We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$103
Priceline$103
Expedia.com$103
Travelocity$103
Vio.com$103
Agoda.com$103
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,177)
Filter reviews
1,177 results
Traveller rating
334
328
278
130
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
334
328
278
130
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river room was clean great view alex bay castle pointe brunch bolt gazebo boat canada
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,177 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2022

Chose the spot due to its proximity to Heart Island. Was for our 10th wedding anniversary. Should have read the reviews! First, they switched our room when we arrived; after being told we would have a king room that opened into the pool area(the only king left, mind you) we ended up down in back by the marina. Just as well, there's apparently a $500 fine if you step off your room balcony into the pool area either before it opens at 9am or after it closes at 9pm

Saw its heyday in the 1970's. Updates have been sporadic, if at all. Room was perpetually damp and musty, bath towels wouldn't dry, the newer USB lamps were all spotted with rust. Carpet was nasty and worn at the doorways. And were mirrors cheap at one time??? I'm tired of bathrooms walled in them! No, I really DON'T want to see myself sitting on the toilet! The only plus was you could probably swim in the jet tub, it was enormous. There was a letter outlining management's awareness of the gnats, yet no attempt to clear out the spiders that are also inherent in wet, buggy environments. Killed one in the drapes; I didn't sleep well. Literally saw a grounds person trimming dead flowers, so they do have people to clean up the property. Literally sat on the deck overlooking the river and watched spiders descend by the dozens at nightfall to build their webs. Wifi was sporadic. A sign proclaimed that if the 2 pool towels allotted to the room were missing, we'd be charged $20. Front desk needs guest relations training: some were pleasant, some were simply rude.

The high points were the bar and bartenders (but no food after 9pm) and the staff at the marina. Weddings take priority, don't plan on eating here if there's reception going on. Even their launch leaves something to be desired. It's sad, as they have a prime location and they certainly charge enough for it..

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 September 2022 via mobile

The Bonnie Castle resort was quite disappointing at first. The amount we paid for one night usually would provide a somewhat luxurious accommodation. There is no luxury here. The room is small and extremely dated probably from the 1970’s, however it was quite clean and adequate if not completely comfortable. The bed and bedding were good.and there was a very narrow balcony that you could step out on. The view was the parking lot but you could see some of the water through the trees if you looked the right direction. The air conditioning has to be turned on by the front desk but there is nothing to indicate that. We learned by dialing 0 on the phone as instructed and asking why it didn’t work. There was no restaurant available for breakfast or anything provided for breakfast. There is no elevator. Our third floor room was only available by stairs. We were only there one night, it was a busy weekend so it was what we could find booking at the last minute.
Alexandra bay is from a bygone area and if you wish to stay in town, I guess you pay for that convenience.
It is most doubtful that we would stay here again for the kind of price we paid.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank msannie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 September 2022

My parents had a terrible experience here. They’ve been coming here for quite some time and decided to celebrate their recent anniversary. As it appeared to be very quiet, my dad asked for an upgrade to make it even more special. The nice guy at the desk said of course! What view would you prefer? After making a decision, the manager then came out and rudely said no, they couldn’t have an upgrade, as they don’t do that, AFTER they were already told they could. As a former front office manager, this is unacceptable and SO distasteful. My dad then phoned down for a fan and was told she wasn’t sure if they had one (again the manager) My parents waited around and after some time my mom called again. She got told “someone already phoned from this room and we don’t have one” ok.. so where’s your decency to phone them back and tell them that? Needless to say, after the customer service (or lack thereof) they will not be returning. Your guests are the reason you have a job.. maybe make a career change if you’re so miserable.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LauraDempsey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 September 2022 via mobile

Outdated and needs a bunch of updates. Location is beautiful, but rooms smelled, carpeting stained, tiles cracked in bathroom, ceiling tiles missing, bottome of doors worn, and old school keys used to open doors. Room was secure, but unsure if would feel comfortable staying for a long period of time. Rooms were a good size, but needs tons of updates to make current.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SuzieQ6578
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 September 2022

This is not a Resort! It has gone WAY down hill. The rooms are dated, damp, in disrepair and overwhelmingly musty smelling. So disappointed for the price we paid….would have been better to have slept in the car!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 482cherylc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews