We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
40
22
9
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
22
9
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance bars and restaurants great location chamber of commerce no frills rooms are clean alex bay every summer coffee maker in the room resort town blow dryer would definitely stay here again river run reasonable rates bit dated place to stay boat tour
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017

A group of us go to the Bay every summer and this is always our place of rest. There is a great accommodating staff who make you feel welcome and wanted. The rooms are clean and quite comfortable. This may not be suitable for your kids as there is no pool or games room however if these are not important it is ok for families as well. This location is in the middle of everthing from boat tours to restaurants and night spots. The night spots are far enough away that the music is not going to disturb you. The guys at the front dest are great as well bending over bckwards to suit your every need. Looking for to our annual excursion again next summer.

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank mustang_drvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful midweek get away. Even though it's only 30-40 minutes away the stay was nice.
Our room was simple and dated ,but Avery clean and the price is right for that times of year.
The staff was wonderful and friendly.
I would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kyle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Stayed 2 nights (9/17 & 9/18/17) end of season – The location is awesome. I am sure during the busy season you would get the usual nightly noise of a popular destination. Obviously if you want complete peace and quiet you’d stay some place a few miles away from “Main St.” We had nothing but the best stay possible. Location was great. Staff was great. Room was clean. The bathroom was spotless. The bed was comfortable. The rates reasonable. WE PLAN TO RETURN NEXT YEAR. You are an easy and I mean “extremely” easy walk from shops and boat tours. I am a coffee snob – so I didn’t care about a coffee maker in the room – I preferred the coffee of “Coffee Pot Cathy's” only a block away. As resort town with bars (and we are not bar people), entertainment and nightlife – we found the accommodations, location, rates and cleanliness great – I give it 5 stars.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

My wife and I recently spent two nights at The Ship Motel during a two day visit to the Thousand Islands. As far as the motel itself here are the negatives: The room size was small, the carpet had a bad stain at the door area, and there was an odor like cleaner or bleach constantly in the room. The motel is located a half a block off of the main street of town where all the bars and restaurants are. Due to this, once the bars get cranked up at night, there is loud music and drunken laughter that you have to put up with. There was no coffee maker in the room, though there was a Keurig down at the office that could be accessed whenever the office was open. There was no safe in the room in which to keep valuables. You have to ask some motels for extra towels. We received extra towels without asking while here.

The positives: The plus side to being so close to the main street of town is that you can leave your vehicle parked at the motel and walk to anywhere you want to go. (restaurants, boat tours, shopping, etc.) I should mention that there is a walk through alley from the inside end of the motel parking lot that leads right to the main street. This makes a nice short cut when coming from the tours to the motel and easy to drop off purchases or use your own room bathroom before continuing on elsewhere. The bed was comfortable. The room was well cleaned. The bathroom even actually had a vent with a fan to draw out the steam from showers. (something some hotels do not have.) The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, kindly answering questions, and recommending restaurants. The positives of the location balanced out the negatives. Just having the reserved parking in a town where parking is a premium was greatly beneficial. Overall, this was a decent place to stay. If there was a choice of "Good" between "Average" and "Excellent" I would have given that rating. So I would have rated it three and a half stars.

Room tip: Rooms in the office side of the motel are quieter. Note the side alley access to the shopping areas of the main street.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Classic small-town motel, centrally located in A-Bay. Clean rooms, well cared for, and excellent house-keeping staff. Manager (Dean) runs a tight ship (excuse the pun) and takes good care of his guests. The best spot to stay for Pirate Days weekend(s) in August.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank OWFC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews