We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Just a good place to visit.

Cannot recommend this Foundation strongly enough. The welfare of the elephants is absolutely... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2022
worrabsj
,
Bang Saphan Noi, Thailand
Amazing experience

Fantastic experience , we were welcomed right from getting out of the taxi by the staff , we were... read more

Reviewed 19 July 2022
Shagor2712
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,887 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Hua Hin
from $109.10
More Info
from $45.36
More Info
from $57.16
More Info
Reviews (1,887)
Filter reviews
1,887 results
Traveller rating
1,123
411
164
79
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,123
411
164
79
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful animals song kran gentle giants elephant village sanctuary mahout elephants rescued basket ride trunk welfare field baht thailand kiss circus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 1,887 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2019 via mobile

One of the highlights of our recent family trip to Hua Hin was the visit to the local elephant sanctuary (Hutsadin) who are working hard to rescue working elephants from mistreatment and give them a better life in older age.

You get the chance to get up close and personal with adult elephants, walking alongside them in open fields and then hose them down afterwards. About 700 baht per person and although quite a short experience (about an hour on site), for me well worth it especially as it’s all going towards the upkeep of these magnificent animals.

Cannot describe how amazing it feels to walk beside these huge yet gentle creatures and look them right in they eye whilst you feed them bananas.

Keep up the good work Hutsadin

Date of experience: July 2019
3  Thank Richy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, Volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Nothing like getting up close to one our gentle giants, and that feeling will never leave you.

We are however not a sanctuary but a foundation.
Thank you for visiting it means we will be able to continue to give our family wealth they need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2019 via mobile

We visited the foundation on Wednesday and we were not disappointed- it was a phenomenal experience. Our guide Dave was super friendly and knowledgeable. After doing lots of research on an ethical place to visit, we certainly found it! The elephants are so well looked after and are just amazing natured animals! If you get the chance, please go and support an absolutely amazing charity!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank mellm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, Volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Great review, and thanks for mentioning our volunteer Dave, like all of our volunteers they provide a vital service to our visitors, he will be pleased that you had a great time.

Thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2019

The elephants can take a walk and get to have a good long scratch against a tree which they really seem to enjoy. They are chained when in their "pens" which is a bit disturbing but they don't seem to exhibit the sad swaying that some captive elephants do. The handlers instruct the elephant through voice command only and the conditions of the individual "pens" were clean. This is a nice experience if you've never had an elephant encounter before.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank sally f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, Volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Thanks for your review, and glad you had a nice experience. They are chained in their for safety reasons, for hyiur own and theirs, but as you quite rightly sated they are not swaying, because our family get out to meet lovely visitors like you. They are well fed and happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2019

Today we went for a visit with hutsadin elephant organization. It was amazing- with us was our two children 7 and 10 years).

We got a guide called Kim, from the UK, it was her first day there, it was a great match.

Our kids understood her accent and asked a lot of questions.

We walked with the 77 year old male elephant- fed it fruit and enjoyed the proximity of the animal without feeling that it was solely on our terms.

We gave him a bath and both our kids was in awe.

We can only give the organization our best recommendations and encourage others to choose hutsadin over the more touristy alternatives.
The animals are in focus and there work is inspirering..

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Rikke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, Volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Wow

Our lovely Kim, will be pleased you remembered her, and thank you for recommending and encouraging visitors to see us we appreciate it.

Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2019

My son enjoyed washing the elephant and feeding them but it is very small and a little over priced. Not sure if it is good for the elephants

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank morrison5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, Volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Thanks for your review. But we advertise all of our prices on our website to let visitors know before hand what to expect.
Our activities are also on their.

Thanks for visiting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews