We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
195
167
56
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
167
56
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main channel great view boldt castle the river uncle sam's boat tours alex bay private balcony tour boats room was clean james street perfect location within walking distance corner room direct view great place to stay package deal enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018

We stay at Captain Thomsons every year for 3 nights during July 4 celebrations. We book a room with a view of the river and the fireworks. This year we were deligthed by the renovations to the rooms as well as to the office area. Everything was very well done. One other improvement to the rooms would be to add a mirror over the desk so I would have a place to plug in and use hair appliances. It's important to note that the location of this resort is ideal - right at the foot of James Street and adjacent to the boat tours.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank maureen2222015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alysha H, General Manager at Capt. Thomson's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Maureen,

Thank you for writing this amazing review! We are always so happy to have returning, loyal guests! I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the renovations and your stay! We can't wait for you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

My wife and I wanted a motel with a waterfront view and nice, this is the one!
We had a balcony with a view of Boldt Castle, wow! The motel is adjoining Uncle Sam Boat Tours docks, very convenient. Also it’s on James Street where all the gift shops and restaurants are located. There are docks you can stroll along also. We parked the car and didn’t need to use it for our two days stay. It’s a romantic place to take the wife. Take the two hour two nations boat tour and visit Bolt Castle while you are here.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alysha H, General Manager at Capt. Thomson's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and your whole vacation! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

We have been coming here for 14 years to celebrate our anniversary on 7/17. I had heard they did some renovations over the winter. We arrived yesterday to a newly renovated office. Shirley, the desk clerk was awesome. our room was not ready yet so she made sure it would be ready within a half hour!! When we walked into our room I was not expecting what we saw. The room is absolutely beautiful with a nautical theme!!!! To the General Manager, Alisha< you and your team did an awesome job over the winter. Congratulations on a job well done. I will post a final review at the end of stay but you can rest assured it will be another 5 star review.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alysha H, General Manager at Capt. Thomson's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Judy,

I am beaming with delight from this review! Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary at Capt. Thomson's Resort and we hope you enjoy your special day together tomorrow!

Also thank you so much for the congratulations, we are so proud of the finished product and having guests enjoy the accomplishments makes our work so worth it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Get a main channel room. Great views! So relaxing to sit on your balcony. The rooms are so clean and beautifully decorated. The staff are so nice. The package deal was excellent and so convenient. The pool area is nice, wish they still had Jacuzzi. Town was cute, locals bars cool to hang at. I would return.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Anna Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alysha H, General Manager at Capt. Thomson's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Anna Marie,

Thank you for taking time to write is wonderful review! I am so happy that you had a relaxing and joyful stay! We hope to have you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

This was our 1st time at Captain Thomsons and we were more than happy with our choice. The rooms had been recently remodeled and were very nice. We got a corner room with 2 queens, which were very comfy and the room itself was very spacious with a great view. The only issue we had was maybe they could be a little more sound proof since we could hear our upstairs neighbors footsteps very clearly, other than that it was awesome. Plenty of parking and all the employees were very cheerful. We've already booked our room for next June.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alysha H, General Manager at Capt. Thomson's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Larry,

Thank you for this great review! We appreciate all the feedback and are in the process of looking into area rugs to hopefully decrease the noise between floors. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your visit next June!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews