We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,399)
Filter reviews
1,399 results
Traveller rating
803
372
143
46
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
803
372
143
46
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace restaurant pool villa plunge bar bamboo bar villa guests baan thai le meridien luxury escapes package thai restaurant escape package kids club beautiful resort phuket airport tennis courts low season beach front thai staff
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1,399 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This was our third time in Khao Lak but first in this resort (we were in JW Marriott before which was amazing but wanted a change and benefited from a special offer Katiliya had at the time of booking). Did we regret it? Not for a second. It's an absolute paradise.

We travelled with extended family so had booked two pool villas. Ours were at the edge of the property to rain forest and conveniently located close to breakfast restaurant and the sea. Villas are spacious and very comfortable, lots of storage, in-built wardrobes, comfortable king size beds and sofa beds. Lots of wood, nice Thai details. Each had a terrace. Plunge pool was an additional luxury. There are some extras for villa guests. The villa part is generally more quiet and serene.

Our day always started with a perfect breakfast - fresh fruit and vegetables, smoothies, egg station, everything was fresh and tasty and plenty. The restaurant is located at the sea front, views are simply stunning and changing every day. Children could run to the beach done with their breakfast.

We would then enjoy the pools and the beautiful beach. There were enough sun beds but we would be up quite early. Fresh towels and cold water at all pools. The pools were very well kept and clean, staff at pools very kind.

Staff is definitely a big strong point of this hotel. Absolutely all are very helpful and the Thai staff have a wonderful smile. Our maid whose name unfortunately we do not recall was wonderful, villas were clean and she added some nice touches.

Hotel grounds are well kept and location is unbeatable, we had long walks on the beach, both directions to enjoy the idyllic beach and nature. We especially loved the lagoon, probably 1 km walk from the hotel, also some nice restaurants around.

A German chain has seemingly taken over the resort. It's true that in some places some refreshing is needed, we just hope they maintain what's good. We would not go back to an all-in noisy club for sure.

Room Tip: Pool villa was great; worth the money.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank manicelojumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We were on the luxury escapes deal. What a formidable 8-night holiday we had! What we loved were the gardens, pools, clean beach and calm sea where we spent most of our time. Don't go to stay in Phuket. This is the most recommendable Khao Lak Resort! The staff were most lovely: Oop, Alex and Taro in Bamboo, Poi in Baan Thai, Mai and Chai in Cafe Lilawadee, Mook in Spa who came on her day off just to do my 30 min massage and Manon in Mosaic. Rin in Bamboo was quite cold and we wondered how she was recruited. Oop should be Employee of the Year and Mook for going out of the way to satisfy the customer! The only complaints we have is the repetitive and limited menu every night for luxury escape customers plus limited menu for vegetarians. The free activities such as aqua aerobics were also cancelled most of the time because of lack of interest we were told. All services were otherwise of highest quality. We would certainly return. We were spoilt one day with loads of fishes jumping in the lagoon while we were swimming and we also experienced cultural activities for the Songkran festival at the hotel. The management and staff are doing a wonderful job.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Wonderful for all 10 of us we had 6 adults and 4 children. Rooms were clean a bit old but very comfortable. Meals at the 6 restaurants were all great from a 1 year old up to a 62 year old. The pools were clean and fresh. We had an absolute ball. All the staff from catering manager to table staff all really friendly must recommend

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 36,478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

We have been to Khao Lak a couple of times before and not really enjoyed it. This time we came to Katiliya and have had a completely different experience. It is a great hotel with very friendly staff, beautiful private beach front, lots of good restaurants and lots of beautifully designed pools. A great pool for the kids with slides and a kids club. The design is tropical and in keeping with the natural surroundings. Khao Lak is a gateway for many of Thailand's beautiful natural parks and I would definitely recommend staying at Katiliya. It is the perfect place to come back to after a day out if you can peel yourself away in the first place!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank karinagillibrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Katiliya Khoa Lak is under new ownership/management and is about to have a major renovation/upgrade to accommodation and other facilities.

Being some 12 years old the resort has become tired and, tho the credit of the staff, made our stay very comfortable and welcoming. Fortunately renovations are imminent. Once completed the resort will offer wonderful facilities for a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

There are great pools and facilities catering for all ages. It's proximity to the beach is a real asset and when sitting outdoors in the evening and or a cool drink is a real treat.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ron3216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews