We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,628)
Filter reviews
2,629 results
Traveller rating
1,589
791
166
50
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,589
791
166
50
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating market talay restaurant peace pool seaside junior suite kids club kids pool coconut bar family room floating restaurant manta ray the main road happy hour swim up bar separate pool games room peter bar pool access
Filter
Updating list...
902 - 907 of 2,629 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

A lovely hotel with wonderful staff!
This hotel is perfect for anyone as the family/children's area are separated so you can have tranquility or family fun
All amenities first class
Breakfast leaves no reason to complain - they serve just about anything possible and ignite not there they'll make it for you. Mr Egg is fab and can make anything with a egg perfectly
Some people have given bad reviews on the beach which I think are unfair
It's not white but it is lovely and the colour of the sand is not the fault of the hotel
Great massages by the sea or stroll along the each for more choice

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Dear Sir or Madam,

We, the team of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, sincerely thank you for your wonderful and comprehensive review. We are proud that we could be your host for the most beautiful weeks of the year.

Regarding to your whole feedback we very appreciate that we could satisfy your expectations so much.

We look forward to welcome you again and wish you all the best.
Warm greetings from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Alexander Hopf
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

just had 2 weeks here enjoyed very much ,if you are looking for a good 4.5 star place with a nice beach and great staff and food with all the bars restaurants and shopping a 150 baht cab ride or easy walk away this could suit you,as we,ve been to thailand many times we did not go on any trips but had a nice relaxing time here out and about i would try the following eateries hill tribes ,rebeang,green peppers,,bussara and mojos

Room tip: we stayed in standard sands room good size for 2
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank budgentrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Dear Sir or Madam,

We, the team of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, sincerely thank you for your wonderful and comprehensive review. We are proud that we could be your host for the most beautiful weeks of the year. As well we are glad that we could satisfy you so much with our service and facilities.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you all the best.
Warm greetings from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Alexander Hopf
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We recently spent 11 nights at this fantastic hotel celebrating our 30th Wedding Anniversary
Everything about it was just perfect and we feel they have got the balance right regarding suitability for both famlies and couples.
Staff are polite, helpful and extremely friendly, going out of their way to make sure all your needs are catered for.
Rooms are cleaned daily and to a high standard. Complimentary water and a fresh beach towel daily.
Amazing choice at the breakfast buffet.
Various happy hour slots throughout the afternoon and evening at the 3 bars.
Three restaurants serving good quality food at a very reasonable prices, you can also walk 10 minutes to local bars and restaurants also serving good food at prices to suit all pockets.
The hotel is situated on the beach so you have pleasant walks in both directions with plenty of beach bars serving food and drinks.
We had no problem getting a sun lounger at any time during our stay.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope to return again in the future.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 785caljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Dear Sir or Madam,

We, the team of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, sincerely thank you for your wonderful review. We are proud that we could be your host for the most beautiful weeks of the year. We are glad to hear that we could satisfy you with every of our service and facillities.

We look forward to welcome you again and wish you all the best.
Warm greetings from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Alexander Hopf
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

We stayed at The Sands for 11 nights March/April.At first I was a little apprehensive as its a larger resort than we would normally stay.But we were soon won over.The reception area was modern and cooled .We had booked a pool swim up room which was furnished modernly and simple.The large bed and pillows were open to choice of what you require and gave a very comfortable sleep.The swim up pool was clean private and spotless.In fact the whole grounds are kept immaculate with wonderful gardens .The one thing I would say is although a mixed cliental it is family orientated.This caused us no problems as the children's pool and adults pool are apart and well controlled.The grassed area prior to a deserted beach always had plenty of sun beds .The Restaurants are very good.In fact Talay which specialises in Sea food was high end in my opinion.Ok it's dearer than eating outside the resort but still relatively inexpensive .The breakfast is buffet .Not a favourite way of dining but it was excellent .It catered for every sort of breakfast and no queues.We enjoyed it immense and completed a very relaxing break

Room tip: Take the swim up room
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Dear Sir or Madam,

the team of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani like to thank you very much for your excellent review in tripadisor.com.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed all of our services and facilities.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us and wish you and your family all the best.

Warm greetings from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani.

Alexander Hopf
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

I don't believe I have ever stayed in such a bland hotel....

You come out and there is a huge lawn (like a football pitch), then a huge fish lake, nice, but no walkways through it, then more grass and palm trees and that was it, no attractive plant borders or anything really to soften the edges or to draw the eye. There is a kiddies pool, and an adult pool (kids over 12), Their is no sunbeds on the actual beach, they are on the lawned area above and you have to go down steps to the beach. Not sure I would recommend this for young children as it was very choppy.

Now to the bedroom, we were upgraded free to a Junior Suite, which I hadn't realised when we got into it and thought they had made a mistake. Never mind it was a free upgrade, but the room was also really bland, one wall was mocha coloured (the hotel seems to like the mocha brown colour as the buildings are in the same colour), the other wall was mainly white with a green bit at the end (bathroom lovely), it all looked very tired and in need of a makeover really.

We met some people at a restaurant (Orchard Cafe at the top of the hill which was excellent and about a third of the cost) and they stayed there once and never again as it was so bland, they stay at the Leaf which is just before you go down the hill to it (same chain of hotels) and they say that is lovely with beautiful gardens etc.

I think the thing I found most shocking was there was no free water at all that we could see, it all had to be purchased. For the last three weeks we have been in Borneo and Thailand at lots of hotels and all give free water and tea and coffee etc, so this was shocking there was no water for the children free (and more expensive than fizzy too)

We also found the staff a bit jaded (one lovely bellboy who was very smiley and chatty) but the rest were indifferent. Wouldn't stay here again, one plus was the bed, they would make it softer or firmer, we went for softer and it was lovely. My sons sofabed was quite hard as well so they made that softer as well.

Shame as the hotel has so much potential but just too bland and uninspiring for us.

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank Hols969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review here on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had an overall relaxing stay with our services.

With regards to your experiences and feedback we like to thank you very much. I regret to read that you were a little unlucky with the choice of your holiday destination. We hope this wasn't caused by an inadequate advice. We always provide information, even through the travel agents, as authentic as possible.
Normally our guests know exactly what they will get before they book and in the and it's the reason why they chose this place.

Thank you very much for your visit and the best wishes for you and your family.

Alexander Hopf
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews