We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Boutique Raft Resort(Kanchanaburi)
US$ 66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 79
US$ 55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 48
US$ 40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Good Times Resort(Kanchanaburi)
US$ 54
US$ 47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bamboo House(Kanchanaburi)(Great Value!)
US$ 30
US$ 11
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 48% below average rates

The price you found is 48% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 21/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

X2 River Kwai Resort(Kanchanaburi)
US$ 249
US$ 160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows(Kanchanaburi)(Great Value!)
US$ 27
US$ 26
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 30
US$ 24
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 97
US$ 88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
160
233
72
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
233
72
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly staff and good foodtropical paradisegreat poolbeautiful groundsthai foodhard bedsown transportrooms are spaciousbuffet breakfastclose to townbig poolour night staybeautiful hotelstayed here for one nightreception areariver kwaituk tuk
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 486 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018

The hotel is by the river very chill weather and peaceful location, perfect for breakaway also surrounded by the nature. They also had amazing large pool. The room is clean and no mosquitoes at all even by the forest.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank txiaochen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalriverkwairesort, Manager at Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest

On behalf of the management, we thank you for sharing your recent great experiences during the stay with us at The Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa. Since it is our fundamental objective to provide all our guests with the best service attention, we are very pleased that it measured up to your expectation. We look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights with 2 kids in a corner pool view room and our maid on the adjoining room. We really needed a break from Bangkok and we got that. Lovely pool and surroundings. I simply wanted to sit by the pool a d have a beer for the first day and it was bliss. The beers and all the food are very reasonably priced. The staff are friendly and willing to help. It's the best 3 star hotel we have stayed in. The restaurant by the river at night was lovely. We ate there 3 nights. Highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank AdamBKK290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalriverkwairesort, Manager at Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Adam

Sir! On behalf of the management, we thank you very much for sharing the recent great experiences during your recent stay at The Royal River Kwai Resort. Since it is our fundamental objective to provide all our guests with our best service standards, we are indeed very honored that it measured up to your expectations. Please be assured that these valuable comments will be shared among the team.

We look forward to welcome you back to The Royal River Kwai Resort Kanchanaburi.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

This is an older but well kept resort. It is right next to the river which is pollution free.
We enjoyed swimming in the 25-metre pool, the green foliage and flowers in the well kept extensive grounds.
Our room was large with a super-king bed. Walls and dark wooden furniture makes the room look dark and somewhat less attractive. This is the only negative we have.
For the S$60+ a night with breakfast this is good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room if you have difficulty climbing.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tkjuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalriverkwairesort, Manager at Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Ms Juliet

On behalf the management, we thank you very much for the kind compliments and that your recent stay with us was a pleasurable one. As it has always been our fundamental objective to provide our guests with the best service excellence, we are very pleased to know that it measured up to your expectation.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future on your next visit to Kanchanaburi

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Royal River for a quick one night stay as part of a two day itinerary from a cruise ship. Really enjoyed our time here and thought that it will serve as a base for a future trip back to Thailand.

A very cozy resort located right on the River Kwai that offers large comfortable rooms. We had dinner at the resort restaurant which sits with beautiful views of the river and enjoyed a very nice dinner that included a talented singer and delicious food. Even had the staff surprise my wife with a Birthday coconut ice cream desert and a special happy birthday song from the singer.

Next morning we enjoyed a very nice breakfast and were off early to Bangkok. All in all a really nice visit at a comfortable location with friendly and attentive staff. Definitely recommend!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank hoyasaxa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalriverkwairesort, Manager at Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest

On behalf of the management and with great appreciation, we thank you very mush for sharing your wonderful experiences during your stay with us at The Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa. As it has always been our main fundamental objective to provide our guests with an utmost best service excellence, we are indeed very honored that it measured up to yur expectation.

All your kind comments will be officially shared with the team and we look forward to welcome you and family back in the very near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Although a little way out of town, this is not a problem as a courtesy taxi takes you into town either morning or evening. You make your own way back which is about 200bht. Worth it for the beauty and tranquility. Rooms are spacious with balcony or terrace. Kettle in room and complimentary water. Beds very comfy. Air con good if a bit noisy. Wifi good.
The gardens are beautiful with a large and very clean pool. We had dinner at hotel both nights. Food was good and apart from the mosquitos a lovely place to spend an evening. Very quiet and serene. Staff are lovely. Place exceptionally clean.
Breakfast is good. We had to leave early morn and they let us go in to breakfast half hour early, no problem.
Would urge everyone to visit not just the bridge and the closest museum to it, but pay 100-150 BHT for tuk tuk to the death railway museum, next to the war graves cemetery. It has a good website. Air con building with a nice cafe. On top of this, it is a hugely informative museum about the building of the death railway and has some very interesting exhibits and a good collection of English language books written by a range of survivors. We spent 3 hrs there. A free tea or coffee is inc in the admission price.
Also worth a trip down river from the pier by the bridge to the JEATH museum is worth a go. Not a lot at that museum which is run by the temple next door, but worth a look. The boat takes you past the houseboats of locals.
One tip of note: if you are travelling onwards from Kanchanaburi to south Thailand by train, as we did to Hua Hin, you don't need to go all the way back to Bangkok. You can change at Nong Pla Duk junction, about an hour up the line. The lady at Kanchanburi station very helpful! Fare from Kanchanaburi all the way to Hua Hin was a massive 131bht each!! Less than £3.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MazSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalriverkwairesort, Manager at Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest

On behalf of the management and with great appreciation, we thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experiences during your stay with us at The Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa. Your impressive information on the various places of interest in the province will certainly be very useful to other visiting guests.

As it has always been our main fundamental objective to provide our guests with an utmost best service excellence, we are indeed very honored that it measured up to your expectation.

All your kind comments will be officially shared with the team and we look forward to welcome you and family back in the very near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews