We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past Its Prime”
Review of Grand Thara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Thara Hotel
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Surat Thani
Reviewed 31 January 2016

The hotel was once the grand dame of the hotels in Surat Thani. The amenities are good but old & quite rundown. Really in need of renovation. Location is OK, but other hotels are in better location & nearer to central town.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the Grand Thara Hotel for one night on the way to Koh Phangan. The hotel is located in Suratthani town 30 minutes from the airport. The staff at the hotel spoke no English which made things difficult. The hotel and room were rundown with dodgy lighting. The hotel did offer breakfast however there was nothing particularly desirable on offer.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Gavin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed 2 nights here, average hotel, customer service leaves a lot to be desired. But the room was clean, nice view of the river and temple opposite hotel, not very close to anything only shops and a market other wise you need to hire a moped to get anywhere attraction wise. Wouldn't recommend the area tbh, we've visited nicer places and surat thani is more of a pass through area.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank chantelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a great stay here. This is not a luxury hotel, and the price reflects that. We paid less than $40 for two twin rooms and free breakfast for five (2 adults, three kids). I felt we got much more than our money's worth. The air conditioner was too cold for me, though the kids were in haven so wouldn't let me turn it down. The view of the town was great. Good hot shower. Someone else's hair in the sink, but reasonably clean. Free drinking water.

I read that the staff speak little English. That was not our experience. The girl on the front desk spoke very good English and was kind enough to write the name of the night market (FANTASTIC! You must go) to give to the taxi driver, and the name of the hotel on the back for our return trip, as this town is the 'real' Thailand and many people don't speak English. Breakfast is adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelliephillipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed one night between a flight from Bangkok and a boat to Koh Phangan. It is one of the funniest hotels I've ever seen. First, that's the LOCAL hotel, oriented at Thai thourists first. Thus, the staff does not speak English. They can not answer any questions about the boat, taxi etc. All the equipment in the bathroom is also for a local person (i.e. someone not taller than 170 cm). Rooms, corridor, elevator - everything is old and worn out. Downstairs there's a restaurant (also for local) with low prices, good food and a very funny singers. So if you have one night, want to save money and feel yourself in a 1980s asian movie, try Grand Thara.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanchez73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
0.4 km away
Orchid Residence Suratthani
Orchid Residence Suratthani
#9 of 52 in Surat Thani
11 reviews
0.7 km away
Tapee Hotel
Tapee Hotel
#27 of 52 in Surat Thani
83 reviews
1.3 km away
The One Hotel
The One Hotel
#14 of 52 in Surat Thani
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#1 of 52 in Surat Thani
85 reviews
3.9 km away
Diamond Plaza
Diamond Plaza
#10 of 52 in Surat Thani
92 reviews
1.2 km away
Wang Tai Hotel
Wang Tai Hotel
#25 of 52 in Surat Thani
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Thara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Thara Hotel

Address: 1/144 Thanon Don Nok | Tumbol Talad, Amphur Mueng, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Surat Thani
Price Range: ₹ 973 - ₹ 1,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Thara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Thara Hotel is one of the most well-known landmarks of Surat Thani located next to the Surat Thani City Shrine. Recently renovated lobby as well as bedding and toiletry facilities with HOT water in every room. Wireless INTERNET access is also available in our lobby area free-of-charge. Grand Thara means 'Big River' as we are located on the 'Tapee' riverbank with picturesque views of both the city and the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Thara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing