We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice modern clean hotel - 10 min away from the paradise district”
Review of Amethyst Residence

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Patong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amethyst Residence
Ranked #264 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 12 March 2012

i had a good time here - it´s clean (considering the price group) and nice designed. Of course it´s not the waldorf astoria - and yes - not a quiet as sleeping in the country side - but if you want to be near the heart of the action and still have a good nights sleep it´s very good choise.
The Staff was friendly and smiled. I stayed longer than planed. Would come back and probably will.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZEB_R_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

this is my first review on this site - ever - and I feel obliged to share my experiences with you. We arrived in the middle of the night and our 4 night booking was not ready with an extra bed so they offered me a single room, which was nice. However, the noise was impossible - all of the sounds echo up the stairs - you can hear them opening a garbage bag in the lobby - ridiculous!! I complained to the owner in the morning and he was rude, unkind and said you agreed to the terms when you made the booking - tough, he would not change our booking at all despite bragging that they have people off the street coming in and looking for rooms all the time - so what was the problem? So, we made the most of it despite the basic musky accomodations (the shower is not separated and the toilet and shower are right next to eachother - dirty!) anyways - the noise continued throughout our stay and we had restless nights. We asked how much a local call was to book an excursion and we were quoted 5x more by the staff than the cost that was on the back of our door in the room - unbelievable. good thing a local on the street let us use his mobile, for free! the staff barely speak english, and as we found out later, when we checked out they are thiefs!!! we realized that my friends GHD, estee launder face cream and deodorant were missing - SHOCKING!!!! shame we were 4/5 hours away....not like they'd believe us anyways! STAY FAR AWAY from this hotel, it ruined our trip!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondie7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djgap, Owner at Amethyst Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

First of all, this response applies to both this review and the one directly below this one titled "Ruined our trip" as this was a party of 5 persons travelling together and booked 2 rooms under the same booking. When they made the booking, it was made for 4 persons, not 5. They asked for an extra bed in the comments field but did not select the extra bed option through the booking system because there was none available as we were fully booked. We did have one small single room available for the night and offered that at no extra cost to them. The booking site they used has clearly stated canccellation/refund policies which do not allow for any refund, especially after already checking in. The comments about the noise are ridiculous as the 2 rooms they used were on the 5th floor (top floor of the hotel). The one person I spoke to became very rude and refused to accept our enforcement of the cancellation policy they agreed to when they made the booking. My point to the guest was, that as we were fully booked at that time (they checked in December 26) we had already turned away other guests looking for rooms but had no guarantee that other guests would come looking for rooms if we granted them a refund. The guest is obviously not accustomed to staying in budget hotels in asia as a 'wet' bathroom with open shower, toilet and sink is the norm here, and the bathrooms are not dirty, they are cleaned very well each day. Most of our staff communicate very well in English, particularly the front desk staff - something I insist on when selecting staff for those positions. I am not aware of the phone call issue - I'm sure if it was pointed out to the staff what was posted in the room, that it would have been rectified. The accusation about staff stealing some cosmetics is outrageous. Firstly, the rooms are cleaned during the morning and early afternoon when the guests have gone out for the day - so the guest is claiming that the disappearance of some cosmetics was not noticed when they returned in the late afternoon or evening, or when packing up in the morning, but only when they were 4-5 hours away?? Secondly, our 2 housekeeping staff who have been with us since we opened 2 years ago, do a fantastic job and have never had any previous suggestion of this type of situation. I would suggest as the group checked out early in the morning, that they overlooked packing something and left it behind, as is often the case - in this one, the staff don't recall this particular one as it is now more than 2 months ago and they were cleaning 40 rooms every day at that time. Yes our rooms are simple, but very clean, comfortable and inexpensive. People who book 2-3 star hotels should not expect 5-star accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Simple rooms, terrible service and poor management!! loud, sound echos all the way up the stairs and the staff tried to charge us 5x more for a local call than the advertised costs on the back of the room doors, glad the locals let us use their mobile (for free!) spoke to manager about getting a refund and he sneared at us and said too bad. noticed that they helped themselves to my friend's ghd's, estee launder skin cream and deodorant - shocking! shame we noticed when we were 4 hours away, in paradise. worst hotel experience in our lives - do not stay here.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzy_vancity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed 3 nights at the Amethyst Residence. I had the cheapest room available and it was fine. You get what you pay for for sure. The room had a musty smell but probably due to the fact it was windowless. It was clean and the air conditioned worked well, which was important. The hotel has cable and it was nice to have a full selection of channels to watch at the end of the day. It was easy walking distance to all the attractions and because it is located down a side street it was also a quiet location. A couple of items that I would like to see changed are extra locks on the door once you are in the room and a safe that is in the room as well. There are safety deposit boxes in the lobby, but I would prefer to have them located in the rooms. Overall it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank detroit_wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I would have many good things to say about this property from nice quiet location but near the hype of patong, lovely clean rooms with comfortable beds and bath facilities. One prominent displeasure we had was the many mosquitoes in the lobby area which fed on us whenever we were at the lobby checking safe boxes or talking to the receptionists. But we believe this may be seasonal. Also Thailand is the land of the smiles and perhaps the helpful reception staff can offer us the same smiles they gave to fellow Caucasian guests, this would definitely make us feel more welcomed. However all in all a great place to stay and we will recommend this place for those seeking economical yet quality accommodation in Patong.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 km away
FunDee Boutique Hotel
FunDee Boutique Hotel
#128 of 329 in Patong
387 reviews
0.4 km away
Patong Voyage Place
Patong Voyage Place
#134 of 329 in Patong
53 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#94 of 329 in Patong
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Mirage
Mirage
#152 of 329 in Patong
161 reviews
0.2 km away
The AIM Patong Hotel
The AIM Patong Hotel
#206 of 329 in Patong
113 reviews
0.1 km away
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
Baramee Hip Hotel Patong
#272 of 329 in Patong
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Residence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Residence

Address: 198/3-4 Phung Muang Sai Gor Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Price Range: ₹ 1,951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in a brand new area of development in Patong Beach, close to all the attractions is the Amethyst Residence, waiting to provide you with the best in comfort and customer service. The Amethyst Residence is a brand new boutique residence in the centre of activity in Patong Beach, offering the best in accommodation and service to those from all nationalities and walks of life. We are Canadian and Thai owned business and our staff are courteous, professional and fluent in both Thai and English and limited ability to converse in some other languages as well. You can be sure your stay at The Amethyst will be a pleasure and one to remember forever.The Amethyst Residence is only minutes walking distance to many of Patong Beach's most popular attractions:Jungceylon shopping center - 4 minutesBangla Road - 5 minutesBeach - 8-10 minutesParadise complex - 8 minutesThai Boxing Stadium - 3 minutes ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amethyst Residence Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing