We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very good base for our Sri Lankan holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property
view from the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from the lake
main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
view from the lake
main bedroom
SHAME ABOUT THE VIEW
dining area
view from dining area
pool with view of lake
main bedroom
veranda
veranda
bathroom 1
bathroom1
veranda
pool and mooring
view from lake
entrance hall
bedroom 2
bedroom 3
pool and jetty
3 man Zodiac
Preparing to launch
lets go fishing
returning with the catch
Captain for the day
Out on the lake
Fish for lunch
More fish for lunch
Board games in the evening
10 lengths before breakfast
Family dip
peace and tranquility
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David A
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very good base for our Sri Lankan holiday.”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A great setting on Lake Koggala Villa Lula is well suited for a family or small group. The main bedroom is spacious and incorporates guest lounge. The second room has en-suite whilst the third bedroom in the main house is a little smaller with bathroom down the hall. There is also a self contained free standing villa on the property which is new and despite no air-con is very comfortable.

Jagath and his wife Thilani were very good hosts and we were very happy with the variety of meals she prepared particularly the authentic curries. the villa is a short walk to the beach (about 800 metres) and about a 10 minute walk to the Fortress, a good venue for dinner.

Despite lack of WIFI, some noisy neighbours and occasional problems with water supply/pressure we were very happy with the venue.

A cocktail by the pool as the troupe of monkeys crossed the back garden was a daily highlight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the food!
Liked least: Water running out each day.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndaraUAE
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

6 of us shared the villa whilst in Sri Lanka celebrating friends 30th wedding anniversary. The staff were fantastic and the food was sensational- it was wonderful in terms of the people and service. Unfortunately the wifi was not available the entire time, the water was off for most of the day (though in fairness we have since discovered the council was upgrading the water systems so it is not the fault of the owner) and the two lovely dogs they have there tend to bark all night.

The most disappointing factor was that the neighbors across the road (I.e. right outside of the room I slept in) played very load music from 6 or 7am onwards so there is no chance of a lie in or an afternoon nap- the music went all day. Once again, this is not the fault of the staff or owner however potential guests need to be aware that this occurs.

With regards to the rooms - there really is only one main room with an en suited as the other large room serves a dual purpose as a sitting room and the small room is only really suitable as a cramped option. The outside room is nice however has no AC, as stated.

All in all this villa leaves a lot to be desired, though as I say, the staff are really lovely and the food was wonderful.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMonroF
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serene, colonial style house and garden in a great position surrounded by wonderful wildlife and unspoilt beaches nearby”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have spent one of our most enjoyable family holidays at Villa Lula. The house is secluded, spacious and stylish and is superbly sited with a great outlook over the garden, pool and lake.

We were constantly entertained by the most exotic wildlife, waking to the sight and sound of dazzling golden oriels, red backed woodpeckers, sun birds, bee eaters and many other species that populated the garden and surrounding trees. Vivid turquoise kingfishers took daily dips in the pool while the more illusive huge heron billed kingfishers perched in the treetops. We were able to track daily progress as a pair of impressive brahiminy kites nested in a palm tree on bird island less than a hundred metres away. The lake provided a rich hunting ground for the kites and teamed with marine life. Crabs, seahorses, mudskippers, puffer fish and shoals of colourful juvenile fish swam around the jetty. Monitor lizards would occassionally lumber or swim along the lake edge while troops of monkeys made their daily acrobatic way across the garden making death defying leaps from tree to tree.

We were well looked after by Jagath and his wife who cooked superb Sri Lankan dishes including local crab and prawns caught fresh from the lake. Jagath was the most discriminating shopper insisting on only the very best fruit, vegetables and seafood. Our breakfast spreads were fit for a king and included the ripest prepared fruits and huge earthenware bowls of buffalo curd served with palm syrup. Jagath and his son Niluka were on hand to take us by tuk tuk to anywhere nearby including trips to Galle. We often finished the day with a walk to the local beach where we invariably bought ourselves a coconut brimming with milk and more often than not had the beach to ourselves.

This really is a little bit of paradise, you will not be disappointed.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing