We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Steakhouse

Joe's Steakhouse
Ranked #84 of 264 Restaurants in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 15
Cuisines: European, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Went there with a friend for dinner. We sat down and had to wait for a while until someone took notice of our arrival. We ordered drinks and got the menu. Drinks came but staff wasn't ready yet to take the food order. After some time staff came back to take the order and disappeared again...after about another 15 minutes we asked about pour food order and were told that it will take approx. another 45 minutes until we would get our food...means a total of about one our for some steaks. Paid the drinks and left, they will never see me again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaiMiTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    14
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Khao Lak, Thailand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“The best steaks in Khao Lak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Ludwig prepares still the same fantastic steaks as 10 years ago, for nearly the same prices. He is simply a phenomenon. How can a one man kitchen produce 50 to 60 plates of steak every evening? In 5 or 6 varieties? And never get a complaint for anything? This man is an institution in Khao Lak. Now there is some competition almost next door: Jojo Steaks in the Island Seafood lane, for guests who could not find a seat in Joe's Steakhouse.

Helpful?
4 Thank JohnnyJohnny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The food here was outstanding, with high quality fillet steak, home made croquettes and bearnaise at unbelievably low prices. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I would certainly eat here again if the opportunity arose.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank DavideGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

For steak-lovers, this is really THE place to go in Khao Lak. Excellent quality, prepared very well and reasonable prices. The salad is great. The setting isn't exactly romantic, but the service is good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caribemarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Our favourite steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Excellent cuisine, especially steak and pork dishes. Decently priced wine. German beer for a change. One of the few restaurants in Khao Lak that you need to make a reservation which speaks for itself.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Arandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Steakhouse also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Joe's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing