We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely ok...... That's all”
Review of The One Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The One Hotel
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Surat Thani
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Room large enough but above the karaoke that continues after midnight and next room to the massage girls. Shower is usual dribble from elecric water heater. Breakfast poor but service there good. Recepionist miserable,unsmiling and extorts B500 key deposit despite paying whole bill in advance.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bomoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Sure, everything worked, but that's about as good as it got. Yes, it's cheap, but is sure as hell ain't cheerful. Reception staff are efficient enough but greeted you with the warmth of a Northerly gale in Iceland. When we went to enquire about ferry times, the woman on reception made it quite clear that we'd interrupted her game of Candy Crush Saga. She was well annoyed!

The internet speed was fast, and the food at dinner was quite good. They did get our order wrong twice, and whilst I can accept a language barrier, the menu was printed in English, had pictures, and we pointed to it! Also, no Pepsi or even Coke, just that horrific Est cola.

Room decor was pretty dated and tatty, and there was mould all over the wall tiles. Bedding was clean, but the fitted sheets can only be described as a tear-off disposable napkin. Sticky tape adorned every light switch and for in room entertainment, you were able to enjoy the outdoor bar karaoke until 2am, free of charge and from the "comfort" of your bed!

500 Baht deposit was demanded for the room key, but no mention had been made of this prior. No problem getting it back however.

Breakfast was poor. That is all.

All in all, if your are planning on using this hotel as a stop on your way to the islands, do yourself a favour and time your flight so you don't have to stay, or pay the extra money and DON'T bother with this town. It's grim. Really, really grim.

We won't be back here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for one night before we would take the catamaran to the islands the next morning. Man, were we glad it would only be for one night. The room smelled of old cigarette smoke (even though there were no smoking signs everywhere - it was actually so bad the clothes IN my bag still smelled of cigarettes after two days), it was dirty (dingy curtain behind the sink was full of toothpaste spatters and God knows what), and we didn't dare have a shower without our flip flops on, and I found other people's hair all over the bed. Only plus point? The WiFi was very fast.

We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel as well, and although the hotel restaurant isn't particularly cosy (and we were entirely alone, with the TV blaring loudly in the background to entertain the bored staff), we were surprised to find the food was great! We had some great Thai for not too much money (as the hotels do tend to add a 100B to most of the dishes). Breakfast was also a great surprise, the buffet was probably one of the best we've had during our trip, with real Thai food (no westernization here - it was truly mouth-searingly spicy) and enough of it, too. If only the room was as good as the food was, but the food made up for the bad room just a little.

I don't know if I would recommend this place. If you don't mind the dirtiness, sure, go ahead, but otherwise... Try and find a better hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k2881q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I had the "big room" (1200 TBH, incl. breakfast and internet) which is, I think, overpriced completely. The weird room is a showcase of how not to design a hotel room. This designer should ask the place where he/she got his/her education to give a refund. Slippery tile floors with these slight, yet nevertheless wicked level changes. Watch out when you are using the bathroom at night. Inadequate shower/bathroom. The girls at the reception were cheerful however entirely unprofessional. (Not every local hotel in the provinces has to be like a Hilton/Sheraton/Conrad, but there are minimal standards.) The location is OK, and there is covered parking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stay here for one night so we can cash back the flight back to malaysia in the early morning. Online photos that posted in their website doesnt shows it supposed to be. The room is ok but the design is really old. The room is abit warm, the aircon doesn't really work good. The toilet is very very basic together with shower. The floor looks abit dirty too.I think it is not worth for the money (35US dollar), i can definitely found a better hotel with this price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lai_ni09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
4.7 km away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#1 of 53 in Surat Thani
90 reviews
0.8 km away
Tapee Hotel
Tapee Hotel
#15 of 53 in Surat Thani
86 reviews
1.2 km away
Orchid Residence Suratthani
Orchid Residence Suratthani
#10 of 53 in Surat Thani
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Grand Thara Hotel
Grand Thara Hotel
#25 of 53 in Surat Thani
29 reviews
4.9 km away
Diamond Plaza
Diamond Plaza
#24 of 53 in Surat Thani
94 reviews
2.5 km away
Wang Tai Hotel
Wang Tai Hotel
#27 of 53 in Surat Thani
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The One Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The One Hotel

Address: 118/68 Thathong Road | A. Muang, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Surat Thani
Price Range: ₹ 1,167 - ₹ 1,555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The One Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The One Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing