We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible staff service but manager is worse,” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tonsai Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tonsai Bay Resort
Ranked #92 of 181 Hotels in Krabi Town
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible staff service but manager is worse,”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Tonsai itself is a wonderful location with a real hippy feel. Do note however, it’s predominantly focused towards the climber community who make up over 70% of the visitors at any given time.

Unfortunately, we can’t say the same for Tonsai Bay Resort. While the rooms are actually OK (although overpriced), the staff are to put it politely sub-standard. The owner, or proclaimed owner (a chain smoking Thai man stationed in their Tonsai office) is remarkably aggressive/ rude and made us feel extremely unwelcome during our stay at TBR.

To give some examples, he did not inform us there are two types of room available (one significantly less expensive than the other) – we only noticed this when we viewed the brochure. When we asked to see the room, he aggressively informed us we could not until we’d paid for it and to our amazement stormed off mid conversation – absolutely incredible. This left us feeling angry and disappointed, especially when the Thai people on the whole are so welcoming and trustworthy.

Regrettably, we did stay for the simple reason TBR is the only place on Tonsai with Air Con

Room Tip: Recommendation – either suffer without AC in another hotel or stay on Railay where you will be spoil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JIMN1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    77
    43
    20
    23
See reviews for
20
86
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have to admit I stayed here because the water taxi dropped me off at this end of the beach and I didn't want to walk another step with all my luggage.

The good: the restaurant has decent food and reasonably good service (including a Thai pancake stand...very good!) and is located under a gorgeous cliff that is constantly being traversed, ascended, or descended by monkeys, cliff swallows, and rock climbers. So really you could sit there and enjoy the show and be perfectly happy. Plus, it's on a gorgeous beach with pretty much the same stunning view as Railay. Or, you could go to your bungalow and sit on the spacious porch where it's typically more quiet; the bungalows are far back from the beach and have nice cliff views. A nice young fellow with very little English took my bags to my room, which was greatly appreciated. They have their own boat and can arrange for a private taxi transfer to the airport. You'll pay for the convenience, but since I spent as much time getting to Ton Sai as I actually spent on Ton Sai (promise to stay longer next time!) I went for it.

The bad: The room was tired and smelled very musty despite the hotel's attempts to freshen the air (camphor seems to be the freshener of choice here). Tiles were chipped, the sink had no stopper (bad if you have a thing or two to wash), plastic porch chairs were mildewed, the desk had a cigarette burn, etc. My expectations weren't high as the musty smell is even mentioned in Lonely Planet, but just calling these little details out as the rooms do photograph fairly well. They may not bother you. I'm including photos so you can judge for yourself.

Everything else: The bed was OK. No-AC rooms are a block from the beach. AC rooms are a 5-min walk from the beach, set back in the jungle. Internet is currently 2 baht/minute. I had no problem with party noise at my bungalow, and the AC worked fine. Electricity cut out once but was more reliable than I'd expected...on the level of, say, the USVI.

About Ton Sai - This is rock climber paradise. Lots of Thai Rastas, a hippie/boho vibe, very laid-back and friendly. There are two main "streets" and one of them is actually the beach. There is currently no ATM -- you have to take a taxi boat to Railay for that. Ton Sai is literally off the grid, so any electricity consumed is generated there, mostly by generators. If you want to minimize your impact, look for a place that does solar power -- there are one or two on Ton Sai. As it's off the grid, internet is also expensive and not particularly easy to come by. I had actually intended to stay at Mountain View (my friends did, and loved it...in fact they are still there...it is lovely) which has no AC but which I think does have wi-fi, but didn't hear back from them in time. Keep this general lack of internet in mind when communicating with any of the hotels. Bring bug dope; you will need it.

Room Tip: No-AC rooms are a block from the beach. AC rooms are a 5-min walk from the beach, set back in the ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The bungalows are big and comfortable but the staff and service were terrible. We paid extra for breakfast and during our 8 day stay we were completely ignored every morning and our orders didn't come out right one single time. The staff seamed a lot more intrested in smoking pot and drinking coffee than offering service to the guests. On our first day, the breakfast buffet included toast, fruit and juice, the second day it was just toast and juice and one day it was just juice and coffee. After a couple of days, we understood that you were supposed to make your order from the a la carte menu, which the staff didn't bother to tell us.
The staff in the reseption didn't do anything wrong but was unfriendly and only intrested in getting paid (200 bath extra per night for a babycrib and breakfast for a small child.)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

You would really only visit Tonsai Bay if you are a rockclimber although there are other activities like kayaking and jungle walking. This is the highest quality resort in the bay and it is very expensive for what it is. We stayed in a superior villa (highest level of accomodation) and it was very disappointing. The interiors have not been upgraded for years and it is poorly maintained. The bathroom is very dirty especially the showering area and we did not have hot water at all, it was always luke warm or cold. I wouldn't have minded any of this if I had paid £20 - £25/night but we paid almost £50/night ($70) through Agoda. Breakfast was OK but the whole resort is generally not kept to a high standard and has a slightly "rough" feel. This is fine if the prices are lower to mid level but they are charging "luxury" prices and you are certainly not getting luxury accomodation. The resort owner is not friendly at all and went crazy when we first arrived because we hadn't printed off our Agoda reservation. Every other hotel we stayed in Thailand just wanted to see our passport so they could match the Agoda reservation on their system with our names. This logical solution to the problem hadn't occured to him despite us asking him to cross reference his system with our names. I agree with the other person's review of this hotel and area, West Railay is the best place to stay if you are trying to decide between Tonsai, West Railay or East Railay. Tonsai is fine for a day visit but I wouldn't stay there unless you are rock climbing.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. There are loads of other cheap places in Tonsai but given the choice I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hexamine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Krabi Town hotels

Lodi, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Considering we booked this place on 24 hours notice for half the going rate, we got great value. It is a very mellow hangout for rockclimers. Small but clean beach and far less touristic than Railay Beach....so depending on what you are looking for, this may be a better option. The one true bonus was the food...we didn't expect much for what we paid and everything was fantastic especially the spring rolls!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stempleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.7 km away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.1 km away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 km away
Chill Out Bar & Bungalow
Chill Out Bar & Bungalow
#2 of 4 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Dream Valley Resort
Dream Valley Resort
#115 of 181 in Krabi Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.9 km away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
0.7 km away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#9 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonsai Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonsai Bay Resort

Property: Tonsai Bay Resort
Address: 18 Moo 2 | Tonsai Bay, Next to Railay Bay, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Krabi Town
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Krabi Town
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,637 - ₹ 4,452
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonsai Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TONSAIBAY RESORT is located on beautiful Tonsai Bay beside Railay beach, Krabi. Our resort is set in the lush greenery geography with peaceful atmosphere and the world wide well known rock climbing cliff on the backdrop. It takes just two minutes walk away from Tonsai Beach, a swath of white sand that fringes the crystal clear water of Andaman Sea, to get to our beautifully appointed guestrooms which have been designed with the comfort and relaxation in mind. We offer 72 air conditioned rooms including Deluxe Villa, Superior Villa Deluxe room and Superior Room which open on to the rain-forest jungle while having the stunning of rock climbing cliff on the backdrop. Our resort's restaurant reside on the beach front of Tonsai bay offers various tasty both International and Thai food. Here you could enjoy the delicious cuisine while getting a pleasure from fabulous scenery of the ocean or watch rock climbing activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tonsai Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonsai Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Tonsai Bay Resort Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing