We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Would definitely stay again if we went back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legend hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legend hotel
Ranked #22 of 304 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay again if we went back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We recently stayed here in March for four nights and it was fantastic! The service was excellent and they were very helpful. The continental breakfast was awesome! There was so much food and so much selection and best of all it was delicious. I loved the fact that laundry service was free for us as well as bike rentals. We also received a refill daily of bottled water, pop and noodles which was good at night for those midnight snack cravings :)
It was also only a 10 min walk or so from City Council MRT and we were surprised that it was about a 15min walk or so from the Liouhe night market. Quite convenient!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    114
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
95
75
62
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
361 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

With only four reviews on TripAdvisor, I was surprised this hotel had somehow made its way to the number one ranked hotel in Kaohsiung; however the reviews were very good; the photos looked good and for £35 each night, it would be hard to go wrong. We booked the hotel via Bookings.com.

It was a great choice and for one night, it was perfect. It could be likened to an Ibis in Europe – simple, clean, low on amenities and high on value. We decided between the big hotels in the city, including the big tower hotels but at triple the price, we gave this one a try.

Location – great and very close to the night market, five minute walking distance. 15 minute walk to the regular train station and easy taxi distance to everywhere else. City Council metro station is about 10 minute walk.

Staff – excellent level of English, accommodating, personal, helpful.

Property – very quirky with paintings and murals of Asian comic characters everywhere. We saw this beforehand in the photos so were not deterred. I am still not sure if this is true ‘decorating’ or is really ironic humour – these murals can be found everywhere in the hotel, including a different one for each room. It was a surprisingly refreshing change from the large chain hotels we had been staying at. The lobby is very simple with a mish mash of furniture, some random pieces of art on the wall, a Sony Playstation, coffee maker, water and three free computer terminals.

Room – very spacious, clean, white, great air conditioning, great bed, good lighting. The walls are painted in a white, non glossy finish, so they do scuff easily. The room will be showing wear and tear in the next months if maintenance is not kept up. Most of the furnishings seem to be residential rather than tried and tested commercial hotel equipment, so they’ll soon show their usage. Amenities in the room included free cup noodles and other snacks which were appreciated. There is also a water dispenser in the hallway for hot and cold water. The TV was excellent, clear and with a variety of channels.

Washroom – very clean, spacious and with simple amenities. Like the room, without a lot of regular maintenance, this washroom will show some wear as it had already started to.
Breakfast – free in the basement and a very simple selection of items, mostly Asian. Fruit would have been appreciated and perhaps a couple of western options but this is a budget property, so let’s keep things in context.

WIFI – free in the lobby but doesn’t work in the rooms.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for a couple of nights in Kaohsiung. Overall, the city was impressive and we enjoyed it more than anticipated. Originally, it was just another city to tick of the list, the ability to say we’d been to all four corners; however the city had a real charm to it and we could have stayed another day. The night market was fantastic relative to Taipei and other cities we had been to. It was calm, places to actually sit for food, new variety of items, snacks and not just the regular Asian market tat. I recommend this hotel and Kaohsiung overall.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel is located not very far from the famous Liu He Night Market which is about 5 mins walk away.

My frst impression of this hotel is friendly and clean. It's a nice budget hotel with almost everything including self wash washing machine and dryers. The even provide free instant noodles and soft drinks/drinking water in your room. The bedroom is pretty spacious, just the big bed alone you can sleep 3 adults!

Within walking distances away, you can find some of the famous street foods available in Kaoushing. And oh yes, the hotel is just 3 to 5 mind away from KMRT @ City Council Station.

Just such friendly services, near famous attraction and etc, what more can you expect? Recommend for your next stay at Kaohsiung!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I was there from 1st April to 3rd April 2012 with my teenager son Isaac.
New and excellent facilities -
1) Great comfortable brightly modern designed rooms
2) Free Drinks and cuo noodles in room
3) Excellent wifi speed
4) Great toilets c/w bathtub
5) Offer free self laundry room with washing machine & dryer c/w free detergent
6) Free self refill of R.O. water and coffee 24 hrs
7) offer free shuttle pick-up and checkout drop off to MRT
8) offer free entertainment area with X-box kinetic games for kids
9) Bicycles to ride around city
10) Good Service staff Good location, 5 mins walking distance to the best and busiest Liuohe Night Market with lots of great & cheap food Nearest & easier MRT is City Council MRT 400M, 10mins walk Formosa Bovlevard MRT interchange station is tiring 20mins, 800M away but Hotel shuttle will pick up from there.

A suggestion is that if hotel could add another dryer in the laundry room as there were 2 washing machine but only 1 dryer. After I washed my clothes, I returned to the room 4 times always in use, I gave up and hung dry my clothes in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsaacJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Honestly i tell you with few words, this hotel worth for a solo traveller to an family on tour. The staff are very friendly, they are willing to help you all the time, they always greet you and smile at you and you can communicate with them in Tawanies, English or Japanese. It's super valueable according to the services. Try it and you will never forget it in your life. I realy don't know how to tell you.

Room Tip: Any room you got there, you will feel like at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyjohnny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.0 km away
The Tree House
The Tree House
#10 of 304 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
1.3 km away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
0.8 km away
La Hotel - Liuhe Night Market Nanhua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Kindness Hotel Kaohsiung Jue Ming
0.8 km away
Kindness Hotel - Zhongshan Bade
0.9 km away
Hotel Dua
Hotel Dua
#16 of 304 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legend hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend hotel

Property: Legend hotel
Address: No.55 Xinsheng First Street, Qianjin District, Kaohsiung 80141, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 304 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,341 - ₹ 4,704
Hotel Class:3 star — Legend hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creatively Designed Kaohsiung Hotel with Thoughtful FeaturesNewly opened in October, 2011, Legend Hotel Kaohsiung is an unique hotel designed with creative hand painted wall decor arts in the rooms delivering extraordinarily cozy, warm and joyful accommodation ambiance, evoking the innocence of your child, making you a knowing smile deeply down from your heart when walking into the rooms. Aims to provide exceptional traveler-friendly environment by featuring 49 air-conditioned rooms with comfort bedding, ensuite bathroom, complimentary bottled water and snacks, LCD TV with free multi channels , mini-fridge, coffee and tea making kettle, hairdryer, and in-room safe. Vigorous buffet breakfast, Free Wifi internet access in the hotel, guest lounge, Free laundry room, business center, XBOX recreational zone, outdoor relaxing area, free bike rental, 24hour fresh ground coffee available and free parking space.No matter who you are -international travelers, backpackers, business travelers, weekend wanders, explorers, adventurers, dreamers....etc, you can feel relaxed, feel inspired and refreshed, laid back and totally be yourself. Legend Hotel Kaohsiung has a superb location in the bustling Qianjin District of Kaohsiung City, Taiwan, with the famous Kaohsiung tourist stop- Liouhe Night Market just about 5mins walk away. It also offers convenience in location to two nearby Kaohsiung KMRT stations including KMRT Formosa Boulevard Station about 10-15mins walk away and the KMRT City Council Station just about 5-10mins walk, allowing guests to tour major Kaohsiung attractions without trouble. For travelers connecting to other Taiwan and international destinations, the Kaohsiung International Airport can be accessed within 25-30 minute drive or via KMRT Kaohsiung Main Station in about a 10 minute drive. The ideal location close to major Kaohsiung transportation links makes Legend Hotel Kaohsiung delightful Kaohsiung accommodation for your Kaohsiung Travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Legend hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing