We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
90
18
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
18
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mekong river local shaman eco tourism highly recommend a stay village life batik class central kitchen beautiful deck traditional dance northern thailand local village golden triangle two night stay lahu village relaxing stay thai food villagers
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

We left Bangkok and flow to Chiang Rai. 1.5 hour drive to the "golden triangle" and this small Hmong-operated lodge. All rooms are in buildings facing east with views of the Mekong River and valley. This is truly a village; complete with families, dogs, chickens, etc. Yes, you will wake up to roosters crowing at dawn. All meals provided; served on your private deck. The meals were true "farm-to-table". We took a guided 2 hour waterfall hike the first day. 2nd. day we did a guided 5 hour hike up the hills behind the village and down to the Mekong. Wonderful views of local farm fields and families working the land. NOTE: there is elevation change that could be challenging to some. But, picking mandarin oranges right off the trees and eating lunch at a local swimming hole made it so worthwhile.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank georgecI2056SR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Ignore the ratings, read the descriptions, and decide if this place is right for you. It is in the rural hills overlooking the Mekog River. You can see the Mekong from the lodge, but the air was very hazy due to widespread brush burning which was taking place. The main purpose of the lodge is to provide employment and hospitiality training for the local villagers, rather than to make a profit. There are 4 buildings, each with 4 bedrooms, each with its own bathroom, and a large shared porch. The room is basic, with a comfortable bed and no other furniture. The bathroom has a flush toilet and a hot water shower. There is no central lodge building for guests to gather - you stay only in your own building. Breakfast and dinner are cooked in a central kitchen facility and brought to you to eat on the porch. Each building has 2 "hosts", who serve breakfast and dinner and make up the rooms. Between breakfast and dinner they return to the village to attend to farming and other needs. The food was good and the portions more than adequate. Our hosts were two lovely young people, one a Hmong and one a Lahu. Their English was very basic. However, there is an English speaking manager on the premises. We were the only guests in our building, and the other buildings appeared to have only one room each occupied. We found this to be isolating. We speculated that they separate the guests to different buildings in order to provide employment for more people. Surprisingly, the wi-fi was good. It was COLD there ( in February). We wore our down jackets and fleeces, which we did not expect to use until our re-entry into New England. However, they supplied us with hot water bottles to tuck into our bed at night. We did two hikes while we were there with an English speaking guide - a short hike through a rubber plantation and bamboo forest to a waterfall, and a longer hike on jeep roads through farming country to a Lahu village. The latter included lunch at a beautiful stream. Both hikes were very enjoyable. In summary, it was a very interesting experience, but we would not recommend it for everyone.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AndoverDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Beautiful setting with a wonderful atmosphere and stunning views
A great place to unwind and relax and experience the northern part of Thailand.
The tour of the villages and meeting people of the hill tribes was very interesting,

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank 117gloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We stayed here as part of our three day cruise down the Mekong through Laos with Luang Say Cruises. At first I was hesitant at cutting our time short in Thailand for a cruise that didn’t officially begin until the next day, but what a beautiful surprise it was.

The Lodge is nestled atop the hills and as true to their eco-tourism credo, is all built from locally sourced materials and by local hand, with proceeds from guests benefitting the community. There are four separate villas, each with four rooms and a shared massive veranda. We were the only guests in our villa and had the entire space to ourselves.

The views of the valley and the Mekong through it are expansive and enchanting. As part of the stay, a local guide takes the guests on a walking tour of the local village in order to give a first hand account of Hmong tribal life and customs, including visits with local priests.

The meals were absolutely delectable, probably some of the best Thai we’ve had, and we are avid Thailand travelers. The evening cultural sharing of music and dance capped by a surprise birthday song and cake for my Birthday was a beautiful way to cap the evening.

Then… waking up… The VIEW… the sun slowly spilling over a valley rolling with clouds was magically breathtaking

Room tip: each villa has four rooms, two in the back and two in the front - opt for one of the front ones overlooking the valley
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChaeAmando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Stayed as part of a tour. Amazingly different to a regular 'hotel' room.
We stayed in large 4 bedroom 'house' up on the hillside that was made of woven bamboo (i think). Each bedroom had its own ensuite. There was a large communal deck with stunning views of the hills - where we had amazing breakfast and dinner and a short local show. There were heaps of comfy lounges and chairs you could sit on the floor with and tons of space if all 4 rooms were occupied. The bedroom was quite open - in that it had no glass windows, just shutters that you could close. The bed was super comfy, very clean, lovely modern bathroom, the bed had a large net over it to keep out potential mosquitos i guess. It was midwinter and high up in the hills so it was extremely cool for someone like me from the tropics but the bed had a heavy feather doona/duvet so i was nice and warm. I think in the summer it would be cool with some lovely breezes.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nattl3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews