We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oriental Kwai Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xanadu 2008(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Luxury Hotel(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
R.S. Hotel(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kan(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (927)
Filter reviews
927 results
Traveller rating
874
46
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
874
46
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesfamily cottagedutch coupleowners and staffthe riverlong tail boathellfire passrotiday triperawan fallsstayed longerbanana pancakeslovely poolthree nightsbangkok airportkanchanaburi areaaway from the hustle and bustle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 927 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My wife and I spent 5 days here and it was the perfect break. I've not felt so relaxed in a long time, dining on simple but excellent dishes, overlooking the River Kwai. The chefs specialities are creative and very good.

The pool is small but great - a deep end and wading area and a kids paddling area. The chalets are spread out across the property so there is privacy and no noise. Everything is manicured by the groundstaff and cleaners every day.

There are a number of local tours to choose from (provided by local companies) so you don't need to do any planning if you don't want to - just turn up and your life is made easy.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacket99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We found the Oriental Kwai online and liked the look of it right away. We were going to be in Thailand for a conference, and were looking for a place to celebrate our anniversary once the conference was over. We like 'hidden gems' and this is one for sure. We wanted a unique, smaller place where we could relax but also have fun things to do in the area. We weren't disappointed. From the casual elegance of the decor to the cleanliness of everything to the smiling and helpful staff to the friendly family dogs who visited us every morning while we sat drinking coffee on the veranda overlooking the River Kwai...this was the perfect place for us. Their restaurant food is really good (be sure to try thai roti with tuna/cashews and the papaya salad). The couple who own it are part of what makes it such a great place. Took a canoe trip down the Kwai, visited the Hellfire Pass memorial, rode elephants, and had an incredible four and a half hours at a nearby spa for an unbelievable price (can't remember the name of it, but believe me, it was great - it's noted on their website). Would love to go back if we ever make it to Thailand again. There's more to do in the area than we had time for. Highly recommend this to anyone who cares to ask. If at all possible, ask for the #1 cottage with the river view.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanandLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I won't repeat everything said below, but we had a wonderful time at the Oriental Kwai. Stayed with our two boys, 11 and 13. Great location on the river; had two separate bungalows, which are very tastefully decorated and spacious. Breakfasts were very nice, plenty of variety and quantity. Really helpful advice and making arrangements for trips, particularly when you don't want to go on organised excursions. Nice, clean pool. Restaurant is nice but food less spicy and more expensive than in town. We rented bikes and cycled around the countryside for a morning (following their well mapped route), culminating in a fantastic pad thai at a totally non-english speaking restaurant on the river! Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ringofriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed here in April for 2 days and i honestly wish it had been longer. We arrived and were greeted by Joe with a drink! He showed us to the terrace which overlooked the River Kwai and was fantastic to see. We then were taken to our cottage and this can only be described as amazing! The cottage was very spacious and decor was exactly what you would want for a relaxing stay. We had our meals on the terrace, the food was lovely and the service was very good. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and on a night were lit up which added to the atmosphere. This hotel really is worth the visit and we will definitely be returning again and the stay will be longer!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turtleiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Having read all the rave reviews, our only worry about this resort was whether it could live up to expectations. Well, it surpassed them. The journey from Bangkok - especially after a 4am wake-up in KL - was a little tedious but we do not think of that now. We think only of the blissful setting on the River Kwai, the friendliness of Djo, Evelien and staff, the quality of the rooms and food, the birdsong and much more - and we want to go back.
There are grander places but, with 10 cottages, this is just the right size for personal treatment from the owners who think of everything and can't do enough. There are toilets next to the pool so you don't have to go back to your room to change and - this must be a world first - they don't mark up the minibar prices! We bought duty-free wine at the airport, started drinking it on our porch and carried on at the restaurant where they provided glasses. Corkage? Never heard of it. It's that kind of place.
It is also ideally located for the surprising number of attractions in the area and any combination of trip to them can be arranged. All in all, it was a wonderful three days we spent there and tremendous value.

Bob & Jane Holmes, Kuala Lumpur

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granvilleKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews