We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reason enough to visit the area, it's a marvelous retreat on the River!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oriental Kwai Resort
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Reason enough to visit the area, it's a marvelous retreat on the River!”
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Thanks to tripadvisor, we made it to Kanchanburi - primarily because the reviews of Oriental Kwai were so inviting, and we wanted to experience it. And it was well worth the detour. We spent just 3 nites here, and though out of town a bit, after a grueling day of travel from Bangkok, it was great to arrive in this calm, serene oasis on the River Kwai. We relaxed and swam, ate at the Inn where the food was great and reasonably priced, took a day trip to see the sights, and visited the local massage "temple" that Evelyn had recommended. The individual bungalows were lovely, decorated simply but with attention to detail; The resort is relatively new. Every detail had been taken care of by owners Evelyn and Joe, and we appreciated it all. We'll be back when we visit Thailand next!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSS949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    45
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
329
357
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My wife and I spent 5 days here and it was the perfect break. I've not felt so relaxed in a long time, dining on simple but excellent dishes, overlooking the River Kwai. The chefs specialities are creative and very good.

The pool is small but great - a deep end and wading area and a kids paddling area. The chalets are spread out across the property so there is privacy and no noise. Everything is manicured by the groundstaff and cleaners every day.

There are a number of local tours to choose from (provided by local companies) so you don't need to do any planning if you don't want to - just turn up and your life is made easy.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacket99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We found the Oriental Kwai online and liked the look of it right away. We were going to be in Thailand for a conference, and were looking for a place to celebrate our anniversary once the conference was over. We like 'hidden gems' and this is one for sure. We wanted a unique, smaller place where we could relax but also have fun things to do in the area. We weren't disappointed. From the casual elegance of the decor to the cleanliness of everything to the smiling and helpful staff to the friendly family dogs who visited us every morning while we sat drinking coffee on the veranda overlooking the River Kwai...this was the perfect place for us. Their restaurant food is really good (be sure to try thai roti with tuna/cashews and the papaya salad). The couple who own it are part of what makes it such a great place. Took a canoe trip down the Kwai, visited the Hellfire Pass memorial, rode elephants, and had an incredible four and a half hours at a nearby spa for an unbelievable price (can't remember the name of it, but believe me, it was great - it's noted on their website). Would love to go back if we ever make it to Thailand again. There's more to do in the area than we had time for. Highly recommend this to anyone who cares to ask. If at all possible, ask for the #1 cottage with the river view.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanandLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I won't repeat everything said below, but we had a wonderful time at the Oriental Kwai. Stayed with our two boys, 11 and 13. Great location on the river; had two separate bungalows, which are very tastefully decorated and spacious. Breakfasts were very nice, plenty of variety and quantity. Really helpful advice and making arrangements for trips, particularly when you don't want to go on organised excursions. Nice, clean pool. Restaurant is nice but food less spicy and more expensive than in town. We rented bikes and cycled around the countryside for a morning (following their well mapped route), culminating in a fantastic pad thai at a totally non-english speaking restaurant on the river! Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ringofriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed here in April for 2 days and i honestly wish it had been longer. We arrived and were greeted by Joe with a drink! He showed us to the terrace which overlooked the River Kwai and was fantastic to see. We then were taken to our cottage and this can only be described as amazing! The cottage was very spacious and decor was exactly what you would want for a relaxing stay. We had our meals on the terrace, the food was lovely and the service was very good. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and on a night were lit up which added to the atmosphere. This hotel really is worth the visit and we will definitely be returning again and the stay will be longer!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtleiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
9.8 km away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
8.7 km away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
9.7 km away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
11.3 km away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
4.8 km away
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
#3 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Kwai Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Kwai Resort

Property: Oriental Kwai Resort
Address: 194/5 Moo 1 | Ladya Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,111 - ₹ 4,860
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and peaceful resort at the famous River Kwai, centrally located at only 15 min. drive from Kanchanaburi downtown and on the way to sights as Erawan waterfalls, Elephants world & Hellfire pass. The 12 cottages are spread throughout a teak forest and beautiful tropical garden. The cottages have all facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible and are designed in a warm Thai style. The resort has a cozy restaurant on site that overlooks the River Kwai and in the garden you'll find a lovely swimming pool. Tour, local taxi and transfer service available. Massage facility available at Jay's Spa and free fitness room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oriental Kwai Hotel Kanchanaburi
Hotel Oriental Kwai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing