We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but beware of love rats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel but beware of love rats”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times and it is excellent in all areas.
Staff are very attentive, friendly and helpful.
Rooms great, food good, pools and gardens lovely.
Beware if Tunisian love rats- particularly chef Hasan who likes to pick up woman especially young girls of 14/15. Very inappropriate behaviour for a hotel if this standard.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heldan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    411
    159
    45
    33
See reviews for
381
719
41
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We've just returned from a week's stay. The hotel was very clean the staff attentive and keen to please. We spent about 5 dinar a day in tipswhy ich we gave to acknowledge good service. I know some might say its all inclusive but it is normal in Tunisia to tip and we didn't feel pressurised to do so.
The pool outside was quite cool, due to the time of year, but my 7 and 8 year old enjoyed having it to themselves in their shorty wetsuits.
The food was excellent it was possible to choose a different meal at every night, with something for everyone.
The rooms were clean and well kept with comfy chairs on the balcony. We thoroughly enjoyed our sea view rooms on the second floor. You only get a view if you're on at least the second floor.
Our private transfers were well worth the money as we arrived and left over an hour later than the coach and had breakfast on departure day.
We did capital sights, which was better than we expected and the mosaics in the Bardo Museum were great. The simply Sahara tour involved alot of travelling but was very worthwhile the camel ride dressed up in Bedouin robes at sunset was magical. We also enjoyed Nabeul market and the children loved the zoo.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mopsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

just returned from a week at the Riu Palace, our first time in Tunisia so didn't know what to expect.
The arrival at the airport was horrendous i think about 7 flights came in to together so we had to wait in a queue for 2 hours at passport control. arrival at the hotel was very good our room wasn't ready so we had to wait. The hotel is beautiful i must say its the best one we have stayed in, the room was quite big and immaculate with a big walk in shower. The food was nice plenty of choice and i am really fussy so normally struggle. The staff are amazing and will wait on you hand and foot. give them 5 dinar and they will make you feel special. They truly are a credit to the hotel. The entertainment was poor which was the only let down. Our rep told us what trips were available to pre-book we decided to book show called musical mayhem this was a show organised by the thomson reps which included an ex west end singer, a drag act the dream girls and a dance show by the reps team. we paid about £30 each which included local wine/lager. On the night of the show we were then told we would be on the bus for over an hour to get the casino where the show was on this was in souse, well we were told it was in a casino so we thought we might have a little flutter only to find out when we got there that it used to be a casino so that was about and hour and a half to get there and an hour and a half back so our night included 3 hours on a bus, if we had been told this information i would not have bought the tickets. I wouldn't mind if the show had been worth it but to be honest was only fit to be on at a hotel. The west end singer was a fantastic singer who made the show but the drag act you would find in many a pub in benidorm for free and the rep show reminded me of butlins. So be careful when you book trips.The weather was poor we got 2 good days out of 7. The hotel has its own spa within the hotel which offers lots of different treatments and also has a gym,indoor pool, and sauna. There was not much to do outside the hotel it was derelict really. we did manage to find a great pub/restaurant round the corner called
shakespeare it has 5 plasma tv's showing all football matches at once. it also has a drag show/quiz/bingo night on a thursday & friday nights for 10 dinar each about £4.80 this also includes food, and the drinks are 2 for 1 most of the time. we went and had a great night. it sells english spirits and lager. we decided to visit yasmin hammamet where there is a marina full of very expensive yachts, this will be a lovely place to visit in the summer season but was empty when we were there. there were a few shops but we didn't feel comfortable being there on our own, we felt intimidated we were told by our rep that they will approach us and pretend to know us from our hotel and thats exactly what happened as soon as we got out of taxi someone said hi do you remember me i'm your chef at the marhaba palace, they know by your all inclusive wrist band. They do pester you to buy things and make it hard for you to walk away. i had one little girl about age 5 begging us for money with a tin can. I noticed her mother was sitting down allowing this child to do the begging. we did visit the nabul market which was a few mile away it was very busy but you can barter with them to get the price right down. you should only pay a 3rd of what they ask, walk away and they will come after you, you will get it for next to nothing. so if you just want to go for a relaxing holiday then this is the hotel to go to, i would recommend the RIU hotels and will stay with them again but there is just not enough to do in hammamet so will not be visiting tunisia again.

Room Tip: we had a room in the main building but they offer bungalows around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have just returned from the Marhaba. I can see by earlier reviews that they have had their problems, but we could not find fault with anything. Everything is spotlessly clean, the food was excellent with plenty of variety. Yes, there is a problem with ill mannered Tunisians taking over at the weekends. Fortunately for us the hotel was not full, I am not sure that we would receive the same level of service in August. But, do not bother to leave the hotel, Hammamet is tatty and run down with many buildings derelict. A visit to the market in Neubul was a waste of time, just tat for sale and the hotel wrist band sends out a 'radar signal' to every taxi driver in the area to stop and tout for your fare. We walked to Medina and Yasmine on the beach but again you will always get pestered. The beach is not clean, and do not walk far from the hotel without shoes, do not go barefoot, the area close to the hotel is clean but the rest is not. All in all a lovely hotel for some peace and quiet, we do not need entertaining so we can't comment on the efforts of Animation, but the surrounding area is worth avoiding.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have just returned from Riu Marhaba hotel near Hammamet and were totally disappointed with food and entertainment at this hotel. Food preparation was very low quality. Most of the food was deep fried, dripping with oil.There was hardly any choice, everything was being repeated every single day. Salads and sweets were exactly same every every day. They need to employ a new chef to improve catering.
Evening entertainment consisted animation team trying to perform totally unsuitable acts for 5 star hotel. Riu hotel should invite local artist to perform rather then unprofessional hotel staff.
We would not stay at this hotel ever again.I do not agree with previous comments made about how good this hotel is.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
5.1 km away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
666 reviews
5.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
6.7 km away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#1 of 118 in Hammamet
5,751 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
5.7 km away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba

Property: Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba
Address: Avenue Moncef Bey | Hammamet, Hammamet, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Riu Palace Hammamet Marhaba)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,548 - ₹ 16,754
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing