We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A nice boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CJ Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CJ Hotel
Ranked #23 of 125 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

I chose this hotel after I read all the nice reviews. The hotel is located in the southern part of the city. Going to downtown is easier by bike, although it could be hot and humid. You may need to take a shower after the ride. It's hard to find a parking in the city, but not impossible if you are a comfort looking creature. The staff is very courteous. Some of free bikes need some maintenance. The breakfast is delivered to the room since there is no cafeteria. The food was good though. The hotel price is reasonable. I'd recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panda-eat-Bamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    50
    21
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
43
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

This is a good reasonably priced hotel to stay in for one night while visiting taroko gorges in hualien. The lobby is cutely decorated. Rooms are spacious but the decor is a little old and we felt the carpet was reeking a slight stench. The location is ok, have to take a cab to the downtown area (costs about NT$ 100-NT$120) which has McDonalds/KFC and shopping streets. For breakfast they hand out a packed meal, which you can select from a small menu. Overall the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingislearning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

We booked this hotel on phone from Taipei, providing our arrival time by train, and were met at the Hualien train station by a placard holding taxi on arrival (compliments of the hotel). That personal attention to details continued for the rest of our stay of three days. Because of the nature of the hotel (mid-range) the services are limited, but whatever service is provided, is done with care and in the friendliest manner. The hotel rooms are distributed between two buildings (across the street from each other) and we chose to stay in the more modern one (bigger rooms in the older section, however). We found the rooms clean with a large flat screen TV, comfortable beds with pristine white linen and the bathrooms sufficiently supplied. The breakfast is delivered to the rooms at pre-arranged times, chosen the previous evening from a pre-set breakfast menu (no restaurant in the premises). The pre-set menu changes daily. However, we found that they were willing to make modifications to reflect the wishes of the guest. One member of our group wanted just a selection of fruits for example, and they did that without any hesitation or discomfit to us. Free tea/coffee making facility is provided at the lobby and the rooms and free unlimited WiFi internet access was another big plus.

The hotel, styled more like a boutique hotel, is located within the city area of Hualien and is an easy walk from most eating and shopping venues, including the two night markets. There is a clinic and pharmacy diagonally across from the hotel. In addition, the hotel provides free bikes of good quality and a city map so getting around Hualien is not a concern at all. We wanted to rent a car and again the hotel staff helped us to organize that as English can be limiting when dealing directly with the rental companies (mostly located around the railway station), and the car (near new) was delivered to us at the hotel.

In summary, one could not ask more from a mid-range hotel and the best aspect of our stay was the most friendly and accommodating staff. Our stay at C’est Juene certainly added to our positive view of Hualien and the surrounds (Taroko Gorge, hot springs, etc.), and we would like to compliment the staff via this forum for their professionalism and courtesy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nafis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
294 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

The lobby of the C'est Jeune Hotel reminded me of The Opposite House in Beijing, with quirky, over-size, cartoonish sculptures on display and big, comfy sofas. The check-in staff were helpful and friendly, the room clean and warm, the price very reasonable. The faux flowers in the window pots were a nice touch, and the hotel's branding as anovel boutique is distinct.

Breakfast wasn't great, however, - you select from a rather random six items on a sheet at check in, and a tray is brought to your room at the proposed hour. The milk tea was good, but the absence of coffee from the list of choices was a disappointment . The vegetarian sandwich was odd. A yam and alfalfa club? I wouldn't normally advocate going to Starbucks, but in this case breakfast there would be better, I feel.

We stayed one night on our way to Taroko and C'est Jeune proved more than adequate. The hotel pick up service at the train station stops at 7pm, but our taxi driver had no problem finding the place at 11pm.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

We (myself, husband and our children 24 & 26) spent one night at the C'est Jeune Hotel because of previous reviews on Trip Advisor. It is a very nice boutique hotel with very good service and comfortable rooms. The beds were pretty comfortable by western standards and very comfortable by Asian standards. The location, as far as neighborhoods are concerned, was conveniently located but just on the edge of a nicer area. They own the building across the street so there is free covered parking. As mentioned in other reviews, your pre-selected breakfast is delivered to your room at your chosen time. The food was okay but somewhat cold. I would definitely stay here again any time that I am in Hualien.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boisern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.7 km away
Cullinan Hotel
Cullinan Hotel
#26 of 125 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.8 km away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#15 of 125 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.0 km away
East Town 26
East Town 26
#7 of 125 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Les Champs (Hualien)
Hotel Les Champs (Hualien)
#19 of 125 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.2 km away
Byeyer Hotel
Byeyer Hotel
#35 of 125 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.6 km away
KKS Hotel
KKS Hotel
#21 of 125 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CJ Hotel

Property: CJ Hotel
Address: No.122 Zhongfu Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Hualien
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,812 - ₹ 6,738
Hotel Class:3 star — CJ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located near the city center and the Far East Department Store, 10 minutes from the railroad station and 25 minutes from the airport, near public transportation, and with plenty of free parking spaces. It is only 5 minutes walk to the city's center and main shopping district, and near the entrance of Na-Bin Park; in addition, the starting point for city's bicycle route is right outside the hotel. From our hotel, it is very convenient for taking a leisure walk or bicycle ride to see the beautiful city of Hualien and its coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your CJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c Est Jeune Hotel
c Est Jeune Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing