We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Krating Khao Lak
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

After our liveaboard, we stayed here for a night. It was a great place to unwind after the dives. The balcony was very big, and the ocean view from our bed was very nice. We could even leave the front glass doors open at night. We slept so soundly with the waves below. No mosquitoes because there was a screen that kept out the bugs, but let in the waves sound and breeze.
The hotel was near some really good Thai massages along the beach. Highly recommend the massages. If you want to go shopping, take a short 2 minute taxi ride to Khao Lak center and shop with care... there were a LOT of things to buy!
Nice deluxe villas!
The only bad stuff I can think of was the awful smell that came out from the bathroom. However, once you put the towel over the drainage cover, everything was back to bliss.

Room Tip: Deluxe villas are much quieter than the ones nearer to the road. You hear just the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    75
    50
    12
    3
See reviews for
20
112
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed here for two nights before boarding our liveaboard in Khao Lak. Beautiful location with sea views if you choose this type of accomodation. Cleanliness of room was great, bathroom clean, robes, flip flops, slippers, beach towels etc. Access to the beach is easy you can quite ways down the white sandy beaches.
Only note, it is not within Khao Lak which is 100 BHT taxi ride, but the views and access to the beach make it worth it! Also no in-room dining so if you want room service forget it.

Room Tip: If traveling in April make sure you get AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcat4mjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We chose this hotel based on other reviews and the high recommendation it received in the Lonely Planet (though 2007 edition). The room was clean, the restaurant food quite good, the view of the ocean and beach and it's romantic setting (w/ mangoes falling on our roof and coconuts at every corner). However, the professionalism of the staff and quality of service was very poor. Our phone was broken and no one fixed it so we had to trek quite a ways to go to the lobby to ask questions, order food, etc. Also, there seemed to be a collective "rip-off" scheme between the staff and the local taxi drivers and tour groups etc.

Wouldn't recommend this hotel for those w/ young children because of the many flights of stairs and distance between the lobby of the hotel and our room and the beach and the type of beach (rocky).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boohwaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Deluxe bungalow. The room was small, dark and shabby. Bed sheets had strange smell, kind of musty. Bungalow had a nice view on see, rocks and trees, it was situated in the nice garden. However tide at night made big noice when crushing to the rocks below our cabin. There are lots of stairs to get to reception or to the beach, therefor I wouldn't recommend this resort for elder people. It's ok for people who want to be close to nature, away from other resorts. Entrance to national park is realy close to resort. If you need to go to town you need to hire taxi - 50 bath per person (not possible to haggle).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hryzcovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed at Baan Krating for 4 nights recently. We booked over internet and were given a discounted rate 3,200 Baat per night for one of the pavilion rooms (new rooms overlooking the beach). The room was spotless, bathroom fabulous apart from the shower pressure being low on occasion. Because the resort is high up in the rainforest, we had a fabulous view of the beach below as well as lots of butterfllies, birds, lizards and all sorts of wildlife outside. At night we left our patio door open with the mosquito doors closed and a lovely breeze would come into the room.
Ok, we love nature and wildlife and are fairly fit so we enjoyed being right in the centre of the trees however if it's a resort right on the beach you want then this isn't the place to come. The hike up and down to the beach can be quite hard, after the first day our leg muscles really felt it (which we relieved by having regular massages!). A lot of the other resorts on the beach were fairly busy and people were packed in like sardines, whereas once we had climbed the stairs to our lovely bungalow and verhanda, we had peace, tranquility and a wonderful view with a fabulous breeze away from everyone.
There is breakfast included in the price, free internet. Worth the extra money to get one of the pavilion rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
1.7 km away
Suwan Palm Resort
Suwan Palm Resort
#53 of 66 in Khao Lak
196 reviews
0.8 km away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.3 km away
Khaolak Sunset Resort
Khaolak Sunset Resort
#5 of 7 in Khuk Khak
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort
Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort
#38 of 66 in Khao Lak
114 reviews
0.4 km away
Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak
0.3 km away
Fasai House
Fasai House
#11 of 45 in Khao Lak
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Krating Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Krating Khao Lak

Property: Baan Krating Khao Lak
Address: 28 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,879 - ₹ 4,082
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Krating Khao Lak 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Baan Krating Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Krating Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing