We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
206
61
22
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
61
22
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool mini bar the ground floor nespresso machine replenished daily all inclusive package molton brown amenities regular room luxury hotel rooms are nice minus point main restaurant gorgeous hotel kids club korean restaurant english speaking staff hotel management
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Ok so, upon arrival the front is lackluster as some other reviews have stated. However upon entry the hotel is spotless and well kept, (It is a bit dated but not too much however you can still see a great amount of detail and high end finishes) we arrived early so they took our bags and we grabbed lunch, the regular food there is pricey but anytime we ate it was worth it, the food was perfectly prepared and the service was spot on.
Our room was upgraded upon check in which was nice, it was extremely clean and the over all atmosphere was calming and relaxing. You get a free mini bar, stocked daily which is a plus especially for a five star resort, it does make it feel like they go that extra step.
We enjoyed a couples spa session and I must say it was worth the money, they took extra care and time with both of us and really listened and gave us a wonderful massage and facial.
Now to why they do not get 5 stars! Please read because I find these to be important tips of you plan on staying there.
1. Listen to all the reviews and rent a car. (My husband left his Korean license and we couldn't rent) the main plus to the location is that it is somewhat close to many of the natural wonders, the falls, the cliffs, the mountain and beaches. But you need a car or you will be walking in very humid weather up steep hills and you will not enjoy the sites.
Why does this affect their review? Well when we arrived they assured us while some places might be a little pricey by cab it would be no problem. We didn't mind spending the money. So we decided that we wanted to go to the main town of jeju for dinner and shopping (45 min ride and $30) they hailed us a cab and we enjoyed our time there. Upon trying to get back to the hotel not one single cab would take us back. So we called the hotel and they basically said for us to go to any other hotel around and see if they could help us. Seriously? How could you not tell us cabs don't drive from jeju to the resort. We don't speak Korean we were left stranded. 2 hotels and 2 hours of walking we finally found one person behind the a desk that sort of knew what happened. And after another hour found a service willing to take us. The Kensington never even asked if we were ok nor did they follow up to help us.
2. The beds are very hard, there is a great amount of noise that comes from the upper pool at night and we did have to leave our balcony door open as it was way too hot in our room.
3. I can see how some foreign travelers might be put off by the in your personal space, stare at you, over the top service. However, after staying in a few hotels and interacting with many service people through out our stay in Korea; we found that our idea of personal space is not exactly the same and they are just trying to give you the best service possible.
So to end the long review, rent a car, and have back up plans

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lilythes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensingtonjeju, 매니저 at Kensington Jeju Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Lilythes
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with our room, Mini bar, Spa service and Restaurants. we are disappointed to learn of the shortfalls encountered and would like to extend our sincere apologies for our failure to provide a satisfying experience. We appreciate your valuable feedback and will look into the issue.
We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to extend a more deserving stay experience to you in the future.
Have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

The hotel location is near lotte hotel. We have to go inside from the Main Street about 5 min walk. The hotel is very beautiful. The people is very kind, polite and very helpful . The room is very comfy and big, the minibar is free. The breakfast was very good and delicious , they had 3 restaurant to have a breakfast. They also had kids club , 2 swimming pool, small duty free shop. Nearby there is some restaurant and mini market . We will come again with our kids. Thank u very much to all the staff ....

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank arkadiajoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensingtonjeju, 매니저 at Kensington Jeju Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Arkadiajoice

Thank you for sharing your great review with us. It is delightful to learn of your wonderful experience with us. Your positive feedback and recommendations are truly appreciated and we will certainly share your kind compliments with our service associates. The pleasure was ours to be of service to you and we look forward to your next visit in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

We liked:
- The heated rooftop pool. Great atmosphere, music and cocktail at night.
- The buffet. It is better and cheaper than the Shilla buffet. Complimentary wine was a real plus.
- The staff. Very friendly and dedicated.

We didn’t like:
- The noise. From our room we could hear: loud live music from the lobby, club music from the rooftop, children screaming all day from the ground floor pool.
- The atmosphere. The hotel is rusty & ugly both inside and outside. Nothing luxury here.
- The garden. One of the reason we chose this place over the Shilla, yet the garden turned out to be small and unappealing. The hotel is far from the beach. No other escape than by car through the main avenue.
- The bathroom. What a joke. Water from the shower didn’t drain at all and leaked all the way into the room. From the marks on the carpet we could tell this was a recurrent problem. We were told to just use the bathroom like this until we made a fuss and were upgraded to another room.

The list could go on but I guess I raised my point. We will not stay again.

Overall we loved the staff, the buffet and the rooftop pool but disliked everything else. The resort is ugly, aging, and is most definitely not up to the standard of a true 5-star hotel (maybe as a result of catering mostly for less demanding Chinese and Korean groups). Very low value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eutectique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensingtonjeju, 매니저 at Kensington Jeju Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Eutectique,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. While we are pleased to hear that you appreciated our convenient foods, Rooftop swimming pool and staff. However we are disappointed to learn of the shortfalls encountered and would like to extend our sincere apologies for our failure to provide a satisfying experience. This is certainly not the warm Kensington hospitality that we strive to achieve. We appreciate your valuable feedback and definitely look into the those are issues that share with us.
We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to extend a more deserving stay experience to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

The hotel has two great pools, one on the top of the hotel where there are party activities and one pool on the bottom floor more for family activities. Both pools are heated so they hotel is great place to visit when the weather is cold. The rooms are luxurious and service is great. The only downside is the hotel is approximately forty minutes away from the airport but the hotel provides a bus for all guests.

Room Tip: Get rooms near by the pool for better view
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t0kra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensingtonjeju, 매니저 at Kensington Jeju Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear t0kra

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Kensington Jeju hotel with us.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us specially with our Skyfinity and Oceanfinity pool. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kensington Jeju in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed on a all inclusive package from the 26-28 of April 2017 we had a great time the staff are amazing and the food and drinks. i would have liked there to have been some drinks available in the Italian restaurant on the all inclusive but that was just a little thing in a otherwise great stay

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensingtonjeju, 매니저 at Kensington Jeju Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Dear Matthew D

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Kensington Jeju Hotel with us.

We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our Luxury All Inclusive Package. also we have noted your feedback about our Italian restaurant. we will definitely look into it.
Thank you for being a valued guest and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Jeju Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews