We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
4
11
6
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
11
6
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2015

This place is only a guest house, not a hotel, and it's run down. We had to lug our stuff up thirty stairs. And that was the first floor. The only staff is a security man, who is not always there, and cannot speak English. The stated facilities such as pool, restaurant, terrace and coffee shop are not onsite; you have to walk to the sister hotel, We paid for breakfast, but were told we had to pay again if we wanted it. The nice accessories in the photos are only that - photo accessories. Tea and coffee "facilities" comprised one kettle and one cup. No spoon, tea, coffee, sugar or water. We tried to speak to the manager, but he was not interested. I wanted a refund so we could move elsewhere. They refused. The place is on a busy and noisy road, above the bus stop. Buses woke us every night. Wifi service was poor. Our keycard for the door sometimes took twenty times to work, but we could not get a replacement.

Room Tip: rooms at the back would be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rosedee2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

I don't understand why this place got good reviews on Expedia. Wow! The description is inaccurate. There are three flights of bad stairs up to the rooms. There is no reception; we had to book in a block away at another property that the company owns. The reception person there was downright rude. The aircon remote control doesn't work. The hot water in the shower doesn't work. There is mould in the room. They promise "coffee making facilities", but no cups and no spoons to be found, The location sucks, there is noise from a bar across the road till late at night.

The pool that was promised is at the other property. Quite funny, really.

We've only been here one day, and sadly we booked two weeks through Expedia.

Ugh!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Varange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Rooms are big that's the best thing .Doors would not open shower cold .If you have a room at the front very noisy. Safe not working and no lift

hard if u are on the top. floor. Good for all the bars and the beach .Very hard to cross the road when you check in

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3333pp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2015

Room 201 first floor is a complete and utter hell hole.insecure off the balcony,mould running down wall by bed,no hot water in bathroom,shower waste runs across bathroom into drain under sink, safe does not work.cheap but you know why. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kev9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a bit of difficulty arriving - you have to go to Citin Loft - across the street and down the alley to check-in and get your key before you can go to Royal Express. When you are checking in, ask directly for a room off the road, I asked through my online booking and forgot to ask upfront and was put in a room facing the road. Very noisy.
There is a welcoming security guard at the door to the hotel and the cleaning staff are lovely.
Overall the room was on par. Had nice blackout curtains, was nice and clean, and the room had all the amenities you needed. The bed was unusually hard. The bathroom was very industrial, with public-style toilet paper dispenser (with not very nice toilet paper) and a poorly maintained (dirty) water heater - it lacked the little touches of a nice hotel bathroom. We realize that this is a budget hotel.
The location was good, apart from being right on the road. Very quick walk to the beach.
We would probably return, as knowing what you're getting into can be better than another shot in the dark. But a room off the road is a must.

Room Tip: Tell the check in counter you want a room facing away from the street.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Matt_Emma-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews