We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable but abit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #21 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable but abit pricey”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Was advised to stay here by a travel agent friend, certainly a great location away from the hussle & bustle of Patong, clean comfy rooms, great family resort & good ammenities. Was a little disappointed at room rates but we were travelling in peak season. I would certainly recommend this hotel especially for families.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    656
    256
    90
    50
See reviews for
752
814
40
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here in Aug 2008 with 3 other couples .
We loved the fact that it was away from the centre of rowdy Patong.
The atmosphere was amazing , the staff welcoming ,rooms great ,breakfast great,pools and grounds well maintained and lush.
Food was good a little expensive , we went out most times for dinner ,eating at local place a lot cheaper .
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigerbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is our 2nd stay at the Merlin. How can you go past 300bht massages (approx $9) on the beach, 190bht ($6) cocktails or $3 at happy hour and live music nightly. It has a great atmosphere for kids and the housekeeping staff make a cute, different animal with the towels each day. Breakfast has everything you cold want. I like the fact it's a little out of the hustle of Paltong. They do offer a free shuttle or tuk-tuks are readily available for 250bht each way in to Patong. If you are looking to do Phi Phi/Phang Nga Bay I highly recommend Sea Simba trips. Our drink/food bill for 6 days was less than $200!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jlp9202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the Merlin for one week in April 2012. The rooms are spacious but they did smell mouldy at first as aircon had been off. We found the staff friendly but sometimes a little casual. The room service plates left outside rooms for example took a while to be cleared away, and this attracted the stray dogs to fight outside the rooms.
The biggest concern that we had was when there was a Tsumami warning the staff panicked and fled the hotel, no warning to the guests and evacuating!! We were fortunate enough to be staying at the Laguna Beach Resort at Bang Tao beach, which they evacutated the hotels and on returning supplied a free buffet in the lobby.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor incase Tsunami as you dont get alerted!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KickinBack888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We returned to the Merlin Beach. The staff were very helpfull and we enjoyed our time there. The pool access rooms were great (as we were upgraded).
The Tsunami alret through a spanner in the works for a trip into Patong. While is did seem a little disorganised the staff did a good job a getting everyone up high and brougth us water.
Given that Patong was closed it was a great relief that the resort put on a fabulous buffet dinner for all those there - it was a great example of a team working under extreme pressure. And to top it off there was no changre. Just come done and eat - Great Job.
The service at times was lack lusture (the pool bar), even in the resturant. The staff around the pool and other areas were always happy and willing to please.
Overall a great relaxing time. - Will go back there again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
2.7 km away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 km away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
30.4 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,680 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
31.6 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,264 - ₹ 24,410
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, EaseMyTrip, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing