We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful haven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lagoon Villa

Main entrance to the villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main entrance to the villa
Half an acre of landscaped and totally private garden with tropical plants and trees Large Private pool with sun beds, summer house and plenty of space to sun bathe or relax
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Main entrance to the villa
Half an acre of landscaped and totally private garden with tropical plants and trees
Large Private pool with sun beds, summer house and plenty of space to sun bathe or relax
Pool at night with fibre optic (twinkle) lights - amazing experience over a drink by the pool
Private pool with sunbeds
Villa rear facing the famous Negombo Lagoon. Just walk straight into the water from here!
Large Master Bedroom with king size bed, sofa and en-suite. Wake up to the sunrise over the lagoon.
Master bedroom with bright Sri Lankan style large sofa.
En-suite to master bedroom. Double vanity, bath and separate shower room. Magnificent!
Second Double Bedroom with en-suite overlooking the lagoon. Four poster bed with cosy linen.
En-suite to second double bedroom with fourposter bed. Vanity top and separate shower area.
Third Large Double Bedroom with en-suite. Lovely views of the pool and the landscaped garden.
Fourth Bedroom - Twin on the ground floor with lovely views of the garden.
Large bathroom with vanity and separate shower room for the twin-bedroom.
Large living room with two reception rooms overlooking the lagoon. Beautiful views of the water.
Separate large dining room with table to dine 10 guests. Light and airy with views of the lagoon.
Dining 'on the lagoon' at sunset. Feel the water and nature as you dine with us!
Extra large 'island style' kitchen to cook and entertain large parties. Overlooking the la
Kitchen with all the appliances you would ever need for a comfortable stay.
Villa reception with bar. Bringing the true warmth of Sri Lankan and modern architecture into one.
First floor landing reception area. Private and romantic.
Large 10 foot wide balconies across the breadth of the villa. Panoramic views of the lagoon.
Sunrise over the lagoon from the balcony. Overlooking the lagoon dining deck and local catamaran.
The Negombo Lagoon from the villa. Famous catamaran used for prawn fishing.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Negombo, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lucy F
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I stayed in the villa for one day & night before my wedding. My family stayed in the villa for the duration to their trip to Sri Lanka (2 weeks) and they were nothing short of amazed with this wonderful peaceful villa. I experienced excellent food and a very friendly and helpful attitude from the well spoken housekeeper Rodney who went above and beyond to ensure the trip was enjoyable, relazing and provided many helpful recommendations to my family so they could experience some real Sri Lankan culture; safe in the knowledge that tour guides he reccomened were safe and experienced. I stayed in the villa with my 18 month old son, and it was superbly kept, brilliantly clean with a wonderful pool and garden (backing onto the picturesque) lagoon for all the family to enjoy. The villa is not far from the busy town of Negombo, so quiet enough for those looking for a relaxed trip and close enough for those looking for an active sightseeing trip. The villa is beautifully and simply designed, definitely a 5* quality holiday destination. I couldn't recommend this villa highly enough.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The friendly housekeeper
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic paradise holiday - perfect, relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is just as gorgeous as it looks in the pictures, with tonnes of spaces inside, luxury bedrooms and individual bathrooms. Rodney the butler was amazing - helping us to plan trips into town and a boat ride, plus cooking fantastic breakfast with something new every day.

Unfortunately, there was a problem with the electrics one day and the BBQ was out of order. Also, the airport is close by so if the occasional plane really bugs you, then be aware of that. However, we didn't mind really as lying by the pool in the sunshine was excellent. There was plenty of room to have others round to visit as we had family staying nearby and the Jetwing Lagoon was a 5/10 minute walk when we wanted a meal out one night.

All in all, a really lovely holiday and I would definitely recommend this villa to anyone looking to have a relaxing holiday, but who might want to venture into town now and again to see some of the local culture.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peaceful setting and the food
Liked least: Plane noise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohab78
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't stay there”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

the villa itself is perfect but the facilities and services are almost NONE, I booked the villa from booking.com after seeing the reviews from tripadvisor.com, they don't provide any meals as they said, we mentioned in our booking that we need the meals to be included in our stay, when we arrived the butler was not ready for us (he didn't expect any check ins !!!!), he made us some eggs to "fill our hunger" as he said, the swimming pool was not clean and its filter was not working until I asked for it, the owner has a contract with a company to run the villa and the manager of this company is very rude, he doesn't know anything about good customer service. the grass of the villa is not green as they show in the picture, it is yellow because nobody is taking care of it, the villa doesn't have a washing machine and we had to go home with our dirty cloths, there is no BBQ as they said the grill is out of order, the AC in the TV room is not working, if you need anything you have to buy it from the market, they only provide the beds !!!.
the most important thing is that there is no security in the villa at all, they have only one butler and one gardener (very old man) and the villa is in the middle of nowhere

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the design of the villa
Liked least: I didn't like anything else in the villa
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleske...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic , wow villa amazing staff”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 2weeks over Christmas and New Year, cannot say anything bad about the place. When we arrived we were wowed by the villa it is huge and got everything you could possibly need. Very calm and relaxing also, maybe a little too far out but we enjoyed the local transport and haggling for tuk tuks !!! Rodney the butler was truly amazing , what a lovely man who will help with anything, I totally enjoyed his cooking classes , the kids were so sad to say goodbye to him. Rodney will organise transport, food, local information, he is the best ! Will Defo return here we were so sad to leave.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Reviewed 8 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing