We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extensive pools and beach access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #21 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Extensive pools and beach access”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Perhaps not the best review for accessing this property as we were there a few years ago. But we are thinking of going back and after looking at other reviews and photos it still seems to have held its charm. During our last stay we booked two adjoining rooms at the Merlin Beach Resort, they were on the second floor with lovely balconies overlooking the pool area. I remember my first impression of the foyer area being large and spectacular but the main reason we had booked the hotel was for its extensive pools and beach access and we were not disappointed. At some resorts and hotels you really are at a disadvantage when it comes to finding a sun lounge particularly when you are faced with sun worshipping warriors who dump a towel and then don't come back for two hours. However the pool complex at this resort is extensive so no problem finding something at any time of the day. There was also access to two beaches one across the road from the resort and one forming part of the resort which were never over crowded but you do need reef shoes for the coral. The Merlin is not in the main centre of Patong so if you’re looking for a party atmosphere then this is not the best place to stay. However travelling to Patong is not difficult as the resort offers a free shuttle and tuk tuks and taxis were easy to get and inexpensive. We also booked tours from the resort which were far cheaper then what travel brochures advertise. This is a great family resort. But I don't recommend the Merlin for couples if it is school holidays or for the young "ra ra" crowd looking for a party scene.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misha692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    641
    253
    88
    49
See reviews for
727
802
37
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just did 7 nights at this hotel and came away happy that we did. We new what we were up for with the location and the shuttle bus worked well ( we had budgeted for a few tuktuk rides ). the rooms were clean and of a high enough standard and cleaned well each day. We requested to change rooms after day 1 as there was construction next door along with a strong sewer smell and they arranged it without a fuss. Breakfast had everything you could want ( and more) however seemed a bit understaffed. Lots of English speaking people staying there (Aussies) which made it quite sociable. Happy mix of all age groups, although it wasn't school holidays.
The only negatives, although minor, were that the staff had very limited English which made it hard if you wanted info and there was no real happening happy hour/beach bar which other places we stayed have had. It is a very beautiful location and hotel.
The in house prices of food and beverage seemed quite reasonable which helped when restaurants are a tuktuk drive away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BruceandCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This was our second time at the merlin we love staying their rooms are very nice thay have re painted the rooms since last time we wear their last year and it looks more moden.
The bed was really nice and soft king size and nice pillows,
It's about a 5 min drive from patong u can catch the free curtisey bus in to patong or a taxi out the front for 250 baht and 300 baht return.
Grate breakfest heaps to choose from and the pools are so good so much fun. We will be goin back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshoj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from 10 nights at the Merlin Beach Resort. What great resort only a few km's rom the heart of Patong.
I would reccomend this resort to anyone. My wife an 11 yr old daughter stayed and it was great. The food at the restaurants was good, the buffet breakfast every morning was great. The staff are very friendly and always attend to any requests for assistance as soon as possible.
We will be returning again in the next few months for another holiday , we enjoyed it that much.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Well gOLLy76 you must be hard to please, the four of us have just returned (second time at the same resort) and loved every minute, nothing is too much trouble, staff always happy, rooms cleaned every day and great facilities, The little Tiger restaurant out the back and up the hill is still fantastic, also the Family Massage on the beach has been improved and for 300bt for one hour is a bargin and saves trekking into town, overall another great stay.

Room Tip: Pool access room was special being so close to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuzzyPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
2.7 km away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 km away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
30.4 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,518 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
31.6 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,487 - ₹ 23,336
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing