We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
275
78
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
78
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews church street upper suite swimming pool no alcohol licence free tuk tuk the complimentary afternoon tea banyan rooms sri lanka the hotel's restaurant boutique hotel coffee machine cooking demonstration merchant house hotel group beautiful hotel interior design sister property
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Fort Bazaar is one of two properties we visited that hints at the trendy, contemporary wave that is headed for Sri Lanka.

The modern Western details and touches were well appreciated. The rooms are incredibly spacious, clean, and well-appointed with surprising but thoughtful touches.

The restaurant served the best meals we have had in Sri Lanka across 6+ cities. Creative dishes and a willingness to accommodate outside alcohol given current liquor license situation. We absolutely loved the duck rolls!

Church Street has some other great trendy spots including another upscale hotel and a unique poster shop.

The ladies at the spa did an excellent job with massages and body wraps. New spa space is relaxing and high-end.

Can't wait to return when the pool and bar are in place. Visit now before this hotel is booked and prices are sky-high!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank elmerbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Our first visit to this new Hotel in Galle Fort, it won't be our last! Fabulous location in this world heritage site. Attention to detail makes this hotel stand out, nothing is to much trouble, the staff are all rightly proud to be part of Fort Bazaar. We stayed for three nights and we're delighted with the extensive range of the cuisine and the size and decor of our beautiful room. Fort Bazaar is the place to stay , it's chique, great value and a pleasure to have stayed there. Thank you all at Fort Bazaar.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank jojo90Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here 14 nights we had a fantastic time . The hotel is excellent, rooms are big and very well finished. Breakfast is amazing, one of the beat in all our travels, I can recommend the egg hoppers and homemade granola with buffalo curd. The real stars are the staff , so helpful and sort out any request very quickly. Thank you Fort Bazaar for making our holiday very special

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank waynec880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Our family of four found this hotel to be in the perfect location for all tastes. Surrounded by boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and a 10 minute walk to the city, we had everything we needed.
The hotels decor is beautiful & we loved all the seating areas but a big disappointment was the pool which is nowhere near finished. We took up the offer of a free use of another hotel pool, but this hotel was not finished either, and although the pool area was good the only toilet was in a guest bedroom used as a storage area. This was not the Jet Wing Hotel advertised and took 25 minutes by tuk tuk along the main coast road which I would not do again!
The inclusive breakfast is fruit, juice, pastries and breads. There is also an a la carte menu. The restaurant and bar is rather quiet considering the quality of the food & setting and I wonder if this because no alcohol is served?
Once the pool is finished it will be a first class hotel.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Burnley243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

This is apparently a Conde Naste hot property for 2016 and I can see why. The decor is lovely, the communal areas are very well presented, discreet and cosy with a modern colonial twist, sumptuous fabrics and sofas. The bedrooms are a very good size with beautiful en-suite wet rooms. Plenty of towels, bath robes, lovely bath and shower products, and air con that works like a fridge!
The terraces outside the rooms are fairly quite and its a relief that this lovely boutique hotel is blessed with small areas to relax together. We had rooms 15 and 16 which are both on the upper terrace and with balcony and sofa sets outside - these are also furthest away (though its a small place you area only 50 steps from the main areas) so no one walks past you.
Restaurant food here is very, very good. The juices are as delicious as they come and the breakfasts are superb - its a la carte breakfast so all cooked fresh to order. We recommend the eggs benedict and the hoppers.
You can get excellent cocktails next door. The location of this hotel in perfect, right within the fort walls. Exploring the old fort is easy on foot from here, and at night when the bus loads have disappeared its very quiet index and easy to get a restaurant reservation in the evening.

Room tip: Rooms 15 and 16, upstairs and very quiet.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews