We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
275
78
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
78
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews church street upper suite swimming pool no alcohol licence free tuk tuk the complimentary afternoon tea banyan rooms sri lanka the hotel's restaurant boutique hotel cooking demonstration merchant house hotel group beautiful hotel interior design other hotels sister property
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very nice stay at the Fort Bazaar.
Nice, clean rooms, very design. Good spa. Location is perfect.
Rooms at the lower floor are to avoid if you want no lights while sleeping (the windows have some upper part which can not be darkened). The management kindly changed us to an upper room for the second night. The staff is extremely kind and always willing to help / accommodate you.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jepetto62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

We came to Sri Lanka following the England cricket team and found a home! Whilst I am normally happy to watch cricket all day and did so.....on Day 1, since then this oasis of calm has enveloped us in an indulgent embrace. The staff are so incredibly friendly and efficient and nothing is too much trouble. They have organised wonderful private excursions and experiences and made everything so easy and enjoyable. The rooms are spacious, modern and scrupulously clean. The food is the absolutely fantastic (see separate review). They have no alcohol license, but we have not missed it ( we are not your traditional Barmy Armiers!) The mocktails are delicious and they are happy for you to buy wine to eat with dinner, with no corkage charge. I like breakfast outside, taking in the bustle of tuk-tuks ferrying cricket fans to the stadium, or listening to the good natured banter as Brits walk up to get the best pitches on the Fort Wall. The restaurant and public rooms blend modern and traditional styles to make a harmonious and comfortable feel.
There are lots of comfortable, cool areas to tempt you lounge and relax, which is where I am now, stretched out after our private cookery demonstration and lunch, looking at the beautiful trees and shrubs in the courtyard and the gentle trickle of water lulling me into a post- prandial snooze. Shall I walk up to the Fort to see Jennings get his 100? Or shall I stay here? Who knows? What I do know is that we have fallen utterly in love with this place and the people and we will definitely be coming back.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fridayfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

We enjoyed our five night stay in an Upper Suite room. The room was extremely spacious and full of character. The bedroom/sitting room is separate from the hall and bathroom. The air-con works best if you shut the door between the two areas. The adjacent library had a vast selection of excellent books with something for everyone and it was great to sit back in the comfortable chairs and have a good read.

The wi-fi in the room was initially poor but when we mentioned it to the front desk they provided a separate wi-fi hotspot that improved things considerably.

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly, although obviously some are still learning their trade.

The included breakfast was excellent with enough variety to please most people.
The restaurant is at the top end pricewise in Galle, and we didn’t end up eating there -plus we prefer not to eat breakfast and dinner in the same room.

The hotel isn’t an antiseptic chain hotel and given it’s situation don’t be too surprised to see the odd cockroach in the bathroom if you venture there in the early hours - and anyway they have been here longer than we have, and will probably outlive us!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctrunfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

You walk into this hotel on the main street of Galle Fort and find a wonderful hotel with modern cool rooms , very friendly staff and the most fantastic breakfast served on the veranda, It is unlicensed but you are welcome to bring your own drinks , An agreement with a 5* hotel 2km away gives you a swimming pool option by a paid for Tuck Tuck ride

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank statutory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

The moment we entered, we knew Fort Bazaar in Galle Fort was the perfect choice.
Friendly and warm welcomes from all the staff as they scurried to serve ya cold towels and a punchy welcome juice to their wonderful place.

From the sexy pink heliconia arrangement at the entrance to the cosy lounge sofas, it was the perfect end to a wonderful holiday.

After a seamless check in , our eyes are drawn to the long corridor ahead. It beckoned one to boldly walk in...
What a surprise , it led to the rooms which were lined on both sides flanked by large verandahs with trees and tropical flowers in the central courtyard. At once, providing shade and a picture perfect scenario for photo taking.

Comfortable cushions encased in local batik prints lined the dudes so one can sit and enjoy the the sunshine.

The suites were large and beautifully appointed baths and sitting area. They had generous balconies overlooking the street.
The twin rooms were elegantly painted in a pleasant
celadon color with dove grey accents.
It even had a tiny indoor courtyard with chairs to have a cup of tea in the early morning before the sun gets too hot.

Breakfast selections were good and besides the usual international offerings, there was a delicious local option. Fresh fruits - always sweet and served once you were seated was delicious.

The old merchant house has been wonderfully and lovingly restored into a cozy and elegant boutique hotel. The location is superb, walking distance to everything... the lighthouse, the churches, old Dutch hospital and shopping is literally at your doorstep yet without the noise of vehicular and pedestrian traffic.

The only regrets- too short a stay and no chance to try it’s restaurant for dinner.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Chia1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews