We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda clean”
Review of S Tara Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
S Tara Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Surat Thani
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff. They are not that good at speaking or understanding english, but If you have been to Thailand this should not surprise you.

The sheets in the bed had, what appeared to be, a dried blood stain on them. After speaking on the phone with three different people, my girlfriend succeded in requesting new ones.

Other than that, nothing to complain about. Decent breakfast and clean rooms (besides the blood stain).

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Coa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Great place for a stop over on route to islands, we stopped just for a night as we were arriving too late to catch the ferry. The hotel is new modern (very new) and clean, room was very good - for UK travellers - very similar to a good quality premier Inn, now its 0800am in lobby waiting to be collected to get our ferry, well rested and should be sipping cocktails poolside by 1pm in koh pha nang. If what youre looking for is a quick rest and onwards then this is a good option.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank northcoastjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Hotel Location: S Tara Grand is located in a quiet neighbourhood. Hence you would need a car or some form of transport to go into the city. Hotel building is certainly not grand but when you step into the hotel lobby, you will be greeted by this ‘grand’ toy bear attired in yellow hotel uniform and black hat.

Hotel Staff: When I arrived late evening, there’s a hotel staff (man) who came out to pick my luggage, led me to the counter where two lady receptionists efficiently checked me in. After that, the man then escorted me up to my room. That’s really good service!

Hotel Room: I got the corner room for a one night stay. When I stepped into the hotel room, my first ‘grand’ impression was “Wow, this room is so new, so clean, so big and so spacious!” Part of this ‘grand’ impression was due to the white shiny floor tiles, white painted walls and white bed sheets. The room is nicely decorated with contemporary shades of grey (e.g curtains) and white punctuated by a green sofa and green leg rest.
The bed mattress was comfortable and offered me a good night’s sleep.
The dressing table extends into a long ledge that offers storage space. The dressing table doubles up as the working table where you occasionally look yourself into the mirror during the work. A hairdryer is placed at the dressing table.
There is a kettle and coffee packs above the small refrigerator. Inside the refrigerator are 2 cans of beer and several soft drinks (I think these are free but better to check with the reception)
Although no luggage foldable bench in the room, I find it convenient to place my luggage bag on top of the drawers inside the wardrobe. There is no safe, no iron and no slippers.
There is no bathtub. I find it interesting that the 4 towels (2 big and 2 small) are folded in a nice pattern and placed on the bed.
Wi-fi is free and the internet speed was fast.

Hotel Restaurant: I didn’t take dinner nor lunch at the restaurant that’s adjacent to the reception. I did look at the menu – it’s just your typical local Thai dishes. But I did eat at the restaurant for breakfast. I find interesting that every table has a non-slip tablecloth (first time for me). Food fare include fruit juices, fried eggs, sandwiches, soups, porridge, sausages, ham, fruits, vegetable salads, sautéed vegetables, fried rice noodle, fried rice and normal rice and toasted bread. There’s a Nescafe vending machine that dispensed hot chocolate, latte, cappuccino, expresso, tea and coffee. So nothing great but enough to fill your stomach to start the day

Overall, this is one 3-star hotel that surprised me in a few ‘grand’ ways which added onto my experience of a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGWorldTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I recommend this hotel both business or travel trip to Surat Thani province in Thailand (in case you do not go to Koh Samui or Koh Pha Ngan or others).

The location is closed to airport and city areas.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank veeraphong j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

S Tara Grand Hotel is the few hotels that I decided to give terrible grading. Hardware-wise the property is not bad but the policy is more like a prison. The staff had been train to enforce the poor policy by the management. The bellboy sat lazily at the door ignoring their check-in guest even when they saw help was clearly needed. The reception was more anxious to impose the Bht500 deposit to be refund at time of check out. Dirty dishes were left in corridor that smelt badly even when room service staff passed them by and ignored its present. The checkout process was another chaotic time. The maid had to give their ok before the Bht500 deposit was returned. After checkout from the hotel, I placed a telephone call to Ms Peh, the Assistant Manager to inform her of the poor attitude of the staff but I felt it was fallen to deft ear.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
1.2 km away
Bun Hotel Surat
Bun Hotel Surat
#3 of 52 in Surat Thani
51 reviews
3.5 km away
Grand Thara Hotel
Grand Thara Hotel
#24 of 52 in Surat Thani
29 reviews
1.5 km away
Diamond Plaza
Diamond Plaza
#10 of 52 in Surat Thani
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Wang Tai Hotel
Wang Tai Hotel
#25 of 52 in Surat Thani
92 reviews
4.7 km away
The One Hotel
The One Hotel
#14 of 52 in Surat Thani
90 reviews
5.2 km away
Kaew Samui Resort
Kaew Samui Resort
#13 of 52 in Surat Thani
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S Tara Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S Tara Grand Hotel

Address: 14/1 Moo 3 Watphrado | City Center, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Surat Thani
Price Range: ₹ 1,683 - ₹ 2,395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — S Tara Grand Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your S Tara Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing