We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely end to our Thailand holiday”
Review of The Bliss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bliss
Ranked #52 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely end to our Thailand holiday”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent our final night at The Bliss after a two week holiday around Thailand and it was fantastic. After reading some previous reviews I was quite worried as I had booked a cheap room in the old wing however I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We got a minibus from the Phuket ferry terminal which was quite an adventure but for such a cheap price it was air conditioned and comfortable so worth the ride. We arrived at The Bliss and the staff rushed outside to grab our bags with huge smiles on their faces and we received the nicest reception of the whole trip. The staff were so lovely, we were given our room very quickly and our bags carried up to the room. We were on the second floor of the old wing but the room was clean, had a lovely view of the beach and pool (although the power lines were also in the view) and the bed was comfy, mini bar very reasonably priced and plenty of space to spread out after all of our shopping. Air con worked well and we had a small balcony to relax on as well. The shower was my only complaint of the resort, it had a mind of it's own!! Otherwise the room seemed lovely, it had a beachside feel to it and was very clean. It is a fantastic location, across the road from Patong beach but a fairly quiet area and shopping and restaurants were only a 5 minute walk away. We did loads of shopping until a huge storm came along but afterwards we relaxed in the room with a great view of all the lightning. The breakfast was good although we got there a bit late and there were loads of people so it took a while to make toast etc. We swam at the beach but didn't like the crowds so returned to the pool at the bottom and it was lovely and refreshing and barely anyone used it all day. We also ate at the restaurant downstairs and the food was great. All up this was a fantastic end to an amazing holiday and if we were to return to Phuket I would definitely stay here again, loved the Bliss.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old wing were great so I can only imagine what the new wing looks like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyF17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    177
    79
    42
    24
See reviews for
65
252
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Patong Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel was quite nice and a good value compared to other hotels in the area. We stayed in a suite on the fourth floor and were quite pleased. Breakfast was very good; service was second to none. The only thing I would say is that there was a language barrier at times; some staff had difficulty with English and the room cleaning times were never consistent which made it difficult at times to plan your day. Overall a very good experience. Staff was very helpful in planning activities and getting better deals.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights at The Bliss with another couple. The reception we received from the front desk staff and the door staff who couldn't do enough to help us. We felt very welcomed indeed. From the moment the door was opened to our suite and we were shown around to the time we left to return home The Bliss really was Bliss. It is located easy walking distance from the busy market area of Patong and had plenty of shopping just around the corner. The sparkling pool in the new wing was an oasis, nice and quiet, not busy or full of children. The internet access was quick and worked poolside too! The most amazing part is the bathroom, floor to ceiling windows and jacuzzi. Plenty of power points too to charge laptops, phones and ipods.

Room Tip: Choose a 4th floor suite in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalong, Thailand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Well situated at the southern (quiet) end of Patong. The second floor Superior Suite was well appointed, if already looking a wee bit tired. However, the bed was superbly comfortable and the two-person jacuzzi quite splendid. Irritations - too many separate lightswitches, room service dishes still sitting outside my room many hours after room cleaning (not nice!) and road noise due to inferior glazing. Otherwise, very pleasant!

Room Tip: I wasn't bothered about a view, but if you are, go for the top floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69ingBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The Bliss Is quite literally 2 hotels going under the same name since he new 'wing' was built after the tsunami and the old one...well, thats the old one. There is no comparison between the old and new, they are way too different, two different worlds! I stayed in the new wing - the Suites - which even has its own private, sizeable, and very quiet pool area. An oasis to take a nap or just ease back, not bothered by noise.

Approching the suite on 4th floor, it was clear that this was not another one of those shabby, old and worn mediocre hotel rooms. It oozes quality and immediately expectations went up. Entering the 90 sqm suite, there is a huge marble floored living room with a workdesk to the right, sofagroup for tv-watching next to it, and kitchen to the left. The workdesk with lots of sockets to connect the computer and other gear is very welcome and there is even a footrest under it. However, when they DID put thought into creating a work environment, then why not put in a office chair on wheels and a desk where the drawers are spaced far enough from eachother, making it easier to get in and out without banging your knees and thighs against them. But all in all thumbs up for this livingroom with kitchen.

To the bedroom and bathroom. This is a little more thought out than in many other hotels. There is a door betweeen the living room and bedroom/bathroom....thank you very much for thinking about the couples where one might want to watch tv/sit by computer while the other one wants to sleep. No problem with 2 rooms. Very good!

The huge bathroom is to the right and bedroom to the left and a big balcony with 2 sunbeds and table outside the bedroom, perfectly overlooking Patong beach.

Bathroom has a very spacious shower section from which you can step into the 2-people-side-by-side BIG jacuzzi. There is glass window from top to bottom in the entire bathroom, with frosted glass in the middle so outsiders cant see your private parts when showering. Standing there, you can get the view and relaxing in the jacuzzi (low) is the same.This is one of the more luxurious bathrooms I have seen and I cant think of a couple who will not find it very appealing. One stupid thing, and the only stupid thing in there, is that there is a pissoir mounted on the wall (!!?) and its even got one those 'scent balls' in it. Why does my bathroom have to smell like a disgusting bar -or discotoilet and who would ever use a pissoir inside a hotelroom. Out the balls went and smell disappeared. The bathroom, like the entire suite btw, was cleaned to a T and walking barefoot made every step squeak. It was very clean indeed!!

Bed was big and comfortable and a big tv in here also. Big makeup environment beside the bed. Again glass from top to bottom and the view of the sea is superb. Sitting on the balcony in the morning, with coffee and newspaper makes you feel at home.

The big comfy bed, the balcony and spaciousness of the luxurious bathroom and not least the livingroom make up for a very very relaxing and pleasant stay.

Then why do I give it 4 stars and not 5 ?? Well, I am giving it 4½ but because there are some issues which, had they not been there, it would definitely be a 5..
For the entire suite, there are 19, nineteen light switches! It takes a push on 4 switches to light up the living room alone and by the bed, on each side, there are several switches that turn on light with no logic pattern at all. I must have pressed 4x as many switches as I would normally have to, during my stay and mostly from hitting the wrong ones. How stupid is that and why is it so hard to put in a main for each room with a dimmer so you hit one switch and voila.

The glass window wall with the sliding door to the balcony, is made of the usual thin glass seen everywhere and even when completely shut, there is considerable noise from cars, trucks and even jetskis at the beach. It would take only double layer glass windows to block out the sound for an even better nights sleep (which wasnt interrupted in any way).

In the livingroom, the sofa for watching tv is so lousy its embarrassing and shame to the management for this! Like a board without any hint of comfort anywhere and there is no way you want to sit there with your beer and watch the ballgame or movie. Would cost little to put in some nice seating.

TV channels are a discrace on top of the sofa. For a caucasian european/american there is about 0 channels of interest. No CNN, International sports shown nowhere, no news channels apart from BBC, no movies. Its just stupid since, like all other hotels, they accommodate TOURISTS and should hence have dialed in on their needs. This is probably the worst selection of tv channels I have yet seen. Shame on you, Bliss.

The staff was very friendly and helpful but I didnt use any services and didnt eat there.

Nitpicking some will say but a 5 star is given when everything comes together.
Now, one can certainly live without tv on a vacation, not use the pissoir (and remove the balls), press 50 light switches a day, still get a very good nights sleep and I must say that I was very satisfied staying here. The suite makes you feel welcome, you want to use the balcony and bathroom and want to sleep in the bed. Definitely one of the better stays and I would not hesitate to go here again.

TIP:
The ground floor suites have HUGE private (jacuzzi) pools but not much view.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchStantonTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 km away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#12 of 322 in Patong
1,608 reviews
1.3 km away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
1.2 km away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#38 of 322 in Patong
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.5 km away
Baan Laimai Beach Resort
0.5 km away
The Royal Palm Beach Front
The Royal Palm Beach Front
#113 of 322 in Patong
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bliss? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bliss

Property: The Bliss
Address: 40 Thaveewong Rd | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,454 - ₹ 8,332
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bliss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bliss is a heavenly resort at the tranquil southern end of Patong Bay, a place where you can truly relax and feel at home with genuine warm hospitality and luxury facilities. Meander down the beachfront road to the centre of Patong Beach and enjoy the vibrant atmosphere this exciting city is famous for. Relax under the shade of a parasol on the white sands, shop till you drop at Jungceylon Shopping Mall and dance the night away at Bangla Road nightlife district, all just a hop, skip and a jump from the resort. The Standard Wing offers 41 contemporary design rooms with private balconies to enjoy the wonderful views over Patong Bay and the Andaman Sea. The stylish Superior and Deluxe rooms are available with king-size or twin beds and are complete with full range of modern amenities including satellite television, mini-bar and rejuvenating hot water rain showers. The upper floor rooms feature a luxurious bathtub and prime sea views. There are 38 spacious sea view suites at The Bliss offering guests supreme comfort and style with special features included for added indulgence. Step from your private balcony to the plunge pool while staying in the ground floor Pool Suite and luxuriate in the large Jacuzzi for two in the Superior and Deluxe Suites. All suites include a separate living area and bedroom, full in-room amenities and wonderful sweeping views over Patong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bliss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bliss Hotel Patong
The Bliss Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing