We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A charming hotel in the famous Feng-Chia night market area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of In One City Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
In One City Inn
Ranked #29 of 255 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
119 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A charming hotel in the famous Feng-Chia night market area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I have heard of this hotel for quite sometime but never had the chance to try it until my recent trip to Taichung. Must say it was a pleasant found!

Hotel is located in a quiet alley near the famous Feng-Chia night market, about 3-minute walking distance The entire property is located in a huge commercial zone surrounded by all kinds of stores with hotel on top from the 3rd floor up.

In One City Inn still has a feel of newness despite that it is already in operation for a few years. The decor is modern, contemporary and obviously caters to the younger and trendy crowd. Reception area is on the 3rd floor and front desk staff is friendly and efficient - I checked into my room literally within 3 minutes. My room is on the 8th floor - while it is basic, it is considered spacious and provides everything that guests can possibly need. The tiled bathroom/shower area is a bit tight but the all-in-one layout with a front sliding door does compliment the minimalistic design of the hotel. Internet is free and drinks/snack in the frig are complimentary, which is a nice touch. Breakfast is included in price as well and the breakfast area (on 3rd floor) looks fantastic but I did not have the chance to try it.

I got a special rate through colleagues at Feng-Chia University which is 30% less than the regular price so overall I must say it is a wonderful value. I noticed many foreign guests during check-in so I know for sure this is a preferred choice among tourists, especially if you are visiting this area for the famous Feng-Chia night market. A good solid choice that is worth returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    89
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
46
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
288 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Staying in this hotel for the second time. First time being in 2007 when it first opened. Pleased to note that the property has been quite well-maintained. Still look new and clean. Well-located, only about 5 minutes walk to the infamous Feng Jia Nightmarket. Very convenient for those who are in the area to eat and shop. Ample and free parking space for those who drive. Room is reasonably sized. Bed is comfortable. Doesn't come with a bathtub (at least the room I stayed in did not). Shower is hot and strong. Free WIFI available in the common areas (but not in the rooms). Breakfast has a decent spread. Cabled internet connection available in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Location: 5-10 min walk to FengJia night market, with many student eateries along WenHua road, and convenience store across the street.
Rooms: Smallish but new, clean and functional, with LCD TV, quiet air-con, free internet access. We got a room facing courtyard, so it was very quiet. No balcony, no tub (we had the smallest room according to emergency escape floor plan)
Staff: attentive, and some English fluent.
Breakfast: good enough spread to get the day started.
In short: good hotel for a night stop-over at FengJia night market. If you want more decent restaurant, ask locals and eat outside of FengJia. Some good restaurants behind Tiger City, on ChaoFu Road (10 min cab ride)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed1982_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I searched on the Net for the night to stay near the famous night market. And I found this hotel has quite good reviews. It took us some time to find it after we got off the free shuttle bus from THSR station as there was rain and crowd in the market. The location is good, about ten minutes away from the market. The room is small but comfortable. The breakfast is quite good with all kinds of food, Chinese style or Western style. I had a quite nice stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hsianghsiangw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Clean and modern hotel, although communication were weak due to language barrier, the staff were welcoming. Everything works. The proximity to the Feng Chia night market and the university makes it great. We had problems with the internet cable and the repairs were done within 15 minutes. Room were slightly small side but suits us as we were there as a stopover.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms facing the courtyard, better view but if you stay in the higher floors, the din of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shahirshamsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.5 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#24 of 255 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 km away
In Sky Hotel
In Sky Hotel
#32 of 255 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 km away
Kun Hotel
Kun Hotel
#7 of 255 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#2 of 255 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel 7 Taichung
Hotel 7 Taichung
#31 of 255 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.8 km away
Taichung Fengjia Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In One City Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In One City Inn

Property: In One City Inn
Address: No.31 Lane 138, Wenhua Road, Xitun District, Taichung 407, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Taichung
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,044 - ₹ 6,201
Hotel Class:3.5 star — In One City Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HRS so you can book your In One City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
In One City Hotel Taichung
In 1 City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing