We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MANATHAI Khao Lak
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bangsak Village(Khao Lak)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadson Resort(Khao Lak)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Sarojin(Khao Lak)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waters(Takua Pa)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    Reviews (976)
    Filter reviews
    976 results
    Traveller rating
    618
    275
    70
    8
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    618
    275
    70
    8
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewspad thai restaurantcolours restaurantjohn gilldeluxe garden roombangsak beachthe pool and beach areabeautiful beachhermit crabsshuttle buslocal beach restaurantsphuket airportrooms are spaciousminute driveshuttle servicehuge bedkids clubpool staff
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 976 reviews
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    From the minute you walk into this modern oasis outside Khao Lak, you know you are welcome! From drinks and cold towels to citronella candles in the room- it’s the little touches that make this a high ranking place. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and comfortable. The beach and pool are spectacular. The cooking class with Chef Kawroon was fun and enjoyable. Colours Restaurant is very good.

    Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    3  Thank filibeckd
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    We stayed here for 7 nights, staff are extremely helpful and friendly! The hotel is beautiful, sits on its on stretch of beach...beautifully manicured gardens, outstanding breakfast included with our stay!! Pool and Bar area is fantastic, rooms were kept spotlessly clean every day. The also offer a cheap shuttle bus service into town and cater for your every need, Highly Recommend!!!

    Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    2  Thank Alex Q
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    Been to Thailand for 5 years and stayed at 8 hotels during this time so we are basing this review on our experience.

    Check-in was efficient albeit far too hot in open air reception area. The handover to our room was excellent by a very nice member of staff.

    Accommodation was a garden Villa and it was exceptional. In fact this was the highlight of our stay at the hotel as we made best use of it. Very spacious, very clean and the jacuzzi was a boost as was private balcony. Room well presented and laid out. The Villas come with some small perks such as free transport to and from Khao Lak, bowl of fruit each day, welcome bottle of wine and a cocktail daily (why dictate what cocktails we have rather than choice as they are all same price???).

    Pool was large and the only pool on offer and is situated at front of hotel adjacent to beach. Can get very busy as sun beds fill up at optimal locations.

    The beach is very nice indeed although not so nice as at Memories beach bar and Aspara.

    The hotel advertises the Pad Thai restaurant next to pool and beach. This is merely a snack bar next to the very small bar with one of only two main walkways between access to hotel and beach so not the best layout! It was empty whole time we were there. Apparently the dining room that serves breakfast is also a restaurant but that wasn’t made clear!

    On the point of breakfast the dining room resembles that of a visitor centre dining hall with little if any atmosphere, ambiance or Thai feel about it. Poorly laid out and a limited selection of food for amount of guests. The same can be said for the aforementioned Pad Thai snack bar.

    The hotel has one very small bar with a handful of seats and those at the rear have nearly enough room to squeeze past. Staff were not interested in conversation, there was no atmosphere whatsoever and at night the place is like a ghost town.

    We ate at the handful of restaurants along each end of the beach but after one hike in the dark and high tide with a small torch we gave it a miss to the south and opted to go to Be Friend to the north as was closer and good food. Coco Beach is worth a visit during day.

    The hotel is isolated and we knew that so had hoped for a little more Thai ambiance, atmosphere and feel to the resort but that was lacking. The hotel needs to look into this as with the competition of a new hotel being built next door will be a concern to the Manathai for future business. On the building works you will here it through the day so be warned.

    In summary, not what we expected and have stayed at much better hotels in Khao Lak area, we can’t recommend and won’t be visiting again. If it wasn’t for the Garden Villa then struggle to give any additional praise and are surprised at some of the previous reviews although many are first time visitors to Thailand .

    Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    3  Thank Cammie00
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Loved the location , beach was peaceful, pool was fabulous,plenty of sunloungers, could stay in shade of trees or stay in the sun on the beach . Accomodation was very good , huge bed , lovely bathroom , breakfast was also plentiful.

    Stayed: March 2018
    4  Thank Sally S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    ManathaiKhaolak_GM, General Manager at MANATHAI Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

    Dear Sally,
    First visit to Thailand? Really? I'm delighted that we gave you such a nice introduction to this wonderful country, thanks for the kind review, and we hope to see you here again, maybe on your second Thai visit?
    Best regards/John G.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    We have just stayed in this Resort for 3 nights and it was beautiful. We had room 603 facing in the middle of the grounds near the reception area. It was a little walk to the pool and beach but certainly not far by any means. Resort prices are a bit expensive but there is a 7 Eleven outside across the road to the right. I had a massage on the beach... there is a little hut like massage place on the right hand side walking towards the beach but just around from the resort on the right next to the restaurant on the sand that is cheaper 300 baht for a full body compared to the resort 450 baht that is within the resort next to where you get your beach towel. Food choice was plentiful, a little bit of sewage smell now and again sitting outside at breakfast but this can be avoided by sitting inside. Pool beautiful and so was beach with plenty of beach chairs. We went to koh Lak town one day to organise transport to Koh Samui...everyone’s prices are much the same although we went to book one place and the rate changed from 850 baht (in their book) to 1000 baht... maybe this changed because we mentioned where we were staying. Anyway we decided that between the price going up with the one tourist place and then finding out that the vans will all arrive at the same time in Koh Samui no matter what time you are told, that we would organise it ourselves. We did 2 local buses, 1 ferry and then mini van at Koh Samui to take us to our next stop. The only thing it saved us here was money. It ended up half the cost, but around the same time. Manathai Resort,particularly Tum at reception and other staff members helped get our luggage on to the main road and call and flag down the driver they were particularly helpful. We finally made it in Koh Samui and may not have without the help we received, so a huge thanks must go to them! It is a fairly remote resort but super relaxing. Not all staff can speak English but we got by. Lovely walk on the beach that goes forever and a lovely restaurant called ‘Be Friend’ to the right about 100m walk. I would recommend 4 nights minimum and do a visit to an island if that’s your thing. Shuttle into Koh Lak is 60 baht ($3) each way. Gym is big enough to do a workout. We loved our stay here. Thank you Manathai.

    Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    2  Thank Pam R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    ManathaiKhaolak_GM, General Manager at MANATHAI Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

    Dear Pam R,
    Thanks for your extensive review and nice rating. Particular thanks for singling out our reception staff for special mention, appreciated. Thanks for your thanks, and hope to see you here again.
    Best regards/John G.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews