We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #77 of 328 Hotels in Patong
South australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was our second stay at the Thara Patong . It is a great Hotel in a great location with 2 main pools and a smaller kids pool, We have stayed in both the pool access rooms and the Deluxe Palm wing. Both rooms are fantastic, Beds are very comfortable. Bathrooms are very clean. The bathroom in the deluxe palm is a little small, compared to some hotels,. Great TV with Dvd and CD player. The pools are fantastic with enough sun lounges and umbrellas .
The restaurants at this hotel are great, tried them all and had nothing to complain about.
The hotel is set back from the road and has beautiful gardens and surrounds. No free WI FI which is a downer as most of the hotels offer free WI FI . The breakfast was certainly big enough with many choices in all areas ( juices, to cereal, to hot dishes , fruit, yoghurt and the list goes on ) The staff were very friendly. the laundry service was excellent and extremely quick. The duty Manager was very helpful, all in all would definitely stay here again. Hotel is very close to Bangala road and Jungceylon shopping center.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nassarij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutytharapatong, Duty Mnager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Nassarij
We thank you for giving us the opportunity in serving you a second time. You have described our Resort perfectly. For your fellow travelers, I would like to remind them, Thara Patong never tells people what to write and post. We appreciate everyone review… We must be encouraged when we do a good job and be advised where we can improve. Happy Travels! Sincerely, Bryan Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    281
    93
    23
    30
See reviews for
139
227
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is a large hotel sited around two pools. Very peaceful with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas for during the day away from the hustle and bustle of the shops, bars and noise. Spent the last three days of our holiday here, rested during the day and went out and about during the evening. Staff were very attentative and for lunch most days I had the fried rice with prawns approx 99 baht - well worth it. We had a problem with the shower when we arrived but it was repaired within 15 minutes of reporting it. I will certainly return here if I have reason to be in Phuket again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MJV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutytharapatong, Duty Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear MJV_12
Thank you for your comments and review. After reading… I myself feel more relaxed. Your time here is a perfect example of what Thara Patong has to offer. Large pools and tropical garden area, relaxing atmosphere, value, good food, friendly staff in the heart of Patong. Again, hospitality is a coordinated effort by all Resort colleagues. From everyone here, we look forward to serving you again in the future. Happy Travels! Sincerely, Bryan Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

i stayed at this hotel 3 times last year, my last trip was in nov - dec for 16 nights. I normally stay in a delux or premier room but decided to stay in a superior room this trip as its a bit cheaper at this time of year. As in previous trips the staff always make me and my thai girl friend feel very welcome they are always very friendly and helpful. The room was ok not the same as the other rooms ive stayed in but still ok , i had some problems with the air conditioning which they tried to fix but with no luck i spoke to the duty manager Bryan about this and within 30 - 40 minutes he got back to me and said they had found another room for me. Changing rooms would have been enough but the free upgrade to a premier room was unexpected but very much appreciated so thank you very much Bryan. As in past stays here the pools are great to laze around and the food here is also great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone its close to everything and still very quite. Also try the day spa the 2 hour massage is great after a sauna.

Room Tip: i like both, the delux palm and premier rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kojak069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutytharapatong, Duty Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Hi kojak069
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It was good to see you again this last trip. We as a team sincerely try our best. Hospitality is our business and a coordinated effort. It makes us feel good when we get it right. We appreciate everyone’s reviews. It’s import for us to know when we get it right and where we need to improve. You, our Valued Guest is the most important aspect to our business.. Look forward to seeing you in a few months time. Drop us an email to announce your arrival. It is always a pleasure to serve you. Happy Travels! Sincerely, Bryan Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macao
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed in Thara Patong from 2001 to 2005. In X'mas the family decided to go to Patong, so we decided to go to Thara Patong again. We stayed from 21 to 26/12/2011.
Before we stayed in room 1111 on the ground floor but this time we requested the Premier room in the building. Our room was 1360; my mother’s 1361 and my sister’s 1362.
The room (1360 and 1362) had one double bed and one single bed, which were nice for the kids to sleep in. Room 1361 had a big bed.
The room has enough space and the balcony outside is nice to seat and see the kids playing in the swimming pool just under the balcony. I felt the rooms a little bit pricey but all hotels are in X’mas.

The bathroom had a bathtub and a shower. The bathtub could not be used to shower the kids because it had no curtain and all the water would come out to the floor.
The toilet was spacious but had no place to hang the towels.

Since we were staying there during X’mas, the dinner of X’mas Eve was compulsory, so there was no choice but to eat there. We wouldn’t mind if there was food enough for everyone. It started at 19:30 but we arrived around 20:00 and a lot of recipients were already empty. They did bring more food but grill seafood was not cooked. We’ve asked the staff but nobody cared, then we asked for the person in charge of all the staff and he did came but the way he speak with us was not the best. He was saying the food was ok, no need more cooking, when shrimps and lobster were still raw inside… Finally he said would ask to cook it more for us but when it came back some were still not cooked enough. We just decide not to eat it. Then, we went to pick some turkey but only had leftovers, almost no meat… and we request for them to get more from the kitchen but replied there wasn’t anymore… When we decide to get dessert there was almost nothing, all X’mas sweets had finished, just have some fruits and some chocolate from package… We didn’t like at all the dinner and felt that we paid too much for what we got. I saw some tables that had lots of leftovers because the people took much more food than they can eat. If the dinner is mandatory I think is better to do like some places do with the seafood, like one lobster per person to avoid that the ones than come later don’t find nothing to eat. Maybe also have more food. I have no idea, but in all the years, this was the worst X’mas dinner we had.
Also, not related to food but in the dinner, Santa Claus come to the tables but was going around paying more attention to adults than to kids given some a sweet and not give to others. Wouldn’t it be easier if he give sweets only to the kids? Or make sure he didn’t miss the kids?

The good thing is that the location is great, near the main road, cross it and you are in the beach. Have supermarkets and restaurants near by...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmasKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is an average 3-star resort at best in a very good location, but then it's quite easy to find a hotel in a good location in patong. For the money paid, I would have to say that it's average at most. We were upgraded FOC to the premier room upon arrival since all the deluxe rooms were fully booked. We were wondering why allow us to book the deluxe room when it's fully booked? The premier room we had faces no where and looks a bit old, even though it's larger. To me, size of the room doesn't really matter. The air con is a bit noisy since the hotel is old. We were actually hoping to get a newer room when we booked the deluxe room. Service was average at most. For instance, we requested for a pair of slippers at the front desk but it never came. On our first 2 nights, there was a black out for 2-3 minutes or so, something you don't expect at a 4-star hotel. The drainage in the shower area takes a long time to drain off the water. All these tells you a lot of the age of the hotel. On our travels so far, we will always stay at the same hotel if the standard is up to our expectations. Unfortunately, Thara Patong is not on that list. Sometimes, it's the small things that matter.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutytharapatong, Duty Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Jeffrey08
Thank you for your comments and most humbling appraisal of our property. Thank you for acknowledging the free of charge (FOC) upgrade from deluxe to premier room. A value of 33 Singapore dollars per day. Our management team reviews all tripadvisor comments. To be quite frank, you do not seem to appreciate our hospitality, Resort, service or rooms. Our Resort is a Beach and Garden Resort including Spa, not an office style high-rise as can be found in any major city. All our rooms are designed to face in towards the pool and garden area from the balcony… which seems to have escaped your notice. The power black-outs originate from the city grid. there-for beyond our control. The slippers you mentioned… not being delivered. This issue has been addressed with our front desk and housekeeping departments and we thank you for pointing this out. For this, we apologize for the poor service rendered during peak season. We recommend the new five star hotel located at Jungceylon shopping Mall for your next visit to Patong. The rooms are newer, smaller, very chic and more expensive. The hotel is office style in nature, very similar to most hotels in Singapore. Happy Travels! Sincerely, Bryan Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 km away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#59 of 328 in Patong
371 reviews
0.2 km away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.5 km away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#25 of 328 in Patong
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Bloc Hotel
The Bloc Hotel
#96 of 328 in Patong
68 reviews
0.1 km away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#94 of 328 in Patong
87 reviews
0.1 km away
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
#65 of 328 in Patong
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 170, 170/1 Thaweewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#36 Spa Hotel in Patong
#40 Family Hotel in Patong
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,500 - ₹ 14,806
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa is prominently situated on Patong Beach offering a superb combination of service, value for money and location. It is just a short stroll to the Beach, the bustling shopping and nightlife areas. It is approximately 42 km. to Phuket International Airport (about 55 minutes drive) and about 30 minutes drive to Phuket Town. The Resort offers 180 accommodate rooms in Superior, Deluxe, Premier, Premier Pool Access, One/Two Bedroom Suite and Grand Tamarind Suite; each room looks out on the serenity of the tropical gardens and pools from their private balcony. All rooms are fully furnished with finest materials and facilities include satellite TV, IDD telephone, mini bar, hair dryer and Wi-Fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thara Patong Beach Resort And Spa
Thara Patong Beach Hotel Patong
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing