We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
62
39
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
39
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enjoy your stay half board star hotel nabil touristic tunisia sea sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Flamingo is located in Djerba's Zone Touristic - it seems to be where the islanders have quarantined the flux of European travellers to the area and in its current state of disrepair is much like an industrial zone. Having said that flamingo is by far the best of the bunch, a small family run hotel, super hospitable on a slightly less touristy track. The owners were incredibly welcoming and catered for all our needs. Food is good and half board is a great deal as many hotels nearby have touristy and overpriced restaurants. The waiter alone was one of the most enthusiastic and helpful we had ever come across! The rooms were spacious, comfy and very clean. If you want to visit the beach this is by far the best place to stay on the island, however to just reside in this part of town is to miss out on the real Island and all it has to offer.

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank london_venturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Do you really want to go through the whole chain hotel experience… again! You could be in Trinidad, South of France or Tunisia, they all look alike. Similar decoration, similar food… So, if you are ready for a genuine, warm welcome, a taste of the local life and great Tunisian food, then this hotel is for you.

We have stayed at the Flamingo on several occasions, mostly in the spring and summer. We also had the opportunity to spend a short winter vacation last February and I must say, even though it was too cold to swim, the weather was amazing. It is a great change from winter in northern Europe!

True, the Flamingo was not equipped with Wifi or business center in general. But the question is: can you really not live without an internet connection for a few days in such beautiful setting? Instead of looking at your laptop, enjoy the local food, sip mint tea on the beach front terrace, look at the sun set, have a romantic dinner at the 1st floor (sea view) restaurant and visit the island. Take time to enjoy life, the Djerbians do!

So go ahead, dare try something different and enjoy the warm welcome.

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niloukian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We booked into the Flamingo Beach after reading the reviews here and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were treated wonderfully. This place truly has a special charm to it and this is in no small part down the owners Nabil and Hela and their team of dedicated staff. Nabil and Hela both took time to not only assist us with any needs we may have but made a special effort to spend time conversing with us. They were genuinely interested to hear our thoughts and views on their hotel, the Island of Djerba and Tunisia at large. They are people who truly understand the meaning of hospitality -for example, breakfast if you so desired, could be served to you at 3PM! You are the GUEST!

Our breakfasts were gloriously ,leisurely ,affairs (though at a more normal time of 9AM not 3PM)) served on the roof terrace with a wonderful view over the mediterranean. After breakfast a stroll along the long sandy beach was a favourite pastime of ours. The mega resort hotels like the Radisson are 100 yards up the beach which are nice for lunch and a drink or even a cheeky dip in their pools. However we prefered the privacy and tranquility of the Flamingos small pool to while away the afternoon and the staff are happy to bring you a cold beer poolside.

We spent three very happy nights here and took dinner twice at the hotels restaurant. Although it was quiet, in fact we were the only people dining , it was a wonderfully romantic experience. Our excellent and attentive waiter Rasheed helped recommend wines and the food was superbly prepared an cooked by the chef just for us! The whole experience was like having our own chef and butler in a private villa.

The Flamingo beach provided one of the most charming hotel stays we have ever experienced. Like the ancient lotus eating Greek's of legend we didn't want to leave the place! Don't expect the mega glitz of the Radisson and other similar hotels but do enoy the wonderful relaxed atmosphere and personal feel that this hotel and staff has to offer. Oh and did we mention its amazingly inexpensive to stay here(including the best priced beer on the island). What's not to love?

We wish Nabil and Hela all the best for the future and look forward to staying with them again. In our ratings they are a five star establishment!

Date of stay: April 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank flystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

The rooms were comfortable and extremely well maintained. Lots of large windows, balconies, and open space all around the interior of the complex. Dining facilities and food are excellent. And most of all, the staff was professional and hospitable. An iron and an American electricity adapter were provided immediately upon request.

An overall excellent place to stay in Djerba and probably the best value on the island.

Date of stay: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Adnan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We just got back from Djerba and can really recommend both this lovely, small boutique-style hotel and the island. The hotel is situated right on the sea front, so you'll have beautiful views of the sea from you balcony and will be able to go for a swim at any time of the day or night. The hotel has very friendly staff, who are always willing to help and give you the best service. This hotel has a very homey feel, due to it's small size (it only has 17 rooms) and this is great when you want an alternative to the big, more impersonal hotel chains that dot the coast-line. The hotel owner speaks excellent English, French and German so no problem with communication and telling him exactly what you're after. Definitely ask the owner to pick you up from the airport, it's the easiest way to reach the hotel and a lot more interesting that a taxi cab. You'll find the food in the hotel very authentic and tasty and the fresh orange juice is delicious. There's also a supermarket around the corner if you need anything extra or if you've left behind the suncream.

As for the island, it's a great place to go when you just need to get a bit of piece and quiet and some sun and sea.

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Anya223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews