We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merlin Beach Hotel Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #17 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have stayed many times at this Hotel (with my husband who has since passed away). The reason for going was to attend a wedding . It is a beautiful place to get married at , and the staff certainly make it a DAY TO REMEMBER., nothing was too much for them.
The only draw back is that the hotel is a distance from the shopping and night life.
I always feel like I am being welcomed back by my "family" as some of the staff have been there along time and do remember you.
I would say this is a good hotel for anyone, and the pool access rooms are good if you want to spend a little more! Meals were very good a lot of variety and any different places to eat.
Mary Perth WA

Room Tip: If you like some private time choose a pool access room away from the waterfall as this can be very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaybird_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,434 - 1,438 of 2,263 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

booked this hotel on recommendation, traveling in group of 18 people with children. Did not get deluxe rooms as paid for and was told by 2 managers its whoever arrives first gets the room. My 80 year old grandfather fell over no first aid given or follow up. NO TSUNAMI WARNING SYSTEM we were there when there was the Tsunami threat we only were advised by other guests at the hotel to get out of the pool and get to high ground. the hotel staff fled without advising us. there are emergency prompt cards advising PA announcement and alarms when asking manager of hotel he was not aware of any system. then unfortunately less then 1 week after this scare another earthquake hit and the exact scenario happened (staff left without telling guests) when asking info about tsunami and advise on what to do at reception conflicting info was given the best advice was coming from family in Australia. no compensation was given for Tsunami threat, wrong rooms or my grandfather falling over. staff lazy not willing to help. poor communication. I've traveled the world a lot definitely not a resort. i would not stay here again very dangerous

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MelissaMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Together with my husband we spent 2 weeks at Merlin Beach Resort. We've got a nice big room in the center building on the 4th floor with side sea view, and I liked the room very much.
Breakfasts were amazing..looked like dinners :) because of a huge amount of food to choose.
Every person could choose whatever he wants.

Every evening hotel has buffet dinner starts at 18:30 and costs 20€ per person. Also there is a Little tiger restaurant nearby where prices are cheaper then at the hotel and food is very tasty. Always ate soup tom yum with shrimps for 7,5€.

Pools are amazing. One is for kids, other two are 1,4 deep and are big. One has pool-bar, where it's nice to have a drink, being in water.
Beach is not perfect, because of rocks it's hard to go into the sea, but you really don't need to, because of pools :) Also, earth in Thailand belongs to the king. That's why hotels do not have private beaches. That's why beach near hotel is in it's natural condition.

Hotel is situated in 3 km from Patong beach and it is a blessing, which you realize when come to Patong, because of regular smell of sewerage (canalization), lots of rubbish everywhere... and lots of people.

There is a free!!! shuttle bus from hotel to Patong beach at 10a.m, 11a.m, 03p.m, 04:45p.m, 09:30p.m and back to the hotel at 11:45a.m, 04:45p.m, 06:45p.m, 10;15p.m. So you can plan your trips(you just need to come to a bus 10-15 minutes before the departure, because sometimes too many people wish to use it). We never had problems with buses and used them a lot.

Looking at hotels in Patong, located 10 meters from beach and 10 minutes from shopping centers...those that located on the 1st line are 1 meter from a road with buses. Imagine, you swim in a pool or eat breakfast watching buses and taxis riding every 30 sec..awful! That's why we preferred our hotel..for it's quiet.

Staff at the hotel was friendly. Territory was clean. There is a service at the hotel, so you can by excursions just in the lobby. This is perfect hotel also for families with children.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olga O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed 9 days with our baby and three year old. Our room was a good size, even after adding a cot & roll away bed.
The hotel is laid out like a three leaf clover with the reception in the middle and rooms surrounding three huge pools. Two of which are linked and wonderful for families. The third is private. We loved the hotel staff, kids club, views, nightly happy hour (A$3 cocktails) and pools.
The Buffet breakfast was great, but the hotel restaurants were expensive for Thailand, about A$10-30 for pizza - main meal. The other food options are: room service (even more expensive), the little restaurant on the hill (great food, outdoor dining only, good on less humid nights), or travel to Patong (A$10 taxi or free hotel bus on set times).
There is a hotel laundry service A$2-5 per item, or you can take your washing to the huts on the beach and they do it for 80b (A$2.40) per kilo. There are no washing machines for guests which made things very difficult for us. All rooms have balconys with a towel rail but it's currently so humid there that it's hard to get things dry.
This is a hilly area of Phuket, the roads are dangerous - especially when wet (it stormed most nights we were there). I wouldn't trust a tuktuk to make it up the hill from Patong to hotel. A friend watched one lose an axel on the way up. Take a good taxi or hotel bus.
The beach in front of Merlin is shallow & full of rock pools to explore. The beach across the road is dirty and difficult to access now.
I had a pedicure at the hotel spa (A$19) but I wouldn't recommend it.
The basement of Patongs (air conditioned) plaza has great massage/ beauty places, a good food court and the usual tourist shops. Much cleaner and cooler than street shopping.
We enjoyed our stay but would have enjoyed it more If we had access to a washing machine and meals were cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harrisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

A party of 18 went to Phuket and stayed at the Merlin Beach Hotel in Paton
We were informed by the travel agent that this hotel had a new wing with renovated rooms
when we got there we had a room that smelt with a view of a lane way and we had to walk for more that 5 minutes to get to it. when we asked to change our room the staff were not very helpful. The breakfast and dinner was not good i would not eat there again. Its a big resort with 3 pools which are good for children. It takes too long to get to Paton and the roads are dark, the tuk tuk struggles to get up the hill to reach the hotel. We were at the hotel when the recent earthquake struck the hotel did not have any evacuation procedure in place. I would not stay there again i would go back to the Holiday Inn its much better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juanita7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
30.4 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.7 km away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
1.5 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
5.7 km away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
31.6 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99, Muen-Ngern Road | Tri Trang beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: ₹ 6,831 - ₹ 28,697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. The resort's own house reef offers guests colorful underwater adventures (snorkeling and diving) without ever leaving the property. It is also home to Phuket's first sanctuary for butterflies, a unique conservation project aimed at increasing the native butterfly population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Prestigia so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing