We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location - NO WAY! It's my favourite place in Phuket” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Poor location - NO WAY! It's my favourite place in Phuket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I'm always staggered by the reviews this place gets; a backpackers place IT IS NOT! I have never stayed here but every time I come to Phuket, it is the first place that I head for for a relaxing lunch or dinner.
The location is stunning. The pool and surroundings are beautifully kept. Clued up travellers to Phuket will realise that the glorious sandy beaches (and the horrid bars, tuk tuk drivers etc) are on the west and the fabulous views and the odd little beach are on the east. Whilst were there last week for lunch there was a wedding taking place on the beach and the wedding party were then on horseback - it was beautiful.
We visited for dinner on the 20th and 27th March and enjoyed a lovely meal of a huge prawn 'goong sarong' starter and seared tuna special, with wine and water and it cost 1500 bahts for two of us. Great laid back entertainment - singer with guitar and then a duo who were great. It is a classy retreat from the sometimes madness of Phuket!
I love it>

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooksvtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideResort, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Right on the Mark and we thank you for you observations and comments. We do not cater to the frantic tourist but rather to those who appreciate informality, style, and enjoyment of the beauty of Phuket. You obviously are a discerning traveler.

Best wishes to you,
STARR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    118
    40
    11
    10
See reviews for
78
138
88
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Decided to pamper ourselves with a 4 night stay in the Jacuzzi suite.

The hotel is situated in the quiet part of the island, away from all the noise and bustle of Patong and Karon beaches (no constantly pestering locals for tuk tuks or tailors).

The room was clean, and the hotel staff friendly, with the reception staff speaking reasonable english, and other staff adequate english to get your meaning across.

The location was fantastic, our room literally on the beach, however the water isn't quite as clear as the western side of the island.

We stayed in room 40, which is right next to the pool, and the front porch opens to the beach. Being close to the pool, we found that it was a bit noisy in the morning with people going past or staff working in the grounds.

My biggest gripe is that the bathroom is outdoors in an enclosed courtyard attached to the room. While it was a novelty at first, privacy was compremised. If, like me, you indulge in a few of the local delacacies, your toilet visit may be a bit embarrasing... as it is open air and right next to the massage pagola. Oh, and brace yourself for some mosquitoes in the courtyard too.

All in all, an enjoyable stay. While I would definitely return to the resort, i wouldnt stay in the jacuzzi suite.

Room Tip: Not the Jacuzzi room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenSaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideResort, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your review and for enjoying your stay.

I really appreciate that you acknowledge our staff, as a “family run” resort, everyone on the staff becomes family and although they aren’t always great English linguists, they are without doubt very enthusiastic to take care of guests.

It’s a shame that Thai food caused you some gastric challenges, because it’s so delicious it can be hard to resist even when it doesn’t suit your individual digestive system. Because we are on the coast in the tropics it’s true that some mosquitoes are to be expected. We do not use highly toxic chemical sprays, we prefer to use more gentle and environmentally friendly solutions, which are not as effective, but definitely a lot healthier for our guests.

I’m glad you enjoyed yourself enough to write that you will return, we’ll look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
STARR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

If you are staying on Phuket Island this resort is in a quiet beach area. We loved the fact that there were not tonnes of people walking past our rooms beach front sliding doors and patio. We felt like we had the beach and view to ourselves when we were in our room, amazing. The pool and restaurant are also right on the beach and very pretty. I chose this resort based on reviews and price. We booked the Deluxe King Room, garden view. I was really excited when I received the e-mail telling me that we were in the new building. What a disappointment to find out that our DELUXE room had no windows!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We were shown two other rooms after my husband refused to stay in that room. In the end we decided that we would take a beachfront room as it had glass sliding doors and a patio. HOWEVER we paid twice the price for this room. In other hotels/resorts when we have requested garden view rooms, they have come complete with windows and often a patio!!!!!!!! This did start our 4 night get away here off on the wrong foot. However I have one other issue with this resort and it was the food. It was very basic food. We found all across Malaysia and Thailand that the food was amazing ...... we ate everywhere from the street venders on up to proper restaurants... this resort was the exception to the rule. In conversation with other guests staying at the resort we were told that they found the food to be less than mediocre. Too bad as the location of the restaurant was amazing. After two breakfasts there I opted for just a fruit plate on the last day. The first morning there I ordered a Latte with breakfast and was surprised that I was charged extra for this (included at all the other hotels we stayed at) The coffee was not worth drinking. So didn't drink anymore coffee there during our stay. There is a coffee shop up the hill on the main road that has amazing coffee so if you are staying at Friendship Beach and you like a good cup of coffee go here, Hock HoeLee.

Room Tip: When you are booking your room ask for a room with windows. Don't take it for granted that all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizbeth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideResort, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
By far this is a resort with the lowest waterfront rates. We want to keep our rates low and the atmosphere informal - not chrome-like and unfriendly. The room you were originally booked into had large windows and door opening onto a small patio with an outside shower and plantings. As with most hotels, there were no side windows as rooms were on either side. As to the cuisine, we have both an American chef and an experienced Thai chef with over 700 items on the menu with many unique items including a fresh juice bar and vegetarian menu. Yes, we can do better and we thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stopped next door at the Vijitt resort which was a little overpriced. We walked onto the friendship beach numerous times and were welcomed with open arms each time. The food was luvly epically the club sandwich and nacho's. It was quite a lot cheaper than the Vijitt resort for food and drink but was just as nice. The only thing was the location. Although we were staying just on the beach to get there by road you need a scooter or some form of transport. Having said that we would defo go back and thank you for making us feel welcome

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandsrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideResort, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. The other resort you mentioned is high-end and formal. We have a much more relaxed and comfortable approach and want to keep it that way. Our rooms are very nice and about one-third the price of other waterfront resorts. Our location, by design, is away from shipping and frantic activities albeit only 10 minutes away. It is nice that you stayed with us and we look forward to your return.
Best regards,
STARR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel is located on the beach of Rawai, a quiet town near the Phuket town. There are several little islands in front of hotels so the views are fantastic although people don't swim.. ( I don't know why). Nobody on the beach, only for the kite surfing people. The restaurant food is so-so. The staffs are very friendly. There are many people for the detox programs ( $500 for the couple/day) and they attend for 3/7/10 days courses. You can't walk to anywhere so you need a car or a scooter. We stayed there for 2 nights so just have been at the pool and the restaurant. We stayed at the old side room and did not like the " Bali style" bath because we were worried about the mosquito all the time every time we open/shut the door. I am not sure if I go back this hotel again but the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COCOLINA1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideResort, Owner at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for posting your review and for so accurately describing our beautiful waterfront location. Most of our clients come here to relax by the beach and to do very little, so the fact that we are away from the main tourist areas with their noise and neon is frequently regarded as a benefit.

The Atmanjai Wellness Center is a major attraction as you correctly note, and these guests spend most of their day engaged in their programs which means the resort pool and beach are not overpopulated.

I appreciate you giving our staff a wonderful compliment, they are truly examples of Thai hospitality.

Best regards,
STARR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
3.8 km away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.6 km away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
1.2 km away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Rawai Palm Beach Resort
4.3 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#16 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
6.5 km away
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre

Property: Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre
Address: 27/1 Soi Mittrapap | Friendship Beach, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Friendship Beach Resort & Spa by iCheck Inn)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#6 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#8 Family Hotel in Rawai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,125 - ₹ 10,762
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre is your very own private hideaway located on the south east coast of Phuket Island. Situated right on the beach, our comfortable 30 rooms and suites offer exceptional value in a stunning location and are just a stones throw from the resort's pool and secluded beach.The hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Chalong Bay and is the perfect location in which to explore the Andaman's famous archipelago of islands.Located on beautiful Chalong Bay.Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre has a spa and private beach and offers free Wi-Fi throughout. The 30 air-conditioned rooms feature a minibar, satellite TV and private hot shower and are just a short walk from the beach and boast a high ceiling, tile floor and Bali-style decor. All rooms at Friendship Beach Resort & Spa come with a fridge and a personal safe.Central Shopping Mall, Tesco Lotus Mall and the Home Pro Village Mall are a 10-minute drive from the hotel. It is a 25-minute drive from Patong Beach and a 45-minute drive from Phuket Airport. On-site parking is free. Atmanjai Wellness Centre offers spa treatments and detox programs, as well as oceanside yoga classes. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, enjoy the garden or unwind with a massage.The hotel's restaurant offers al fresco dining, serving up Thai and Western favourites. It is open daily from 07:00-22:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendship Beach Waterfront Hotel Rawai
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing