We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort, Average Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #17 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The resort is beautiful, The rooms are clean and safe. The staff are great, However, There is a great deal of miscommunication between staff and guests. Towards the end of my trip I suffered a terrible ear infection. A doctor was called to my room by the hotel nurse, who assured me the doctors visit was taken care of by the resort manager who would contact my travel insurance. When checking out, I received the bill for the doctors visit ($700AU), The hotel manager informed me if I did not pay the bill before check out, The local police would be contacted. This was very distressing and luckily my travel insurance company paid the out-of-procedure claim on the spot. The manager did not apologise for the miscommunication and took a stance that his Resort nurse would not misinform a guest in such a way, Despite the fact I had a handwritten statement from the nurse explaining the proceedure. Be careful about anything in this regard if you choose to stay at the resort.
-Also, Not a great range of vegetarian or vegan dishes available on the breakfast buffet or room service menu-

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glaurenvalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,440 - 1,444 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 weeks and whilst we received interconnecting rooms as requested it required numerous telephone calls and emails prior to arrival.

By day two one of our family members fell ill (despite no having left the hotel). Day 4 second member fell ill. Advised front office staff of our concern of food quality, who in turn suggested we complain to each restaurant (obviously not interested in our plight!). Day 5 second family member had to be rushed to hospital for treatment. Staff suggested we cue for a taxi! No concern at all. Hospital staff and processes exceptional!

Tsunami warning. What warning? Absolutely none given. We heard from a friend staying in Patong and received updates via texts from family in Perth! No staff to be seen, no systems in place. Fortunately other guests sort out water and bread rolls for those who escaped to the roof.

Our rooms were located on the second floor and initially free of any external noise until an adjoining room was occupied by noisy guests. After a few sleepless nights we contacted reception to intervene. Staff suggested we either call the room concerned or visit them!

Restaurant service was appalling as was the clearing away of dirty dishes. Staff obviously think that as guests have a relaxed attitude they can too! With the exception of the Thai restaurant - fantastic service and quality dishes. Limited poolside service - you had to seek out staff to place orders and then wait and wait....Very "westernised"food and not necessarily at 4 star quality.

Shuttle Bus suited our needs although if you have young children, it could be a long time between each service. The service from Phuket Town never ran on time.

The gym is pathetic! We particularly wanted a well equipped gym and requested photos prior to booking. The photos now look to be those of the Patong Merlin and not the Merlin Beach. Broken equipment hidden away in a temporary room with no ventilation, no cleaning products for wipedown and no windows

Considering the travel rating being very high, we found the resort to be less than average. Very disappointing - we will not be back.

Room Tip: choose a different resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank CAROLE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We visited the MBR for 2 weeks in April to meet up with some special friends from New Zealand. We all had a wonderful time!

We liked the location of the hotel because although we visited Patong regularly for the hustle and bustle of a busy tourist town, we loved going back to the relaxed vibe of the MBR. We found the shuttle bus service very useful and got tuk-tuk's back to the hotel when we were ready.

Our rooms were good - overlooking the secluded pool. The breakfast was great - we rarely needed to have lunch because of the great spread available in the mornings. We ate at Littlel tiger and Windsurfer as well as some other places in Patong. Unfortunately the couple of times we ate evening meal (themed buffet) at the hotel we were disappointed at the quality, quantity and selection.

We were on a boat trip and had just arrived back at Phuket Town marina when we were evacuated because of the tsunami warning. The representatives from Phuket Adventures(?) were outstanding. They had an efficient and effective plan and were calm and re-assuring throughout the wait for the all-clear. When we got back to the hotel (at about 10 p.m.) there was a meal laid on by the MBR - a thoughtful touch.

We only have 1 suggestion to make - an on-site laundry would be useful for hotel guests to use especially when it is very humid and difficult to get things dry.

Overall, we had a magical time at MBR and have come home with lots of special memories. We would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We liked the quieter atmosphere around the 'secret' pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mizmoz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was our second visit to the beautiful Merlin Beach Resort where we had 20 others beyond our family come and stay this time. I cannot recommend enough this resort for Australian families. We were very warmly welcomed as second time visitors given extra discounts and other special treatment.

During our stay yes the resort did go into a Tsunami warning on two occassions and in both instances our maid came and checked on our our well being before leaving for the hills. I have read other recent posts by other Aussies who have stayed at the same time, you need to understand that the Thai people are now very scared of Tsunamis due to the amount of friends and family they lost - yes the majority of the bar, pool and housemaids were let go so there could be with their families but management remained. Yes there was some confusion on the first one, but the hotel put on a very sumptous buffet dinner for all guests free at night to say sorry - not sure why they were saying sorry. I can't believe some guests took all there suitcases to the roof - don't know what that was going to do. The staff could not apologise enough about the Tsunami - it isn't there fault - nature - enough on the Tsumani.

Little Tiger Restaurant above the Merlin Beach again provided a great alternative venue for lunch or dinner. Tri Trang Beach is getting ready for the construction of another resort so it was a bit of walk to get down onto that beach, but worth it again - Tri Trang Restaurant has been rebuilt into a very fancy restaurant and again did not disappoint.

To my good friends at Good View Massage - the only place to get a massage when you are at the Merlin Beach Resort - they are simply the best - thank you again.

We went and found our housemaid from last year, Prakong, who had not forgotten us and greeted the family with a warm hug and many tears. This year we had Wimala look after us and she did not disappoint with many different animals being created from towels and left in our rooms. You are simply a fatastic lovely lady.

The kids loved having Snow Whites and Mango Smoothies by the pool.

And the breakfasts have not changed - still sensational omlettes along with everything else - you will never need lunch.

All in all another great holiday.

Room Tip: I would recommend you paying a little extra to get the Deluxe Beachfront Suites, but all the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PaulDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have stayed many times at this Hotel (with my husband who has since passed away). The reason for going was to attend a wedding . It is a beautiful place to get married at , and the staff certainly make it a DAY TO REMEMBER., nothing was too much for them.
The only draw back is that the hotel is a distance from the shopping and night life.
I always feel like I am being welcomed back by my "family" as some of the staff have been there along time and do remember you.
I would say this is a good hotel for anyone, and the pool access rooms are good if you want to spend a little more! Meals were very good a lot of variety and any different places to eat.
Mary Perth WA

Room Tip: If you like some private time choose a pool access room away from the waterfall as this can be very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaybird_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
30.4 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.7 km away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
1.5 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
5.7 km away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
31.6 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99, Muen-Ngern Road | Tri Trang beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: ₹ 6,991 - ₹ 29,386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. The resort's own house reef offers guests colorful underwater adventures (snorkeling and diving) without ever leaving the property. It is also home to Phuket's first sanctuary for butterflies, a unique conservation project aimed at increasing the native butterfly population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing