We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Algotels
Vio.com
Etrip
StayForLong
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
51
50
32
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
51
50
32
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small fridge room was immaculately clean great stay boat cruise stay there again within walking distance non smoking boldt castle great room ice machine the river office capt motel shelving bay demi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2021 via mobile

A very nice, very reasonable night's stay.
Also a very good breakfast right off the parking lot.
It was worthy of 5 stars...the reason I didn't go 5 stars was the overuse of perfume/ scent in the room ( #134). It seemed to have been in the AC system.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ThomasK229
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 June 2021

We stayed for 3 nights and had the 2 king/sleeper couch with kitchen suite. It was spacious and we were very comfortable there. The television didn't work the first night but the fellow behind the desk (later found out he's the owner), worked very hard to fix it and finally got us television on day 2. No cable, it was a Roku TV so no way to hear about current events in the area but at least we had Netflix, etc. The hotel is within walking distance to Uncle Sam's and our fishing charter, A-Bay, as well as a lot of restaurants and gift shops. We walked a lot and really enjoyed how close we were to the center of town. The hotel had a pool, ice machine, soda machine and there was a coffee pot with coffee in the room, as well as a microwave, small fridge, stove and oven, and a nice dining table. It was everything we needed and more. Budget friendly and clean. The shower was small but water pressure was great. Beds were comfortable and the sofa sleeper was similar to a futon that laid flat so there was no annoying bar in the middle of the bed like normal sofa sleepers. Pillows were a little too full for me and my one son but my other son loved them. We were very comfortable and the customer service given to us by the owner was excellent. Parking was free and right outside the door, it was very quiet and safe. We would definitely stay there again.

Room tip: The king suite is great for families-can cook in rooms and save money on eating out.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 June 2021

Overall, this pace is excellent. The staff are all very friendly and polite. They all seemed to smile and greet you when ever you seen them. The room was very clean and tidy and well decorated. This place is quiet. The pool is fenced in and is well maintained. The place is awesome to stay at and budget friendly.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 661jenab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 October 2020

Rooms remodeled, got rid of carpet, very clean and sanitized. Great location directly on the St. Lawrence River. Much cheaper than the Riveredge. There is a pool and ice machine, but no other amenities. However, it is right on the end of town so several restaurants and shops are within a 1 - 2 minute walk. I have been staying here (in a room on the channel with a view of the amazing Boldt Castle) yearly for over 30 years each July and will continue to do so. I go to fish and go boating around the beautifully landscaped islands with beautiful old homes. The river view from the balcony is so calming and peaceful. Prices lower off season. Went a second time in October and was able to stay and boat for super cheap cost!

Date of stay: July 2020
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

We booked here on a whim but have stayed at Capt. Thomson’s numerous times and never had an issue. When we first walked in, We were impressed with the size of the room and how nice it all looked. Things quickly changed when we took off our sandals and walked around. The floors were filthy with sand and food crumbs. The bathroom curtain had red mold growing up the bottom as well as had grass on it. There were dead flies and bees in the windowsill. The bed skirt was lopsided and looked like it was just thrown on. There were people smoking in front of their rooms when there are signs posted saying smoking in designated areas. I went into the office to ask them to address the smoking. She came out and the people just blew her off. We asked that housekeeping come in and clean and it looked like nothing had been done except a new shower curtain. The beds are extremely uncomfortable - hard and squeaky. Quiet time is 10-9 but with the walls being so thin you could hear every single thing going on in the next room. We could make out the conversation they were having as well as being woken up by their blow dryer. By the time our trip was over, we couldn’t wait to get out of there. When I asked to speak with a manager or owner, she told me to write a review online and he would see it. Well here it is! What a terrible attitude! DO NOT STAY HERE!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lpardi019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews