We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of best in Khon Kaen”
Review of Glacier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glacier Hotel
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Khon Kaen
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of best in Khon Kaen”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel two times and was happy with each stay.

They offer free shuttle from and to airport. The hotel is about a 20 minute ride from the airport.

The hotel is new and well kept. The rooms are average size and offer plenty of room to move around easily. The bathroom includes a shower and a tub and the water gets very hot with good pressure. The air conditioning was quiet and very good. The thermostat is a bit tricky to change the temp, but once you figure it out, there are no problems.

The beds are a Western style and one of the most comfortable I have slept in throughout Thailand. The flat screen TV had a good selection of channels speaking in Thai and English.

The included free wifi was exceptional. Very reliable and plenty of speed.

Staff was always friendly and attentive. Some spoke English better than others, but I never had a problem communicating in English.

The pool is very small and located next to the restaurant. So if you choose to swim, you will be on display to the other diners.

Breakfast was good. My only complaint was that it was always warm at best. But the selection was very good with a mix of Thai and Western food that varied slightly each day. Usually you would find fruit juice, coffee, soup, salad, fruit, sausage (ie hot dogs), eggs, seasoned potatoes, noodles, rice, ham and baked tomatoes on toast point. They made omlettes to order and those were always very good and hot.

Right in front of the hotel are coin operated washing machines if you should need to wash any of your clothes.

Parking at the hotel has limited space, but a few meters down the road is additional parking where someone watches the lot.

Room included a kettle for boiling water for instant coffee or brewed tea.

I was able to check-out and leave my luggage with the front desk while I spent the day in the city before returning to hotel that evening to ride the shuttle to the airport.

The location is near most of the city center attractions such as Central Plaza, Tukcom mall, the night market, Fairy Plaza and the train station.

Room Tip: As for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid the loud music from the clubs at the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJConan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    60
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
39
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

These are very nice rooms centrally located to the entertainment sector of Khon Kaen. We got a promotion rate, otherwise, we would not have stayed here. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Hotel is very clean and the rooms have flat screen TV, A/C and a nicely decorated bathroom. The staff are polite and very helpful. Taxi from airport to hotel cost 200Baht. Swimming pool and restaurant can be found on the second floor. Laundry service is approx 250Baht per bag. Cloths come back ironed and scented with coat hangers. At 1,550baht per night I strongly recommend this top quality hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I have stayed in this hotel with my family and can say that every single THB i paid is worth it. Good service, convenient location, boutiqe design and the biggest bed i've ever seen. Would definately come back next time. Hope they will have rooms available :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homelessadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a night last 2 weeks. I booked 2 superior rooms from Agoda.com because of a new and modern look of a hotel. But once I entered the hotel, it's very small hotel, busy lobby and limited parking.

The room was clean enough with one sofa at a wall, a bit funny since they should put a set or something. The worse part is the air-con, it's very noisy and hot. I called up the operator, she said this is a normal sound (like a boat) and they set as 26 c. End up my mother has to switch off the air-con and open a window to sleep because it's very noisy and hot. The outside weather was around 15c in the night during Dec. I don't know why they have to set the air con at 26. No matter what u set, it will come back at 26. And it have to activate from the operator. We checked in to our room for 15 mins and attempt to call them 2 times before the air con is work.

Another bad part is a bathroom, the shower section was partial closed so no matter how you shower, all the water will come out. And the lowest part in the bathroom is in from of the door so the bathroom was flooded and the water couldn't drain out. I traveled with a toddler. It's very dangerous to let's she go inside a bathroom by herself. The hotel try to make a romantic mood by put a curtain to cover the bathroom glass door. But the big mistake is the curtain is outside so the person in the bathroom couldn't control how the other can see them. I travel a lot and stay at so many 4-5 stars hotels in the region, a few hotel will put a glass wall on like this but they will put a curtain inside. Imagine if u travel with a friend, how u gonna feel if your friend can see u from outside without a peek.

The swimming is small and dirty. Breakfast is limited and to my surprise, no sausage !!!

Good part is a very fast, free and easy to access Wi-Fi and all a staff are friendly.

If you add up another few hundred bath, you better go to stay at a neighbor Pullman hotel, much better in every way.

Room Tip: Better to avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khon Kaen hotels
2.1 km away
AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre
0.2 km away
Pullman Khon Kaen Raja Orchid
0.3 km away
Kosa Hotel
Kosa Hotel
#4 of 64 in Khon Kaen
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Charoen Thani Khon Kaen
Charoen Thani Khon Kaen
#5 of 64 in Khon Kaen
151 reviews
1.8 km away
The Terminal Hotel
The Terminal Hotel
#8 of 64 in Khon Kaen
22 reviews
1.2 km away
Piman Garden Hotel
Piman Garden Hotel
#11 of 64 in Khon Kaen
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Hotel

Property: Glacier Hotel
Address: 141 Prachasamran Rd. | Nai Muang, Khon Kaen 40000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Khon Kaen Province > Khon Kaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Khon Kaen
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,802 - ₹ 4,055
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glacier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glacier Hotel Khon Kaen "The Elegant Cool Hotel" Seventy-two stylish and spacious rooms are designed using different living styles for comfort and convenience. Each room has its unique theme so that no matter how often you come back to us, you shall always experience something new. Our multi-lingual professional staffs will attend you to your every need and make you feel right at home. If you're looking for thorough relax, relieving the tensions of travel and business then the shimmering in Khonkaen, you will enjoy the Glacier Hotel Khon Kaen and feel your “ Touch of Difference”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing