We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sea & the Shore at your door step, hotel in Negombo.”
Review of Hotel Sea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sea Garden
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Sea & the Shore at your door step, hotel in Negombo.”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Arriving from the Hill-tops of Nuwara Eliya to a beach area hotel in the dark night was a bit of surprise with all the neon lights adorning the other well-known hotels along the beach street of Negombo.

Not to be out-done by the other 4-Star hotels, this Sea Garden is fronted with some bright lights with an open space lounge and billiard table. This view should have been put up in the internet to invite curious web surfers.

We are are party of 4-senior golfers having booked a 4-person room with the purpose of late night discussion of strategies for good tee-offs and short games and straight putting.
But no, that 4-person room is not available and we were allocated 2 twin-sharing room.

For the price that you pay and only to stay in the night after a 18-hole rounds, you don't bother with the amenities in a 2-1/2 star hotel possibly a 2 star. The other objective is to dip in the Indian Ocean is just a few feet from the dinning area facing the sea.

We took a dip in the surging waves of unpolluted waters vast Indian Ocean as we had planned earlier. Unlike some other beaches, the sea water does not give any itchy after effects and all you need is to wash off with a bathroom shower before your sleep.

The only disadvantage with golfers is that you do not get the pleasure of foot and body massage after walking holes in the evening. Sri Lanka , it seems, has a good policy to allow Foot Reflexology and Massage to operate until 8pm only.

We discovered this as we were driven to several locations in search of Foot Reflexology and Body Massage after coming back from Royal Colombo Golf Club.

We were however, to experience night market of fish mongering all along the street near our Hotel. Those wishing for sea food meal will certainly enjoy the treat of fresh marine food.

Breakfast is ample and the Half-boiled eggs were served in the traditional English style egg-cup [pure white sauces, cups & plates]. We were pleasantly happy to have the "butler" prepare us our morning "Take-Away" breakfast as we had a very early Flight to catch. This choice of hotel is another reason to be near the Bandaranaike International Airport.

BTW we had a excellent driver and a very big Luxury Van to for the 4 days of travel.

To be fair to intended travelers, the rooms and amenities are simply bare minimum and most unsuitable for seasoned travelers who are used to "international" 3-star rating and above.

I would rate the rooms & amenities at 2-Star and below !

Room Tip: A Hotel to spend most time on the beach and dip in the sea and have breakfast and to slip in strange...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mansuroxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
7
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our tour operator asked us for 2000 SKR more to stay in this fleapit. God knows where we would have been staying previously.
Carried the luggage up to the 2nd floor, saw the room and decided to check out. The a/c made a terrible noise; there was no toiletries at all; one towel was provided but the bathroom was filthy. Looking from the balcony I saw a fabulous pool and twinkling lights under palm trees and said lets go there- Jetwing Blue is right next door. So we did (review to follow). At least the duty manager helped my friend with his luggage back to the lobby. This was our last two nights in SL and didn't want this place to mar the experience.

Room Tip: Um, a different hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We didn't have high expectations for the hotel after reading the reviews here. But what we get was far worse then you could imagine.

The only good thing about the hotel is the location. It's located right at the beach, but the other thing is that there is a beautiful hotel right up the beach. You can pay 750 rupee and sunbath and feel clean at this hotel.

The room we got was decent sized, but extremely dirty. Especially the bathroom, which on top had a non working sink. The room was also full of ants. After 1-2h sleep we woke up with 20-30 big itching bug bites of some sorts. The night receptionist just laughed and said it probably was ants. We got a new sheet and that should help. Another hour passed and we woke up with 20 new bites. We then got a new room, slightly more clean. So at least we got a few hour sleep that night.

The next day there was no housekeeping, something that we probably should have expected in such a dirty hotel. We went to bed in our new room, which the day manager was angry that we had gotten last night. First of all we had a partially functioning air-condition which they couldn't be bothered to fix, so we needed to manually turn it on and off the whole night. After an hour or two we woke up once again full of bug bites. Luckily we were leaving the hotel at 4.30, so we tried sleeping through it, but you could literally feel the bugs crawling. We left the hotel around 3.00 because we were so creeped out. The night receptionist just laughed when we informed him of the problem.

We had a terrible stay at Hotel Sea Garden and it put some bad taste in our mouth after a fantastic stay at Sri Lanka.

Best advice I can give. Stay away from this hotel!! If you have booked, then cancel as soon as you can.

Room Tip: Don't go at all!!! Stay away!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristoffer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Unless a room right on the beach is your priority I wouldn`t reccommend staying here. It is dirty, faded, in really poor condition throughout. Staff are like zombies, have no idea about anyting except making sure you pay for everything, fair enough, but it would be nice if they checked if your stay was ok. Worst hotel I can remember staying in in last 25 years!

Room Tip: Ask to be uprgaded as soon as you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HitGirl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here twice for two nights. It's 20-30minutes from the airport, and it's right at the beach, with palm trees and all. The view from the "sea view"-category rooms is quite nice.

That said, there are a couple of problems with this one:

1. Cleanliness

The bathrooms/showers seemed to have been cleaned only superficially. The sink was downright dirty on our first stay. Shower curtains were moldy.

2. Rooms are in bad repair

On our second stay, the toilet wouldn't flush (which they couldn't manage to fix it during two days), the ceiling fan would only work at full speed (and at a very high noise level), a heavy closet door had two (out of three) hinges broken, which was quite dangerous, and the balcony door was very hard to open.

3. They can't get the online reservations right

On both our stays, the rooms we had booked weren't ready. We wouldn't have gotten our sea view rooms if we hadn't fought for it with the receptionist, even though we had booked it beforehand.

4. Sometimes it's noisy

I read some complaints about this before our stay, and we found it to be true. On our first night they had a wedding party at the hotel restaurant + beach. Hundreds of people, "Modern Talking" blasting from loudspeakers, fireworks. Lasted until 12 at night.

If the rooms were half the price, I'd be ready to accept all the shortcomings. But at $60 a night (remember the average sri lankan makes $200 a month!), they have to do better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.0 km away
Paradise Holiday Village
Paradise Holiday Village
#31 of 42 in Negombo
313 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#10 of 42 in Negombo
825 reviews
0.0 km away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#11 of 42 in Negombo
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Topaz Beach Hotel
Topaz Beach Hotel
#28 of 42 in Negombo
242 reviews
0.0 km away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#34 of 42 in Negombo
249 reviews
0.0 km away
The Pearl
The Pearl
#26 of 42 in Negombo
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sea Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sea Garden

Property: Hotel Sea Garden
Address: 59 Poruthota Road, Ethukala, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sea Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing