We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”
Review of Wang Tai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wang Tai Hotel
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Surat Thani
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Stayed overnight after a late flight before travelling to Samui. Friendly staff and clean room. Food in the restaurant was good. Hotel was great years ago but showing its age now. Only complaint was different pricing for the taxi to the ferry from the night and day staff at reception. 200 baht in the difference between the two. Breakfast was good with plenty on offer to suit all tastes.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CathalConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

As a person living in Thailand with own car I love this hotel. But for backpackers it's not convenient for ferry, train, bus or night market. This is provincial hotel. Not catering to international tourists. Anyone living long time in Thailand will appreciate what this hotel offers: good restaurant, excellent breakfast, large swimming pool, comfortable rooms, great cafe in lobby.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank scubachild59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

The Wang Thai hotel overlooks the river. It is a very "Thai Hotel." We love the real Thai food from an extensive menu. This hotel is ideal as a stop over en route to Koh Samui and SouthernThailand and the wonderfull National parks within driving distance. We recommend the mid range rooms or a suite. On our recent visit we stayed a week, our room was very clean, quiet,and comfortable. It is not a luxury hotel, but has a small gym and a good pool,. For us ,it is good value , with real Thai food, and a real Thai feeling . A double room with Thai breakfast costs around £25 .

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lift shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Wang tai is a very old hotel since Surat thani has few hotel to choose from.
They renovated room to meet a normal 3 star bed room but rest room got only 2 star.
The good part is buffet breakfast. There are many type of food including local dish.
Don't miss to try Patongko (油條) which freshly made everyday by hotel staff.

Room Tip: Higher Floor has a better view of Tapee River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 539kitisakt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

It’s my first time in Surat Thani, and I stayed 2 nights in this 3-star hotel.

Location: My Thai colleague chose this 3-star hotel because it’s only 25 km from Surat Thani Airport and hence took us not more than 40 minutes (depending on traffic conditions) to reach it. It is located very close to a river. There are plenty of free parking lots for the guests.

Hotel Staff: The lady receptionist spoke some English. The service of the staff at the hotel restaurant was good.

Hotel Room: While I opened the hotel door using the traditional key (not keyless), my colleague couldn’t do so with his key.
The good pars about the room is that it is huge and spacious, and that I had a good night’s sleep. However, the room is dated and has only basic amenities – a queen size bed, 2 bedside tables, 2 chairs, a coffee table, a TV console, a dressing table, a mirror, a mini-fridge and wardrobe cupboard. I opened the wardrobe cupboard and found only 3 hangers, a middle ‘rail’ compartment and a pair of slippers. However, the furniture is mostly white, hence it gives the impression that it is bright and clean, and indeed the room is clean. Interestingly, the wall above the bed is painted green. There are no safe, no ironing board, and no iron. The bathroom is also basic, with sliding door segregated bathing area. The view from the room window overlooks into the swimming pool, the other wing of the hotel and Surat Thani in the background.

I wish the hotel management can improve the wi-fi connectivity in the room. The connection was really slow and after 5 minutes into my teleconferencing, the signal suddenly disappeared! When I voiced the problem to the receptionist, she told me that the lobby area is the best area for wi-fi connectivity. Indeed, the connection is slightly faster but it meant that I have to do my work in a non-privacy environment.

Hotel restaurant: I ate at the restaurant during breakfast and dinner. I had to present breakfast vouchers for the buffet breakfast that was available between 6am to 10am. While breakfast items are few, the same cannot be said for the dinner menu. There are many Surat Thani local dishes plus other Thai dishes that you could choose from.

Overall, I really hope the hotel management could do some renovations to ‘modernise’ the entire hotel. Other than that, I find Wang Tai Hotel to be acceptable as I reminded myself that this is not Bangkok. Given a chance on my next visit, I would probably want to stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGWorldTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
2.2 km away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#1 of 52 in Surat Thani
90 reviews
2.9 km away
Diamond Plaza
Diamond Plaza
#24 of 52 in Surat Thani
94 reviews
1.5 km away
Orchid Residence Suratthani
Orchid Residence Suratthani
#11 of 52 in Surat Thani
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Grand Thara Hotel
Grand Thara Hotel
#25 of 52 in Surat Thani
29 reviews
1.9 km away
Tapee Hotel
Tapee Hotel
#22 of 52 in Surat Thani
86 reviews
3 km away
Bun Hotel Surat
Bun Hotel Surat
#3 of 52 in Surat Thani
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wang Tai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wang Tai Hotel

Address: 1, Talad Mai Road | Talat, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Surat Thani
Price Range: ₹ 1,813 - ₹ 2,396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wang Tai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wang Tai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing