We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monkey Dive Hostel Yolo Khaolak
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“A perfect home away from home”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Seaweed is one of the best new hostels in Thailand. This place has lush style that is rarely seen in budget accommodation. The owner has designed an artfully retro look and feel in each room. I stayed in both the bungalows and the double rooms and both were incredibly clean, comfortable, and spacious. The owner, Ta, and the staff were exceptionally helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. The hostels' 'Surf Drinks' offered a relaxed and funky cafe environment with free internet. The location couldn't be better - a short walk to the beach and perfectly central in Khao Lak. I could go on, but suffice it to say, the is a very cool place to land.

Room Tip: Seaweed has rooms to suit a diversity of budget travelers. The bungalows have hot showers and A/C. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodmanChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    25
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
22
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dragoer, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is a great place. Nice simple clean romms. Coll design and good coffee in the cafe. Great place to hang around, mingle with the other guets in the in the garage way, and grab a beer from the fridge (mini markt) on the corner.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Withoutshorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

On main Rd but room quiet. Rooms hot but fan provided didn't feel safe to leave window open all night as no mosquito net and ground floor room so not secure. Bed a bit hard.room big clean and modern. Cold showers only Good helpful staff. Cheap price.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

When you arrive you will think, what's up with the garage entrance, but once you walk in, you will see how beautiful those little huts are...and for the price those bungalows were the best we stayed at.
You will hear a lot of monkeys in the morning. It has A/C, fridge clean spacious room.

What makes the place worth it is the staff. Taa was awesome so was all of the people there. We stayed in a couple of 5 star hotels too while in thailand, but here we actually got excelent service.

I will totally come back to this hidden gem

Room Tip: Ask for the bungalows. If you have some spare BHT. Also, I prefer the one in the very beginning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J923571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfdrinks, Owner at Monkey Dive Hostel Yolo Khaolak, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for compliment and thank you for choosing us. We were very happy to help you. Please stop by next time you are back in Khaolak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed in a big bungalow with hot shower, towels, and linen plus a fridge and A/C. The staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We really recommend this new place right in the centre of Khao Lak. We didn't have to pay extra for the boys who slept on camping mats and the cost per night was only 800 bath in the high season. Also their fan rooms are enormous and very clean at only 600 bath.
Thank you to all the staff who made us feel at home.
The ninja boys had a fab time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfdrinks, Owner at Monkey Dive Hostel Yolo Khaolak, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
We were very excited to have you and the whole lovely family here with us. Thank you for writing on our hall of fame. We love your "Will.i.am" /Ninja moves at the hotel. Our staff had fantastic time with you and still played your songs.
Please stop by again whenever you are back in Khaolak. Have a safe journey home :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.4 km away
The Leaf Oceanside
The Leaf Oceanside
#3 of 7 in Khuk Khak
241 reviews
0.9 km away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
6.7 km away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Khaolak Oriental Resort
Khaolak Oriental Resort
#19 of 69 in Khao Lak
267 reviews
1.0 km away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.5 km away
Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Dive Hostel Yolo Khaolak? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Dive Hostel Yolo Khaolak

Property: Monkey Dive Hostel Yolo Khaolak
Address: 26 / 34 Petchkasem Rd. | Khuek Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Seaweed Hostel Khaolak)
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Khao Lak
Price range (per night): ₹ 773 - ₹ 1,611
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Dive Hostel Khaolak is a unique budget place for all visitors. It's located in the center of Khaolak, very few step to Khaolak center. Rates start from 250baht/bed. We provide shared room, fan room, aircon room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Monkey Dive Hostel Yolo Khaolak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing