us.

8. Facilities advertised not open - the hotel claims to have numerous poolside bars and Barbecue etc. "during summer". I had assumed that the last week of May/beginning of June would qualify as summer but none of these were open at any time during our stay (and I could find no information in the hotel about when "summer" started). Therefore, the only open establishments were the main Cristal restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and the Bonsai restaurant (dinner only, 6 nights per week). The Cristal menu for lunch and dinner were very similar so we found that we were eating the same food for nearly every meal.

9. Breakfast - adequate but disappointingly lacking in choice for an upmarket hotel.

10. Friendliness - this was very hit and miss. The male waiter in the Bonsai restaurant was as friendly as they come but a couple of the waiters in Cristal were surly. Reception staff were not overtly friendly or helpful either. This really did dilute the quality of the experience for me.

All in all, a good hotel, I suggest going in the "height of summer" (whatever that may be) so that you can enjoy all the open facilities and just hope that the service I experienced was a one-off bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sassy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Me and my husband went for 5nights, from the start to the end, the service was amazing, the staff were so nice. They looked after us so well, always asking if we were okay, to helping us if we needed any help with taxis, money and entertainment. Honestly was one of our best holidays, would like to go back and stay in this hotel again. Check in and out was so quick, rooms were always cleaned, pool was clean, staff were friendly, food was good, area was nice, 5min walks to eating places. One of our best experience abroad.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2012N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bogota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel on the last weekend of May 2012. It was very good. The rooms are very nice, the outside pools are beautiful, clean, big. The food is really good also, BUT: Be advise, NO ALCOHOL in this hotel, so no cocktails or beer on the pool nor in the restaurants, Despite they show in the website a golf car that will drive you to the beach, it was never offered to us. They only said to us "bonne chance". So we walked there anyway just to find out that it right next to the marina so you can even smell the burned oil/diesel from the boats and it was full of mountains of dead algae, there was nobody from the hotel on the beach area so we were on our own. There were some people trying to remove the dead algae with a caterpillar so the noise was terrible. We didnt last very long on that beach, we walked up north about 800meters or more to find clear water (the amount of algae was horrible) The next day we decided to spend it on the pool area because the beach was not worthy. The spa area is ok, the Hamman and particularly the Sauna are VERY small if you take in to consideration how big the hotel is, it should be bigger IMHO. generally its a very good hotel, I just guess we weren't lucky with the algae problem.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms face the pool area and have a small terrace, just make sure to check/ask them i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pabstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relation M, Responsable relations clients at The Russelior Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear pabstraveller ;

We would like to thank you for your constructive comments and your Recommendation.

Dear Sir,on the weekend you are referring to our private Beach was not prepared yet to welcome clients the same issue about our golf car service. these services should be provided on the middle of june.
Please be sure that your concern has been passed on to the department managers to raise awareness of the issue.
We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Tunisia.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
8.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
8.1 km away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 117 in Hammamet
628 reviews
9.7 km away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
#25 of 117 in Hammamet
352 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
2.4 km away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russelior Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russelior Hotel & Spa

Property: The Russelior Hotel & Spa
Address: BP 76 - Sud, Hammamet 8040, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#20 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#21 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,952 - ₹ 32,185
Hotel Class:5 star — The Russelior Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Russelior Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russelior Hotel Hammamet
Russelior Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing