We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel but the room was not cleaned well enough.”
Review of The Album Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Album Hotel
Ranked #83 of 412 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, paying 2500 baht per night. Initial impressions were good but a couple of things let the place down. Firstly, upon getting to our room, I discovered that the wall next to the bed had boogers stuck all over it! If thats not bad enough, I then discovered that the previous occupant had left a bloody band-aid stuck to the bedside table.
Then, on our second night we were woken up by 2 drunk women singing in the lobby (may as well have been outside our door) at 5am. This carried on until 7.30am even though the lobby is staffed 24 hours a day. Why werent they stopped? Yea I couldve complained but I shouldnt have to!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 111 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

I'm a firm believer that expectation will govern result, so with the Album I wasn't expecting anything more than I paid (which wasn't much). I definitely wasn't expecting to arrive and be told the room I had booked (and paid for) wasn't available and they wanted to put me in a room with 2 single beds pushed together. I know this is common practice in Europe, but seriously who wants to sleep in a bed with a big ridge down the centre? So my stay at the Album was not off to a good start.

For the price the room was adequate, clean and close to the beach. Staff helpful and beach towels on request. Breakfast is basic and included in the room price.

Overall I would say the Album has an upmarket backpackers feel. Simple, adequate and cheap and there hadn't been an issue with my room I would have no complaints.



  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaujae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I was living in Phuket for 3 months at Tiger Muay Thai (on the other side of the island) and I decided to get away for the weekend to Patong. Many of the hotels in Patong are VERY expensive, so I was pleased to find the Album Hotel. I was skeptical because of the price, but was pleasantly surprised to find a very clean, comfortable room with GREAT location to the sites. It is definitely walking distance to the Beach, Jungceylon Shopping Center and Bangla Road as well as a number of restaurants and other attractions.

My room was very simple with just two beds and a television, but I had access to their DVD collection, and a comfy robe, which was a nice touch. As with most places in Phuket, they had free wireless internet.The staff were very friendly and offered me a beverage upon my arrival for check-in. The continental breakfast the next morning was very nice as well with fresh fruit, juice, tea and English muffins. Unfortunately the pool was not available during my stay, but there was plenty to do in the area, that I didn't feel like I was missing much.

Definitely stay here if you are on a budget and don't need alot of frills. Great location.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor, facing away from the main road, and I don't remember much traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

visited Phuket for the tenth time and ended up staying at the Album for three days, mainly because of the price, it is an absolute no frills Hotel, very basic but functional,I went first week of Jan2012 which was peak, but I am sure you can do better for that budget, paying over a $100 for a noisy room wasn't really my idea of a holiday, I would only stay here again if I were desperate

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I really wanted to love this place, as it is "my" kind of hotel. In the end it was good, but not as great as it could be. Plus points are the staff, who are good, even by Thai hospitality standards, and the location, from which just about everything in Patong is walkable.

The decor could be good, but is let down by poor maintenance. I know it was high season when I stayed last week, but I was disappointed particularly by the condition of the pool deck. The plunge pool itself had suffered a filter failure and the water was a bit soupy. The wooden decking on the roof area was breaking up and loose underfoot. A shame, because I was looking forward to enjoying that. The room was OK, but the bathroom was in need of overall maintenance. The shower head nozzles were breaking up. The bathroom itself is cement with a white paint coating, which is a nice idea, except it was peeling off in the shower. Paint was also peeling from the bathroom door. I stayed in room 401, which is one of the "Pops" rooms.

The danger with "minimalist" style, is that if it is not maintained, the impression is that you just haven't bothered to decorate a place. The Album is not a "Budget" hotel, but management needs to pay attention, if it is not to fall back into this category.

Reading this again, it sounds worse than it actually was. I will probably return to Album hotel, because it was overall a good experience. I hope that in the meantime, management has carried out the necessary maintenance.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chidlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 km away
Patong Pearl Resortel
Patong Pearl Resortel
#168 of 331 in Patong
169 reviews
0.5 km away
Thanthip Beach Resort
Thanthip Beach Resort
#151 of 331 in Patong
157 reviews
0.4 km away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#52 of 331 in Patong
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Crib Patong
The Crib Patong
#68 of 331 in Patong
378 reviews
0.3 km away
Aspery Hotel
Aspery Hotel
#92 of 331 in Patong
839 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Planet Phuket Patong
Red Planet Phuket Patong
#36 of 331 in Patong
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Album Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Album Hotel

Address: 29 Sawatdirak Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 412 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: ₹ 1,806 - ₹ 7,935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Album Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Album Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Album Hotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing