We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
155
30
12
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
30
12
4
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The riverside has a charm that chain hotels just cant provide.
Rent a bicycle and the location becomes great.
The rooms are big and nice and the staff are friendly and happy people.
I have enjoyed my 5 nights and was positively surprised after reading thru the reviews.
Breakfast was the only meal i have eaten there and loved it. The good coffee is especially worth mentioning.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lostinkhaolak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

I would say that the location is not perfect. It’s about 20 min walk to the shopping and dining area. It’s not close to the beach. However the hotel area is very nice, calm. There is a pool, more suited for adults, than children. The rooms were big, clean and in every way comfortable. You sleep great in the huge beds. The best with this hotel was the staff, friendly, helpful.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Large and noisy construction site right next to the hotel. The construction will be going on for the next 1-2 years.
The beds are horribles, hard like stones.
Only good things to say about the hotel is the breakfast.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Kasperdeleuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

When I first reviewed Riverside 4 years ago, I said that it was a hidden gem. Well, I am genuinely sad to say that the gem has lost its sparkle.

First of all though the positives:
The Riverside is in a fantastic location being 2 minutes from the beach and 5 minutes from the myriad of shops and restaurants.
The staff, especially the manager Peter, are warm and welcoming and do their very best to make your stay the best they can.
Breakfast is cooked to order
It is a relatively small hotel so you never feel crowded.

Now, alas, for the negatives:
The resort is very tired looking. When we first visited the gardens were pristine. Now, the grass is only kept short in the immediate vicinity of the swimming pool and the small hedges which line the paths are becoming overgrown. The trees also need pruning. It does not give a good impression.
The linen, when you get a full complement, is threadbare and stained. Please don't misunderstand, it is fresh from the laundry however it is so old that washing is no longer removing some of the stains. The beach towels in particular are an embarrassment. Cream is not a good colour for beach towels.
The seat of the chairs at breakfast are stained and in some places are so worn that the stuffing is showing through.
There is a new resort being constructed on the land bordering the Riverside.

To summarise: What could be a fabulous resort again needs an injection of cash by its owners or future owners to replace worn out linen and furniture, undertake routine maintenance and to employ a gardener to bring the grounds back up to scratch.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank deecee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Have just spent two weeks in what felt like a beautiful Thai home. When we left, it was like we were leaving family. The service was absolutely the highlight of our stay - yet careful and fun. This is as far from the chain hotel experience as you can get. Our room had all the hallmarks of exceptional Swiss design while being unmistakably contemporary Thai. It was very spacious and light with lots of full length windows which gave wonderful views of the surrounding countryside, mountains, river and beach. Husband spent long hours in the bath with an exceptional view of all this or on the large terrace bird-watching.The location of this small family owned hotel is perfect as it is in a quiet pocket set slightly back from the beach yet a short walk to shops etc. Air conditioning was excellent, pool well-maintained and the lift was a real bonus. No downsides although garden needs more care. Planning our next visit asap,

Room tip: All rooms have lovely views but higher the better
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CVL47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews