We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting place and ignorant staff”
Review of WAI thai

WAI thai
Ranked #95 of 549 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
limerick
Level Contributor
134 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Disgusting place and ignorant staff”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This place is one of the worst we have ever been to! Theres way nicer places on the beach just nearby!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anilchavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    73
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Value for Thai Food on the Beach”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The cocktails and wine are good and are the lowest prices for a restaurant on the beach. Its not really a restaurant like Savoys, but more like a beach cafe. The owner is ALWAYS there and he keeps up the standards. Grab a table right on the beach and watch the sunset while sipping on a mojito or a full-to-the-brim glass of wine.

relaxing atmosphere in the early evening - until the 'momma's' let out the street kids who come right up to the table to sell you a bauble. ...so sad!

Our favorites: green mango w/shrimp salad, oh so good! We tried most of their soups and all are good. Our favorite is the green curry chicken. Our kids loved the Pad Thai - plenty of shrimp.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TSpouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing”
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

Had dinner and drinks but the food was not wonderful

Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was the only place we ate at in Patong Beach so I can compared how Wai fared with the others. But I can say it is value for your money.
I specifically searched for this resto beforehand. In the map, it's at the end of Sawatdirak St, near the beach. It's not hard to find once you are in the junction of Sawatdirak and Thaweewong rd. and you follow the street to wards the beach and turn right. at the farthest end is Wai Seafood.
The servers were quick to give us the menu and take our orders. Thinking it would take a while for the food to come, I let children play at the beach, but lo and behold in a few minutes came our orders...the food was good. The only thing not so nice was the steamed fish, seemed like a steamed tilapia that wasnt cleaned very well, it tasted muddy. But the rest of the food was good and the mango shake was refreshing.
We ate just before lunchtime and there werent that many people yet, but there were a bunch of flies :(

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xtne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great great”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

not much to say ...great food ,great location good wine great cocktails

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johancapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WAI thai also viewed

 

Been to WAI thai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing