We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Phawadee Village
Ranked #74 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I found the staff very helpful and proficient in English which is a big plus when traveling in Thailand. The pool was great and we enjoyed the happy hour 5-6pm when cocktail were only 90Bt. We stayed there on two different occasions and in two different rooms. The first room was towards the rear of the hotel and I found the room too small and uncomfortable. The second time round we stayed in one of the rooms facing the street. I was concerned the street noise would bother but not in the least. The room was spacious and we loved it except for the multiple stairs we had to take since there is no elivator. The breakfast was served in the quiantest of French restaurants managed by a proper french lady. Being South African we tend to prefer the English version of breakfast and therefore the options were limited. We had a great stay at this hotel and would recommend it. Located very close to Phatong beach and all the main streets it is ideal. To get the most out of it rent a scooter from the hotel @ 300Bt per 24 hours and scoot around seeing everything but missing the trafic and taxi fares. Definately the way to see Phuket.

Room Tip: Those closest to the street.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gawie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Royal Phawadee Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 153 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

This review is from a 5 night stay and overall I found the hotel very good. I had gone in peak season so the prices were not cheap albeit the facilities are good.

Getting to the hotel was quite easy as I booked one of the hotel cars for 700 baht. Upon arrival the car was there so there was no buying taxi tickets and queuing up. Given that the trip can be up to an hour in heavy traffic, 700 is quite reasonable in my view.

The hotel is nice and central to the nightlife in Patong being on the SawatDirak Road. For those wishing to head to the prime party grounds of Bangla it's only about a 10 minute walk. The hotel has a very nice tropical paradise feel and, standing in its own very large courtyard, it is a very tranquil and attractive setting with a nice pool and seating area, albeit it would probably benefit from a few more sun-loungers.

Reception staff are very friendly and helpful and the place has a nice feel to it. I opted for one of the Pavillion Bungalows which are situated just down from the pool. They have a nice big Jacuzzi. The rooms are nice but some of the woodwork is starting to look a little tired. The beds are big and quite comfortable though not as big as some of the super-size beds some hotels offer. Bathroom and shower are OK but there was very low water pressure from one of the sinks.

Despite being 'treated' (whatever that entails) there were more mosquitoes about than we liked and it would be good sense to buy a local burner or repellent, or even a spray to give the room a good hosing before you go out. The air-con is also a little on the noisy side and can be quite intrusive. Oddly, the temperature control didn't seem to have much effect. It was either on and cold, on fan only, or off. And when it's on, you will need the duvet cover. Generally I like to sleep without AC, preferring to use only fans in this part of the world, but there are no fans here, whether other rooms have them I'm not sure. Room service is very good, even cleaning and replenishing toiletries when I had a couple of long lay-ins. Bottled water in the room (3 small) is free daily and a beer from the fridge about 40 baht.

Breakfast is served from something like 7am - 11 am but there was a problem here. It seems that the breakfast, which is buffet style, is put out once and, other than some bread, is not or is rarely replenished. The breakfast is also not very imaginative or interesting with little variety. I went for breakfast one morning at 10:30 and there was virtually nothing left. I resorted to 2 slices of toast and coffee. At the rates this hotel charges that's not acceptable in my view. Most guests will be paying the same rate and should get an option of a full breakfast right up to closing. Table clearance and re-setting after other guests have vacated it is very sloppy, first having to ask for a fork, then a napkin, then for the fork again. I ate there one evening and tried a local Thai dish which was OK but a bit bland. There is a French menu as well but I don't go to Thailand to eat European food so ate out at all other times.

All in all I'd say the hotel was very good for its location, ambience and tranquility, esp if you want a pool. The restaurant I didn't try enough to comment on fully but the breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninja_Sanook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

the staff service was very average.
brekky didn't have many choices and tasted just okay,
the room was old and the toilet had a smell that sort of spread to the whole room...
the bedsheet had hair on it..
but location is very good. 3 min walking to patong beach and main streets

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ce-sky9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Hotel is a little tired and is built more in the older traditional style village hotel than the more modern minimalist style hotels you see now, it has a lot of charm and the rooms are a pretty decent size, we did see some of the refurbished rooms which are far nicer as a lot lighter and brighter than the older style rooms in the main wing, food is good on site and very cheap, service in the French restaurant is very very slow which is a shame as the food is great, there seems a few language issues at the hotel but that is not a major issue as you are in a foreign country after all. Room service is ridiculously cheap as are drinks from the minibar. Hotel has a small gym on site, nice size pool, word of caution, don't stay here if you want a quite relaxing holiday, you are in the heart of patong and nearby you have bars and clubs blaring loud music into the night, didn't bother us as we would not of stayed in patong if we hadn't of wanted fun and a party scene. Hotel has a good location 2 minutes to patong beach, all in all a pretty decent hotel, clean, comfortable, I would rate as a 3 star, pretty good value but not overly luxurious

Room Tip: Request one of the newly refurbished rooms they are much nicer
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsiaSteve72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My partner and I stayed for 7 nights in Nov/Dec 2011. This place is amazing (and we have seen a lot of hotels in Patong).
1. The rooms are beautiful and clean.
2. The staff are very friendly and speak good english. They are also incredibly honest and would not accept my money for a can of coke they believe I didn't have from the mini-bar. And I totally did have it.
3. The hotel grounds are breathtaking. My partner and I called it our own little paradise in the hustle and bustle of patong. Seriously. Words can not describe the tranquility of this rainforest hideaway.
4. The hotel is on a large piece of land with only a few rooms. Landscaping is beautiful. Very quiet and relaxing.
5. We went and saw almost every other hotel in the area- and nothing compares to Phawadee- seriously. This is the nicest place in Patong.
6. The beach is at the end of the street. Bangla road is a short walk (2 blocks), and the shopping Centre is only a 10 min walk. We never got in a cab. It was right in the heart of everything.
7. The breakfast was great. Freshly made juice every morning, freshly made eggs to our liking. Wonderful atmosphere.

We will never stay anywhere else again. The other hotels simply didn't compare and they cost the same amount. It is strange. This place should charge more for what you get.

Room Tip: 422 was a standard room- and I think the best standard room in the whole place! We will always ask f...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leesa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 km away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#73 of 328 in Patong
298 reviews
0.5 km away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#145 of 328 in Patong
279 reviews
0.3 km away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#98 of 328 in Patong
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Swiss Palm Beach
Swiss Palm Beach
#75 of 328 in Patong
240 reviews
1.6 km away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#47 of 328 in Patong
515 reviews
0.3 km away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#60 of 328 in Patong
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Phawadee Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phawadee Village

Address: 3 Sawatdirak Road | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#36 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: ₹ 3,761 - ₹ 9,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Phawadee Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROYAL PHAWADEE VILLAGE Sanctuary Resort in Patong Beach Experiencing the unforgettable moment at the heart of the Andaman Sea's pearl at Royal Phawadee Village, Patong Beach Phuket, Thailand. Royal Phawadee Village is located in one of Phuket most famous beaches known as Patong Beach Traditional Thai-style Every room types have the designs and decorations based on Thai-style which you will surely be impressed and most signature and outstanding hotel in Patong Beach Phuket. Peaceful Oasis Patong Beach Resort While enjoying the scenery you might also take a rest at the most our beautiful grassy garden in Phuket where you can sit and relax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Royal Phawadee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Phawadee Village Hotel Patong
Royal Phawadee Village Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing