We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lizards and more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #157 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We booked the Club Bamboo in Phuket for 3 nights over the 2011 New Year period based on the descriptions, reviews, and the nice bungalows from the online pictures. We were forced to pay for an extra bed (extra $30/night) for my 10 year old son even if we didn’t really need it.
We requested taxi service from the hotel (600 Baht) and this worked quite nicely (waiting for us when we arrived and cheaper than a generic taxi), my son felt car-sick in the taxi and the driver was extra nice with him.
When we got to our bungalow we found out unpleasant surprises: in the patio outside the bungalow there were two old and dirty plastic chairs and a strong stench of sewage. Inside the bungalow there was fortunately not stench but most of the decorations were broken or chipped; the floor had a broken wooden plank covered with some type of wood-like mask tape; under the sink and on top of furniture there was plenty of dirt and dust; air conditioning was in the bedroom only and not in the bathroom; the stone wall panels on the side of the bathroom were covered with lizard droppings; the bath tub was spotted with rust and incrostations; an additional foldable bed was in the bedroom but no additional towels.
We had company in the bedroom: a small gecko. My wife called reception and they sent a guy armed of rubber bands. He took him a good 30 minutes but eventually killed the gecko.
When we were ready to go to sleep we found out that the extra bed has not been prepared properly: there was one linen to cover the mattress (with holes) but no linen between that and the blanket. I went to the reception explaining the situation and asking for an additional linen. Instead of apologizing and getting the linen the receptionist told me that there was no house keeping service and I had to wait till tomorrow. I explained that all I was asking was for one linen so that could I properly make my son’s bed. She went to get the linen clearly showing that she was not pleased at all.
The day after they forgot to give us our wake-up call. Fortunately I always set up an extra alarm on my phone else we will have missed our excursion.
Walking from the hotel to restaurants is not far but it is not an easy walk as you have to cross mayor intersections with no clear pedestrian crossing.
There were many other issues and unpleasant things with this hotel and we were very happy when we finally headed back to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 242 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed (5 people) at the villa Anantharara, about 200m uphill from the hotel. Location is nice, about 3min walk down to the hotel and 15min to the centre (Jungcaylon). Hotel has also transport service to the beach road and back witch is great if you don't want to walk. They also give a ride up to the villa or down free if their car is available.

During our stay there were a few broblems. First of all one extra bed was missing from the villa for the firs two nights but it was arranged. For the night we arrived to Club Baboo the villa had no wather at all so we had to stay in a hotel room (witch was quite nice). After that toilets weren't working occasionally and water temperature in shower didn't stay even. There were also a majure clorine problem...

Staff was very helpfull and tried their best to solve every problem we had and I think they succeeded very nicely. We also got a compensation because of the clorine problem.

Despite of the little problems we had our holiday was great and I wouldn't change a thing! We really enjoyed our private pool at the villa and I think I won't stay in hotel after this experience :) The villa itself needs a little repairment and after that it is even lovelier place to stay. I would recommend Club Bamboo and their villa to all.

Thank you very much to all in Club Bamboo for making our stay at your villa the best it could be! See you when I come back to Thailand! Happy new year!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Very good hotel. Staff is very impressive, nice pool. Free shuttle. We enjoyed the food at the restaurant. It's really a good value for money. Will come back next year to this hotel again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I have been staying at the Club Bamboo Hotel and ? My first night in my hotel room while in the shower the whole power to the room went off, pitch dark stood in the shower with soap all over. Slipped and fell trying to get out in dark.
Second night shower pipework bursts....
Moved finally to another room only to find large door window latch open to the world, fixed to close, with large gap that allows biting bugs in.
Then ceiling hatch that (I tell no lie have pictures to share) allows a sticky mice catch substance through in large amounts.
Reception staff that smile however, sadly knowing very little English language what so ever, proving embarrising and confusing to say the least, and very difficult to communicate one's needs.
I would like to say you get what you pay for, but there are cheaper and better in Phuket. Looks like a nice place once, just lacks TLC and proper investment.

Room Tip: Look around before you book. There are better and cheaper hotels around that offer much better accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I actually stayed here over two years ago (this site will not let me go beyond a year) so bare in mind things might have changed over the ensuing years.

It was an attractive, quite modern facility back then though (nice lobby, pool, bar), and my standard room was nicely decked out. Everything worked too (with the exception a pipe in the bathroom which dripped a little a created a slightly dank odor).

The area is a little bit of a backwater. (It is on the lower side of a hill but there didn't seem to be any grand views or anything). Not walking distance either so you will need to take either a taxi (if you can swallow with the inflated prices the taxi mafia charge here), hire your own hire bike, or take the free shuttle service Club Bamboo offers four or so times a day.

The price was good though: about 15 percent less than places closer to the main action. Staff were quite friendly (if a little bit amateur) so no complaints there either.

When everything runs smoothly, that is pretty much my bench-march for quality.

Room Tip: Everyone staying there seemed to have hired a moto. There is a hire place close by too, so probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.9 km away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#67 of 331 in Patong
303 reviews
0.3 km away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#156 of 331 in Patong
144 reviews
1.4 km away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#39 of 331 in Patong
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Baan Veerakit
Baan Veerakit
#212 of 331 in Patong
20 reviews
0.0 km away
Sun Hill Hotel
Sun Hill Hotel
#115 of 331 in Patong
183 reviews
0.4 km away
Breezotel
Breezotel
#25 of 331 in Patong
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: Nanai Road 247/1-8 | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#60 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: ₹ 1,046 - ₹ 9,942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Bamboo is a small boutique resort located in the best part of Phuket, Patong Beach. Situated in a jungle garden, on a foothill overlooking Patong Bay, this resort offers the chance to be close to the most lively night life and, at the same time, welcomes you in its quiet oasis of exotic green for an intimate relaxation. At night you can dine at the poolside restaurant and enjoy the fine traditional Thai cuisine hearing crickets and looking at the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Bamboo Boutique Hotel Patong
Hotel Bamboo Boutique
Resort Bamboo Boutique
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing