We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 55
US$ 32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Patong Beach Hotel(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$ 144
US$ 69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amari Phuket(Patong)
US$ 180
US$ 149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Patong Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$ 55
US$ 46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Phuket Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$ 106
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$ 63
US$ 48
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 112
US$ 109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 31
US$ 21
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 24/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 125
US$ 96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 68
US$ 56
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
84
43
10
13
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
43
10
13
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseair conchang beerbasic roomdvd playerbook toursmemorable staymain buildingno elevatorpatong beachsuitenoiseaccommassagephuketburmesemildew
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Just had the very good beef steak (300 gr.!) for only 269 Bath! (with French fries, home made pepper sauce and salad) with a friend. He had it medium done, me blue. Like always the steak is super tender and tasty. My friend was very amazed and happy with the taste too, so he told me he went back again three days later to have one again. It is Thai breeded cows. Most steaks in Holland are less tender and less tasty. I keep coming for this at Aquarius and also for the home made potato salad in stead of the french fries.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ronald-pieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Owner at Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Ronald-Pieter,
thank you very much for your kind review, which is very appreciated.
You have become a very regular diner and have brought a lot of friends with you,
who all also appreciated our food very much. Keep on saying it on.
Hoping to see you soon again.
Kind regards,
Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

I thought I should write a review about this hotel after reading all the bad reviews they have. I booked the cheapest room of all, and to my surprise, it was all nice, clean and tidy. Basically, you get what you pay for. You cannot expect getting a suite for the price you pay here, and to be honest, it was better than I thought it would be.
Close to all the gay bars and clubs, breakfast included and a nice bar where you can start your night having a drink or something to eat.
I would definitely stay again if I come back to Phuket and recommend it to my (gay) friends

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Owner at Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Karim,
thank you very much for your review, which is much appreciated.
It of course always is good to hear that our guests were fully satisfied and felt as like they were at home. Hoping to see you again in the near furture.
Warm regards from all Aquarius team,
Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

I really don't understand why there are so many bad reviews about this place. I booked the big Superior room and it was nice. I mean it's not the Ritz Carlton but clean and super friendly staff. Just as expected. After reading the reviews about the sauna I was actually scared going in there, but again it is a clean place, not run down, perfect for a rainy afternoon. Again you are not in New York or Berlin, but you also don't pay $50 to get in. It's actually included in your room charge to go to the sauna, as is a wonderful breakfast. The staff is most welcoming and friendly. The food I had was also very good.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank sharkyfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Owner at Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear valued guest,
thank you very much for your review.
It always is a pleasure to hear that our guests did fully enjoy their stay and recognized our efforts to make every guest feel like at home.
Your review is particularly appreciated as in my opinion it is a very realistic review, which perfectly describes what we are.
You describe perfectly that we are not a Ritz Carlton hotel and that the rates are not the same either, though very good value for money.
I think you also make a great point to ask yourself why there are a number of bad reviews as I often ask myself the same question.
In fact the reality is that almost the totality of bad reviews comes from guests who booked the cheapest room categories and expected to find a 5 star Suite and service for a low price. We just will have to live with that.
In the meantime we can assure you that we will continue our efforts to keep Aquarius up-to-date and make our guest feel like at home.
Thanks again. Hoping to see you back soon.
Best regards,
Paul.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We arrived at the property at approx. 8am in the morning. We had booked the Superior Annex Wing with Private Balcony. On arrival we were taken to a very 'grubby' entrance. We were then led up 3 flights of stairs with very heavy cases as we were here for 3 weeks. We walked into the room..... The bedding was filthy, the patio door came off in my hands and the shower had mould growing up it. Also the balcony was not safe and the view was not what they show on the website!!!!!! They are not now gleaming yellow but are all dirty and black with one over the view which I can only describe as had a fire...... It really is that bad. We immediately said that we were not prepared to spend 1 night in that room so went to reception. In fairness the owner sorted us another room which was a master suite but we had to pay a further 100 GBP for the holiday to move rooms..... Persoinally I felt that this was unacceptable but paid anyway just to make sure that the holiday got off to a better start. If anyone is thinking of booking this guesthouse then stay in the main hotel and pay the extra...... Do not stay in the annex at all..... Personally I would say that you should find another hotel or guesthouse all together as it really is awful.... On the day that we checked out (6am) The staff tried to charge us for a mini bar from the room.... (it hadn't been restocked for 3 days) We had cleared our bill the day before and they tried to recharge even though not restocked)..... I rated this on trip advisor as 1 but if there was a minus score I would have given it........ DO NOT STAY IN THIS GUESTHOUSE PLEASE....... IT IS WORSE THAN TERRIBLE.

Room Tip: Either stay in a Master Suite or higher or you will be severely disappointed and will regret booking this place.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank darrenbithell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Owner at Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear Darren,

every time I talked to you and/ or to your boyfriend and asked you if everything was fine you answered that all was perfect. Therefore I am highly surprised you completely changed your mind after your departure.
I know you didn't like our cheapest room in the annex which you originally had booked, but I thought we had found a nice solution by offering you a much bigger and more luxury accommodation at a slightly higher rate in our main building.
I think that 30 GBP is not at all expensive for a room like this including daily breakfast and free sauna entrance for two during the high season and 24 GBP during the low season. I rather had expected some appreciation from your side for this nice discounted arrangement instead of what you are reviewing.
We are very aware, that like in any other hotel in the world we can't please 100 % of our guests and that some guests will never be happy. Unfortunately you apparently are one of those few.
Nevertheless, your review strokes with what think and are reviewing the majority of both our new and returning guests and with a pretty high score of 60 to 70% returning guests I'm sure it cant be as bad as you want to make believe your readers.
Best regards,
Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

We have just read the last review was from a couple that stayed in September last year and review was done 3 weeks ago,we also stayed in there largest and best room the Jacuzzi suite but our experience was not the same,we also organized the airport pick up with Aquarius but luckly only 1 way,as our driver was not there when we arrived,we waited for 25 minutes and decided to get a taxi for the same price 700 baht,as we were about to get in the taxi the driver shows up,we were placed in a 10 seater mini van,we could have got a taxi same price and then later we organized a private company to take us back to the airport in a very nice modern car same price 700 baht,so would suggest look up the private tour companies they are all same price and you will get your own private modern car instead of a mini van,on arrival the guy at reception was nice friendly we asked Paul if he could put the air con on in our suite before we arrived which was done ,so was nice to arrive in our suite with the room cool,but around 11pm the air con was making a loud banging noise like a car fan belt at around 8am the noise stopped so the first night was difficult to sleep also like previous reviews the bed is hard as a rock and the blackout curtains do not close properly,we stayed 12 nights the 2nd night was better air con no problems i brought some pins to fix the blackout curtains ,then the 3rd night air com started banging again so called reception they came up to hear the noise and later next day 3 air con mechanics came and fixed it,the room is large the Jacuzzi does fit 2 people quite easy but the furnishings are very old,we were lucky to stay 3 weeks ago and most of the rooms were empty every morning they open the doors to air out all the empty rooms so we were able to check out the smaller suites and smaller rooms on all 3 levels,we noticed the suites like apartment suite ect had hard beds like ours but the smaller rooms had springs mattress you could bounce on but the beds are smaller in those rooms,there are many staff there reception ,cleaning ,resturaunt,massage ect and like other reviews most of the staff are friendly and very helpful,we only had problems with 3 of the staff,there are 2 to 3 staff in the morning that work the breakfast shft and as they do not have name tags we cannot tell you who were outstanding and who were not but in the morning at breakfast there was guy older guy with glasses he was never friendly never smiled,our breakfast was fine only 1 morning we had problems with breakfast the friend egg was not cooked properly the egg whites were still oozing,i told i could not eat that and he said and did nothing,i also pointed out to him the soy sauce and the other sauces were out of date use by September last year he was not happy,the evening we went down for dinner 3 times and again all staff were nice smiling except 1 a young guy with very poor attitude again did not smile was not friendly and look down at us as we were nothing miss attitude,,i am will admit i have only ever stayed in 4 or 5 star hotels but for 3 star hotel it was nice there is things that still need fixing for example i am allergic to house dust and house dust mite,i found our suite clean no dust so i had to buy some medication for runny and blocked nose,and 1 night we notice that there was some sand in our bed from the day before and realized the sheets were not change so i stripped the whole bed and the pillows were covered in dark yellow stains they have never been washed so they are covered with old sweat and who knows what from all other guys that have stayed in that room,i called reception straight away and showed him and told him that was very dirty and discussting so now i know why i had hay fever,i told him that those pillows need to be changed and sheets changed they replaced the pillows with others that were also had yellow stains not as dark my partner said that is something you would see at a hostel or backpackers not a 3 star rating ,also when we used the Jacuzzi in the room it was never cleaned i brought bubble bath gel and and after the room was cleaned the next day we go to use the Jacuzzi bath and the bubbles are still on the sides of the bath,also with the kitchen really needs a micro wave in it, they are not expensive and there is room for 1 so we had to go down to the Aquarius kitchen and ask them if the could heat some food for us ,for there best suite when you read on there website about the Jacuzzi suite and for those who want lux and comfort it is not fully true we brought some dvd.s and could not get the dvd player to work we rang reception and they said the dvd player does not work,so i ask if i could see Paul 10 minutes later a guy from reception knocked on our door and connected the plugs to the television,went to the sauna twice was good ,had a massage was fantastic,1 evening was a loud argument with 1 of the staff behind the bar yelling at Paul he was a long haired young guy,Paul walked away and just shrugged his shoulders and sat outside with couple other guys while the staff member was still yelling,not good to see,the massuers were very good nice smiling friendly except 1,as i said there is many staff there and there all great except 3 but it only takes 1 to make the place seem not nice those 3 staff really need to be replaced looks like they are not happy with there jobs,happy staff like most of them show that when they are speaking and dealing with quest,but those 3 staff i wish i knew there names should not be allowed to give the Aquarius a bad rep when all the others are so good,the Jacuzzi suite just needs a few small problems fixed firstly NEW pillows,better Mattress,microwave,also we went up to the roof twice is good for sunbathing but alot of the umbrellas are ripped or need of repair and know we understand about what guys are saying about the whirl pool up there it has green moss in it which cannot be removed so that is what the green is, it is not the water,they do change the water everyday but the Jacuzzi or whirlpool needs to be replaced because of the green alge or moss which does contain spurs and can be a health concern,the other concern is we booked 6 tours with the front desk and canceled 2 because we found we could get the same tours at much cheaper prices could have saved 10 of thousands of baht had we known earlier please check street vendors or go online to the tour companies as they will give lower prices than what is advertised in the brouchers,i am worried of giving this review because have notice if there is any negative feed back from guys that do point out some problems from Paul there is standard reply of ( most of our quest are returning guest and we have had the trip advisor 2016 award or that you stayed in our cheaper smaller rooms) instead of saying like most places do thank you for your comments we will address your concerns,and we will look at improving those things mentioned that is the type of response most places give when guest have suggestions or problems with there stay,we would stay here again,we like the Aquarius guest house ,it is only 15 minutes walk to the beach,just change those filthy pillows i have taken pictures of them and please get rid of those rock hard mattress in the suites,and a microwave in the kitchenette would be helpful and have the black out curtains fixed so no light comes from the sides or below and above the curtains ,also fix the attitude of those 3 staff members,i am gay i support all gay business i like to see the Aquarius be even better than what it is

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Owner at Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Wayne,

although I understand that overall you were satisfied with your stay, we would like to apologize for the details you were not 100% satisfied about.
Most details you mention are related to the cleaning department and I have to admit we indeed had some problems with this unit. Unfortunately we had a lot of comings and goings among our cleaning staff due to to family problems, pregnancy and others.
In total we had to hire 8 new cleaning staff over the past six months, 4 of them just before your arrival. I think you will understand there is a lot of training and explaining needed before new staff members have reached the high level of cleanliness we used to have and which has always been high on our priority list. Nevertheless, since your stay 1 1/2 month ago things have improved a lot and be assured we will continue working on the matterwith training and supervising. The curtains for example were already fixed even before you wrote your review.

As for the choice of mattresses, this is a very personal matter. Most guests like the hard bedding, but some don't. For example, we just got a complaint from another guest that the spring mattresses you personally like, were to soft for him. If you would have mentioned this problem while your stay, we would have been happy to change your mattress with another king size spring one, which we have in stock.
Be assured we keep on working on all things mentioned, but too much to comment all.

Hoping to see you both back in the near future,
Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews