We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great escape from Bangkok”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oriental Kwai Resort
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great escape from Bangkok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. Although it took us a long time to get there (3 hrs on the train and 3.5 hrs to get back on a mini-van), we are glad we did it. The cottage was very comfortable and having the restaurant right at the hotel was very convenient. The best part was renting a motorbike to drive around the neighborhood - the hotel has those to rent for an affordable price. And the owners were very gracious and helpful.

I think I misread the reviews and did not realize that many families visit the place - so it can get a bit noisy with all the kids playing in the pool. There is also construction going on over the wall, and a wat located across the river, which blasts music on a loudspeaker at 7:00 AM. So the tranquil moments were not that abundant for me, but it is probably very dependent on the time of the year and visitors.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    45
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
324
356
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

As noted elsewhere this is a very well run resort (a young Dutch/Thai couple) in a lovely setting by the river Kwai. Our chalet had everything we needed and most importantly a very comfortable bed. Sleep quality was perfect and we particularly enjoyed the dawn chorus in this paradise.... if only the jungle were a little cooler in the afternoon! We highly recommend the restaurant where we enjoyed 3 good dinners plus all our fine and varied breakfasts. We particularly appreciated the large DVD and book library.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

A very special introduction on our first trip to Thailand. We loved the Oriental Kwai Resort. The location, accommodations, food and staff were all Five Star. Located on the River Kwai, the separate cottages with river and garden views were breathtaking. The food, OH THE FOOD! The restaurant was situated on a veranda overlooking the River Kwai - the best food we had in Thailand - the wine was good too. Evelien and her staff looked after us sooooo well. Stay a few days in Paradise while in Thailand at the Oriental River Kwai. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Don't believe there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PK332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed in 8 hotels this trip (3 at club level) and this was our favorite.
We decided to stay for 3 nights after reading other reviews on Tripadvisor and wish we'd stayed longer. Our bungalow overlooked the river and was surrounded by picture perfect gardens with the swimming pool on one side and a balcony from which to watch the river in front. The restaurant was great. The staff had magic recall for our favorite drinks and dishes and as soon as guests walked in they had the fans going and mosquito coils lit.
Wi-fi reception was good too.
We did a great one day trip to Erawan Falls, Hellfire Pass and a ride on a steam train over the original wartime track - 7 people, driver and wonderful guide for a cost of $AUD33 each. The next day we went into town to look at the bridge over the River Kwai, the old locomotives used by the Japanese and the Death Railway Museum/Research Centre (the museum in the side street opposite the war cemetery) for about $AUD20.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

not too big, but what a great resort this is ! Caring owners, wonderful landscaping, excellent well equipped bungalows ( just the right size), thai charm & western management = the best combo.
Kids loved the pool ! What can I say? If you want to be in the area.....stay here for a few days.
You want to make a day trip or need a taxi? They'll take care of your needs.
Great kitchen, affordable prices for food and drinks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
9.8 km away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
8.7 km away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
9.7 km away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
11.3 km away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
4.8 km away
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
#3 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Kwai Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Kwai Resort

Property: Oriental Kwai Resort
Address: 194/5 Moo 1 | Ladya Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,084 - ₹ 4,819
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and peaceful resort at the famous River Kwai, centrally located at only 15 min. drive from Kanchanaburi downtown and on the way to sights as Erawan waterfalls, Elephants world & Hellfire pass. The 12 cottages are spread throughout a teak forest and beautiful tropical garden. The cottages have all facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible and are designed in a warm Thai style. The resort has a cozy restaurant on site that overlooks the River Kwai and in the garden you'll find a lovely swimming pool. Tour, local taxi and transfer service available. Massage facility available at Jay's Spa and free fitness room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oriental Kwai Hotel Kanchanaburi
Hotel Oriental Kwai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing