We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent stay, but not more than that”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Khao Lak Resort
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent stay, but not more than that”
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

Arriving at the resort will lead you through a very touristic area with German beer bars and 'real' Italian pizza places.
Anyhow, the hotel as such looks very nice, reception is a highlight wi a beautiful view into the garden and the pool. The rooms with 2xxx numbers have got pretty ugly access ramps made of plain concrete - a bit of colour or decoration would have been nice. Furthermore, in case of power outage (happened twice during our five days stay), a gasoline driven generator awakes right next to these rooms and will give you a hard time to sleep.
Sassi's restaurant is doing the pool catering as well. Ok food, but overpriced.try the wonderful beach bars instead, like the first one to the left. Gorgeous!

Staff is extremely attentive and friendly. Helped me a lot when I caught a doublesided ear infect.

Breakfast buffet is ok, order separate cappuccino if you'd like to get decent coffee, tge standard choice won't satisfy you.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank fivedauns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecareyou, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear fivedauns,
Sunny Greetings to China !
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad to read that you had a decent holiday.
Your comments have been noted and we look forward to welcome you back again.
Sincerely yours, Michael Vorderleitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,404
    407
    73
    16
    3
See reviews for
497
1,138
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

we were highly satisfied with RAMADA Resort for many reasons : - warm welcoming - very helpful, anticipative, rigorous, respectful, smiling staff (to name just a few). The breakfast was very well presented, high quality (during all our stay we haven't had any health issues despite all the fruits we eat). We were in a spacious room with jacuzzi and a private swimming pool (approx. 6x3.5m). we really had an unforgettable stay at Ramada Resort.
We had minor inconsistencies : we would have appreciated more light in the bathroom. it was not easy for me as a woman to put my make up, neither for my husband to shave. Maybe one more French (SWISS) channel would have been appreciated. We recommend not to eat at the restaurant, we had to have our dinner the last day before our departure and seriously speaking the quality was not good, the service was bad, prices hight, and different staff that the RAMDA staff, not smiling, hearing, and not attentive at all. Thai food at the SASSI restaurant is not to be recommended. You'd better eat outside for the real Thai food ! There are quite few restaurant that serve very good food ! DESPITE ALL, We plan to comeback to RAMADA for all the good things !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyriamMercier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecareyou, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Miriam Mercier,
Sunny Greetings from Ramada Resort Khao Lak !
Thank you very much for your outstanding rating and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the dinner on your last evening and not receive the expected Service Standard and Quality. On this evening there were beside a fully booked restaurant several power cut offs that caused severe interruptions on the food production and service flow. I can ensure you that our Thai food is authentic and you can spice it up with the condiments like Chilli Powder, Sugar, Fish Sauce etc. served. The Pad Thai Goong you have ordered on your last evening is one of our Bestsellers. My Chef is aware and always very concerned to deliver the best quality to our guests. We do apology for any inconveniences caused.
Yes the lighting is on our Improvement plans for this Low Season. TV channels from ASTRA Satellites cannot be received in Thailand officially for time being but we will do our best to add and update our programs regularly. We recommend using our free high speed Wireless Internet within the resort for your individual downstream or downloads.
We thank you for your valuable comments and suggestions to further improve our services and Standards.
We look forward to welcome you back home soon :)
Please contact me directly for any further questions
Thank you
Yours Sincerely, Michael Vorderleitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We got upgraded to a private pool villa as it was our anniversary which was amazing. Very quiet tranquil place. Nice food in restaurant. Lovely breakfast. Fantastic bed and bedding.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliw2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecareyou, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear aliw2609,
Sunny Greetings from Ramada Resort Khao Lak !
Thank you for your lovely recomendation on tripadvisor.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
With best regards, Michael Vorderleitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to an Ocean Villa when we arrived at the Ramada Resort, which was a lovely surprise and much appreciated.

The room was dominated by the huge, comfortable bed, positioned to look straight out onto the beach (there was also a choice of pillows, though we were happy with the ones provided). At the back of the room was a huge jacuzzi bath and a separate shower cubicle with a rainforest shower. There were 2 sinks, which was nice, but as these were at opposite sides of the room, it made it a little difficult when sharing toiletries! We also had a sofa and table at the end of the bed and a large screen TV. Outside, was a veranda with 2 sun beds overlooking the ocean. The room was pretty well maintained, though the decor is a little dark, but it really doesn't matter as your eye is continually drawn to the view outside. The room was cleaned thoroughly each day and we received more than enough complimentary bottles of mineral water. The room also has a full sized fridge with plenty of space to store your own drinks if you want to.

Breakfast was buffet style, with a wide choice of cereals, fruit, juices, cold cuts, breads etc. as well as eggs cooked to order. We ate at the pool bar once for lunch - the menu was varied and what we ate was nice, but we preferred to walk down the beach each day and eat at one of the restaurants there (we can highly recommend 'My Friend' on the beach for delicious and very cheap pad thai).

We took a cooking class with chef Nit, which was fantastic. He took us to the local market and then we made lunch. You get to choose what you want to make from a list of a few dishes - we made shrimp cakes, wonton soup and 2 different types of curry (one too hot to eat without tears unfortunately)! There was also someone taking photos throughout the lesson and Nit came to find us later that day with a CD containing all the photos for us to bring home. We also got a copy of all the recipes to bring home, though I suspect we'll struggle to find some of the fresh ingredients. It cost approx. £45 each, so quite expensive but we felt it was well worth it.

The Ramada is quite near the end of the beach, with just La Flora on the otherside. This mean the beach is fairly quiet. It's a sandy beach and generally fairly easy walking. It's split in two by a narrow creek, which most days it's possible to wade across quite easily. However, if there's been a lot of rainfall and the water level rises, you can get the 'ferry' across for 10 baht. There are more restaurants/bars further on the other side of the creek.

Khao Lak is a nice little town with plenty of restaurants and a couple of bars. It's quite a sleepy place though - not somewhere for a great nightlife (fine by us)! If you fancy a change from Thai food, there's a lovely Italian-owned Italian restaurant called Pinochios. There's also a local market a few days a week that's a great place to go for a snack or pick up some presents.

All in all, a great place to relax in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tandmtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecareyou, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear tandmtravels,
Sunny Greetings from the holiday Oasis Khao Lak !
Thank you for your rating on tripadvisor and most important for us is that you had a memorable holiday and our services met or even exceeded your expectations, thats our goal.
We look forward to welcome you back soon again and please contact me anytime
on gm@ramadakhaolak.com
Yours Sincerely, Michael Vorderleitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I have been going to Khaolak for 15 years and have stayed in many good hotels incuding Le Meridien which used to be my favourite. It has a great location and beautiful gardens BUT I found the Ramada to be a really beautiful and understated resort where the whole experience was so relaxing. The staff are excellent and go out of there way to make you feel at home. I was lucky enough to get a Villa upgrade and
it was the so well furnished and equiped . The food is realy top rate and the prices are reasonable. I live in Thailand and have been staying all over the country for nearly 40 years....this hotel is right up there with my 2 or three favourites....Can really recommend it........Also some good restaurants within walking distance along the beautiful white sandy beach.

Room Tip: Villas are obviously more expensive but compared to other hotels they are good value. From what I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spinner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecareyou, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Spinner,
Sunny Greetings from Khao Lak !
Thank you for your great comments about your recent stay with us.
"The best is sometimes not good enough" :)
We look forward to serve you again and please contact me anytime on gm@ramadakhaolak.com
With my best regards
Michael Vorderleitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.5 km away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 68 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
4.4 km away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
3.1 km away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.1 km away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#13 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Khao Lak Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Khao Lak Resort

Property: Ramada Khao Lak Resort
Address: 59 Moo 5, Tumbon Kukkak, Takuapa District | Takuapa District, Khao Lak 82220, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,265 - ₹ 15,316
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Khao Lak Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Resort Khao Lak situated on the idyllic shores and pristine white sand of Khao Lak in PhangNga, Thailand, features 116 rooms and Villas, including 54 Deluxe Oasis Rooms, 22 Deluxe Lanai Rooms, 24 Deluxe Jacuzzi Rooms, 8 exclusive Ocean Front Villas and 8 Private Pool Villas.The resort features "Sassi's Beach Club " serving Thai and International Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Khao Lak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Ramada Hotel Khao Lak
Ramada Khao Lak
Khao Lak Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing