We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor food and average staff”
Review of Fern Restaurant

Fern Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 72 Restaurants in Mae Hong Son
Cuisines: Minority Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Thai ,chinese european food
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the resort and expected a good thai restaurant worthy the fame of the resort. Unfortunately the thai food was very poor. Hardly any meat or fish in the dishes. Hardly any flavour. The filling of dishes was mainly union and pieces of galangal or ginger. The staff was present in abundance but not nicely dressed as you would expect in the resort and more busy with eachother than the guests.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Gilbert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2018

Went for a late dinner on Monday night. The restaurant was full of locals and visitors. The staff recommended us some of their traditional dishes, all of which was amazing. It had a relaxing atmosphere with live acoustic music of well-known Thai and western songs. Having just arrived in MHS from the touristy Pai, we were glad we were recommended this restaurant by a local. Authentic dishes and vibes!

Tips: go a bit late in the evening to avoid feeding the mosquitoes

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank missgoldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Nice dining ambiance, clean facilities, prompt service despite slight language barrier, good food, decent price. Worth a stopover at!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank vichyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I was here 10 years ago, and I'm not sure what the critics are complaining about. The atmosphere is great, the food is excellent, and this restaurant is justifiably popular among both Thais and foreigners. As far as I'm concerned this is the place to go to in Mae Hong Son.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank doncoppock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Very welcoming staff and lovely ambience (however beware of sitting outside in the evening unless you want to become a meal yourself.)
However the food was underwhelming and nothing special. Considering the hefty pricetag we expected fine dining and didn't get it. Much better food to be had elsewhere I am sure.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sm0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fern Restaurant also viewed

Mae Hong Son, Mae Hong Son Province
Mae Hong Son, Mae Hong Son Province
 
Mae Hong Son, Mae Hong Son Province
Mae Hong Son, Mae Hong Son Province
 
Mae Hong Son, Mae Hong Son Province
Mae Hong Son, Mae Hong Son Province
 

Been to Fern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing